RSS

My Martha Moment

14 Jun

Martha Moments don’t come as often as they used to for me. By that, I mean creative moments with the “Martha” referring to Martha Stewart. Hehe! There just seems to barely be time to get the essentials done, let alone be CRAFTY.

BUT, crafty I was. Yesterday, I decided to finally tackle our wicker furniture project. I purchased a wicker set with two chairs and a small table for our front porch a couple years ago. I got the whole set at a garage sale for $30! Woohoo! They were painted white with green trim, which wasn’t my favorite, but they were functional. Then, our first, crazy cat decided to claw and chew up the seats. Here’s what I had for a starting point:

Before

Here’s a close up shot of the bad paint and the kitty damage:

Blech

So, I was thinking I could maybe find another great deal on a NEW set of patio furniture at a garage sale this summer. Then I remembered how tight money is right now. Hmmmm. At some point, the light bulb clicked on and I realized I could cover the seats with cushions to hide the damage! I loved the idea of re-using what we already have. Then, I thought of spray paint. Brilliant! Practically new furniture for very little cost. I found inexpensive cushions at Lowe’s, and then picked spray paint to coordinate in chocolate brown. Here’s the finished product:

After

Lovely, if I do say so myself! I’m pretty happy with the results. Now, I just need to finish painting the porch trim! Ha! I’ll leave you with a close up of the finished chair.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2011 in Decorating

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “My Martha Moment

  1. K

    June 14, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Um, those chairs look GREAT! I love the dark brown paint and striped cushions.

    Way to go!

     
  2. PrincessJenn

    June 14, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Oh wow! Those turned out awesome!!

     
  3. AmazingGreis

    June 14, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Very NICE!!! You did a great job!

     
  4. PsychMamma

    June 14, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Thanks, ladies!! If only painting trim could be done with spray paint! *wink*

     
  5. Chibi Jeebs

    June 15, 2011 at 12:08 am

    Ooh, pretty – love it!

     
  6. punkinmama

    June 20, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Love the chairs! And I just realized I haven’t taken any pictures of the clock that I spray painted the same day you did your project. Of course, I only just hung it up *yesterday*!

     
  7. PsychMamma

    June 21, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Chibi –

    Thanks, lady!!

     
  8. PsychMamma

    June 21, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Punkinmama –

    Thank you! Would love to see photos of your clock!

     

Leave a Reply

 
