RSS

Natural Deodorant Redux

23 Feb

homemade deodorantphoto by lorigami

Time to update my findings on my search for a natural deodorant! I’m sure you’ve been in suspense since I left you hanging at the last post.

After researching online, I found that it looked like it was pretty rare to have an allergy to cornstarch or coconut. BUT, apparently, many people with sensitive skin don’t tolerate baking soda. Who knew?? With this knowledge, I decided to try the previous recipe with half the amount of baking soda. Here’s the adjusted recipe that I’ve been using for 4 days now:

  • 5-6 Tbsp Coconut oil
  • 1/8 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot powder or cornstarch (I added more cornstarch for a thicker consistency since I decreased the soda)

The best news? Absolutely NO rash. Yay! I still love the soft coconut scent, and I haven’t noticed any stinkiness. I do feel a little more wetness, but I haven’t noticed any wetness or residue on my clothes. It seems like more cornstarch would combat the wetness, but maybe the soda helps even more with this. Our bodies need to sweat, so I don’t mind a bit of wetness as long as I don’t stink and can avoid the aluminum and synthetic chemicals in commercial deodorants. If the baking soda doesn’t bother your skin, you might stick with the recipe in my first post for the best effectiveness, but if you have sensitive skin or develop a rash with the first recipe, I can assure you that this one works wonderfully.  I’ll be sticking with this one for now and will update again when summer hits with all its stifling humidity. That will be the REAL test.

To address a couple issues that came up after my last post:

  • Coconut oil solidifies at temperatures of 60°(F) or less. For easier mixing, you can warm it to an oil in a pan of hot water or briefly in the microwave
  • During the summer (or for readers in hot climates), you may want to refrigerate your mixture to keep it the thickness you desire.
  • I use unrefined, virgin, organic coconut oil from our local co-op. You can find it online at Tropical Traditions.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2011 in Going Green, Health, Recipes

 

4 responses to “Natural Deodorant Redux

  1. Melissa Taylor

    March 2, 2011 at 1:16 am

    I’m going to try this – I never find one that works, even the non-natural ones. Thanks!

     
  2. PsychMamma

    March 3, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Melissa –

    Good luck! I’d love to hear how it works for you and what you think, if you get the chance to pop by again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
