RSS

The Collector

28 Feb

 

Dear Jenna,

You are my nature collector. Leaves, twigs, bugs, dandelions, and shells are counted among your treasures, but rocks are always your favorite. You find beauty all around you – even in parking lots when we travel! One day, we were on our way to the park to have some fun. I had loaded the car and stood waiting for you with the door open while you “dawdled” in the yard, looking at some exciting tidbit on the ground. In exasperation, I asked you to hurry up. Innocently, you countered with, “Why? THIS is fun.” and I had to smile. Why hurry, indeed! I was in a hurry to GO somewhere to have fun. You were finding the fun in where we were. Thank you for reminding me to savor the moments and to see the beauty that always surrounds us. In hurrying toward the next thing, we miss the opportunity to capture the treasures in the NOW.

Hold on to that priceless sense of wonder, my sweet. Thank you for sharing it with me.

I love you. Always.

 

I shot this photo on-the-fly (not posed) when Jenna walked up to me with a treasure she found on the ground in Michigan. I love that, when the photo is enlarged, you can see the tiny lines of her fingerprints and the grains of sand clinging to her fingers. The pink shoes in the background were her favorites. Her fingernails need trimmed and have some dirt wedged under them, but that’s real life. Sometimes it’s dirty. 🙂

 

This photo was entered in this week’s challenge at

Head over for more fabulous examples of the theme “Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes”

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in Jenna, Photography

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “The Collector

  1. mycreativeescapes

    February 28, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Very sweet – captures the time in their life – precious.

     
  2. callie callender

    February 28, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    It’s amazing how a picture without a face can say so much about a person!

     
  3. christina

    February 28, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    so sweet. I love love love blog letters to children. I try to do this every so often for my girls too, and one of these days I’ll get around to “slurping” my blog to print! Nice capture.

     
  4. Maura

    February 28, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I don’t see any dirt, I only see her beautiful fingers. 🙂 That is a very sweet post & picture!

     
  5. punkinmama

    March 2, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    What a great reminder! “THIS is fun.” Yes, indeed, I need to enjoy the moment more often!

     
  6. PsychMamma

    March 3, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Thanks for all the lovely comments, everyone! I need to do better at capturing everyday moments like this more often and not just the “special” occasions.

     

Leave a Reply

 
