RSS

Book Review and Giveaway!

29 Aug

And the winner is…….  #10 – Heather of the EO!  Congratulations!  Be watching for an email for your shipping information.  Thanks for your enthusiasm, everyone else!  Be watching for another giveaway from Barefoot Books sometime this month (their new title: “Shopping with Daddy”).

Barefoot Books is one of my favorite places to shop for children’s books.  After I reviewed a few of their books here, Rebecca from Barefoot contacted me and asked if I’d like to review a book and then do a giveaway.  Are you kidding??  What a fantastic opportunity for me and one lucky reader!  Details for the giveaway follow the review.

The Boy Who Grew Flowers is written by Jen Wojtowicz and illustrated by Steve Adams.  The book teaches acceptance of others by demonstrating that what makes us different, also makes us beautiful.  It’s also a wonderful story of true friendship.  The author was inspired to write the book based on her experiences with her brother who has autism.

Rink is a quiet, shy little boy who has a very unique family.  His uncle tames rattlesnakes, his grandmother was raised by wolves and his mother uses a bowling ball bag for a purse (awesome!).  Rink’s “secret” is that when the moon is full, flowers sprout all over his body.  Because of their differences, the family lives far away from others on the top of Lonesome Mountain.  Rink doesn’t have any friends at school and other kids whisper about him.  Then, one day, Angelina arrives from Tuscaloosa with “an easy manner and a luminous smile.”  Angelina and Rink are drawn to each other and Rink soon learns that Angelina has unique qualities of her own.

The illustrations in this book are absolutely gorgeous and Jenna exclaimed over each page.  Our copy of the book arrived just today, and she has already requested to read it three times.  The text is a bit “wordy” for small children (Barefoot lists the age range as 4-8), but full of wonderful imagery and vocabulary (Jenna’s been repeating “Tuscaloosa” all day).  I read through the story and then easily paraphrased it, pointing out things in the pictures that supported the text, and Jenna was enthralled.  Overall, I think this is an excellent book for teaching about kindness, acceptance and true friendship.  I think you’ll love it!

To enter to win a copy of this book, simply visit the Barefoot Books website and leave a message in the comments section telling me which book you would choose for your child.  One reader who follows these directions will be chosen via random number generator and notified via email.  Contest ends at 6 p.m. EST on Tuesday, September 9. You must provide a valid email address and respond to prize notification within 3 days. After 3 days, your prize will be forfeited and another winner will be notified. Comments that do not follow the guidelines listed above will be deleted. Contest is open to readers with a valid U.S. shipping address.

 
33 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2008 in Book Reviews, Giveaways

 

33 responses to “Book Review and Giveaway!

  1. Yessenia

    August 29, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    i don’t have any kids of my own but i like the abuelita fue al mercado i have a lot of family members who speak spanish and english and those little guys would love hearing it! : )

     
  2. Christina @ Northern Cheapskate

    August 30, 2008 at 12:38 am

    What beautiful books! Hard to pick, but I’m pretty interested in Shopping with Dad and Hidden Hippo!

    Thanks for hosting such a wonderful contest!

     
  3. Kam A

    August 30, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I would choose One World, One Planet. Thank you for the giveaway!

     
  4. Renee aka MekhisMom

    September 3, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I think we would do How Loud is the Lion. My son is really into animals.

     
  5. Elizabeth M.

    September 6, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    I really like the Barefoot Book of Faeries! I’m sorry that you’re not getting a huge response. I can’t imagine why because that’s a wonderful book. It really does look fabulous and there’s nothing I love more than reading to my kids! Thanks for the giveaway.

     
  6. Jessica

    September 6, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Wow! Love the books! Elusive Moose looks really cute. I love fall and winter time and I think moose are too cute. Can’t wait until I can start reading to my baby!

     
  7. Mary Jenkins

    September 6, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    zig zag zebra looks perfect for my daughter. she’s into the alphabet and animals right now! i just read your post that said no one is entering this giveaway. Bad week. Everyone does such big giveaways at the first of each month that folks get picky about what they enter. I have a ton of awesome giveaways and hardly any entrants. come by http://nowenteringmomville.blogspot.com and enter some. i’ll blog your giveaway on my contest blog. see if we can get you some traffic..

     
  8. Awake

    September 6, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I think DD would like any of the Bear series board books!

    This book looks fun!

     
  9. Sara

    September 6, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I would choose “The Faierie’s Gift.” It sounds like it has a good moral and lesson to learn and the pictures are beautiful.

     
  10. Heather of the EO

    September 6, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    How Loud is the Lion!
    Geez, I totally thought I already left a comment about this. I went to the site, I browsed….
    oh yeah, maybe after that someone needed their diaper changed. Or food. Or to go to bed…. 🙂

     
  11. Ruby

    September 7, 2008 at 1:36 am

    So i just love all of them, but How Loud is the Lion sounds adorable.

     
  12. michelle

    September 7, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Hidden Hippo looks really cute. What a neat website.
    michelleharrod at hotmail dot com

     
  13. Jamie

    September 7, 2008 at 3:24 am

    I would choose Bear on a Bike. It looks like a fun book and my son loves bears.

     
  14. Rebecca C

    September 7, 2008 at 9:45 am

    I would get Zig Zag Zebras because we like to do creative things with my daughter 😀

    legacyofbrutalitysa{AT}gmail.com

     
  15. Mama Zen

    September 7, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    I would chose The Fairie Gift!

    kelli at pfrog dot net

     
  16. Alexandra Hancock

    September 7, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I would chose Adventures of Odysseus since I am a Classical Archeology major and would love to read ancient myths to my son. 🙂

    alexandra dot hancock at gmail dot com

     
  17. Andrea

    September 7, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Wow, these books look so awesome and so “my type.” Its so hard to choose but the dotty spotty doodles, faeries gift and i took the moon for a walk books look so cute 🙂 We love reading!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    Love,
    Andrea

     
  18. Naomi

    September 7, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I would love to have Goddesses: A World of Myth and Magic for my daughter, Roo. I think she’s at a great age for that one!

     
  19. carrie

    September 7, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I would choose hidden hippo! I teach at a montessori preschool, and I think the kids would love that book. The illustrations look so nice and they love animals!
    Thanks for the contest!

     
  20. Stephanie V

    September 7, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Gigantic Turnip looks like a good story! Would love to have this book!

     
  21. Go Amie

    September 7, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Elusive Moose! How could anyone resist that title?

     
  22. Gaby

    September 7, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I would enjoy Nos Vamos a Mercardo con Abuelita. I am teaching my daughter spanish words and she is very close to her grandmother (abuelita). Thank you!

     
  23. Suzanne B. (Crunchy Green Mom)

    September 7, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    MY daddy is a pretzel. I am hoping it will get my daughters father involved in yoga with her! He finally came onto the sign language band wagon 🙂

     
  24. Laura

    September 8, 2008 at 2:11 am

    I’d pick zig zag zebra for my little one! But I didn’t look too long, I’m sure I’d find lots more!

     
  25. Elizabeth

    September 8, 2008 at 3:01 am

    I think Tales from Old Ireland… but The Boy Who Grew Flowers just looks so sweet!

     
  26. Noreen

    September 8, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Faerie’s Gift look wonderful

     
  27. Amanda

    September 8, 2008 at 4:35 am

    I would get “Dragon on the Doorstep” or “Elephant Dance” first. So hard to choose, to many cute books! “The Boy who Grew Flowers” looks wonderful too, my daughter and son would just love it!

     
  28. Janet F

    September 8, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I would pick the book Gigantic Turnip.

    They have wonderful books.

    Thank you!

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  29. Paige

    September 8, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I think the yoga book daddy is a pretzel looks so fun.

     
  30. Nicki

    September 8, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    I would definitely choose Who Are You, BAby KAngaroo? We checked this out from the library, and Little Bear adored it so much, I ordered a copy online and had it mailed anonymously to her! She has the whole thing memorized!

     
  31. Jessica

    September 8, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I would choose the Gigantic Turnip, as I loved that story as a child and would like to share it with my little guy.

     
  32. Carolsue

    September 9, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I think I would get “Animal Boogie”–lots to choose from!

     
  33. Kristine Michelle

    September 9, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I would choose Star Seeker. These are all such wonderful books!

     

Leave a Reply

 
