RSS

Saturday Memories

30 Aug

I’ve noticed that you all don’t come around much on the weekends. Saturday especially. I know, I know – you have other lives. Children to raise, shopping to do, spouses to talk to, and the list goes on. I hear you. I’ve got the same craziness going on in my world (plus some potty training on the side). That’s why I’ve decided to start a new series called “Saturday Memories.”

Each Saturday, I’ll post a pic of something from the past with a short snippet of the memory that accompanies it. Won’t take me long to write it. Won’t take you long to read it. And maybe – just MAYBE – you’ll learn something interesting about me and my little family, while I get the chance to dust off some memories that remind me of how I got to the place I am now.

P.S. If you’re a fellow blogger and want to hook up with your own “Saturday Memories” post, please feel free to. Let me know in the comments though, because I’d love to page through your photo albums too!

This is Jenna at about 7 weeks old in the NICU. It’s probably about two weeks after the final bandages came off of the surgery scar across her tummy (click the pic to enlarge for more detail). She’s all propped up because she had so much trouble with vomiting, and this seemed to help as well as reduce the risks of choking. I love how peaceful she looks in spite of all the tubes and wires, and I love those little hands up by her face and those little toes peeking out. What a pumpkin!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2008 in Family, Jenna

 

11 responses to “Saturday Memories

  1. iMommy

    August 30, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Love the idea, PsychMamma. Once things slow down here, maybe I’ll tackle something similar. Until then, I’ll just enjoy these little peeks into your life!

     
  2. rhemashope

    August 30, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Hi, I read your interview over on 5MFSN and enjoyed it. Jenna is beautiful!

     
  3. Heather of the EO

    August 30, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Great idea! I love this pic of Jenna too.
    I would love to join you. I have something I’ve said I’m going to post tomorrow, but I’ll join you next week.
    I just love this idea,
    Heather

     
  4. Insta-Mom

    August 30, 2008 at 2:32 am

    Isn’t it amazing how even with all the tubes and wires and beeping monitors they can find such peace? Beautiful.

     
  5. psychmamma

    August 30, 2008 at 2:51 am

    iMommy –

    Would love to have you join the memory-sharing! Until then, peek all you want. 😉

    rhemashope –

    Thanks for the wonderful compliments! Glad that you found me through 5MFSN. The more the merrier, so prop up your feet, grab a cup of coffee and stay awhile!

    Heather –

    Can’t wait to hope over to peer into your scrapbook next week!

    Insta-Mom –

    Absolutely amazing. We were afraid she wouldn’t be able to sleep at home since it’s so quiet, so we got a sound machine for her room. She’s always been a good sleeper, so maybe we have the NICU to thank for that. There, it was sleep through the noise or don’t sleep at all. She sure looks snuggly though, doesn’t she? 🙂

     
  6. anymommy

    August 30, 2008 at 4:01 am

    That is adorable. It’s the toes. Baby toes are criminally cute. I love this idea and I’m around on Saturdays, so I’ll be here!

     
  7. Awake

    August 30, 2008 at 5:29 am

    What a great idea (sticking in my idea file). 🙂

    And I agree, you almost don’t see the tubes, only her peace.

     
  8. Carole

    August 30, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Love the idea! She is just precious 🙂

     
  9. Mama Ginger Tree

    August 31, 2008 at 1:42 am

    That picture is priceless. What a fantastic idea. Count me in for next Saturday.

     
  10. Danette

    August 31, 2008 at 2:23 am

    She’s adorable! I actually posted this morning with some memories about our NICU experience, as part of Michelle’s “Finding Courage through Sharing” blog carnival (I was 2 days late, technically it was Thursday) if you want to check it out 🙂

    This is a great idea, so I’ll be back next Saturday!

     
  11. CanCan

    August 31, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Oh my word, what a doll! Her hair is beautiful; it makes her look older than 7 weeks.

    I get lonely on my blog on the weekends, too. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
