RSS

Noodle Trick

13 Jan

Noodlephoto by ashleigh290

Jenna’s been in a “big girl bed” (twin) for almost 2 years now, but we’ve had the occasional bad experience of her ending up on the floor.  A toddler rolling out of bed in the middle of the night isn’t fun for anyone in the house, let me tell you.  We treasure our sleep around here.

We weren’t thrilled with the idea of forking out the money for fancy side rails that she hopefully won’t need for long and started looking for alternatives.  I think I gave a shout out to the lovely Twitter mamas I follow and got this fantastic idea: Simply tuck one or two pool “noodles” in the edge of the bed inside the fitted sheet!  The fitted sheet holds them in place, and they provide a “bumper” that keeps the kiddo from easily rolling out.

BRILLIANT!

They’re also easy to transport when traveling.  We use two at home for Jenna and take one when traveling.  We’ve also asked if the homes we’re visiting have them already.  Many people do, which saves on packing space.

I’m so sorry that I don’t remember who gave me this tip and that I’m not properly crediting you!  If it was you, give a holler in my comments.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2011 in Family, Jenna, Parenting tips, Travel

 

4 responses to “Noodle Trick

  1. PrincessJenn

    January 13, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    That really is freakin’ brilliant. I would have never thought of that.

     
  2. psychmamma

    January 13, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    PrincessJenn

    Seriously! And CHEAP!! $1 per pool noodle at our dollar store.

     
  3. Lisa

    January 14, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I love those noodles! My son had a bunk bed and the stairs were just metal poles and as he got a bit older they hurt his feet (and mine when I would climb up to read to him). I sliced a noodle and cut it to the width. Slid it over the pole/stair and walla… cushy stairs!

     
  4. punkinmama

    January 14, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Genius!

    Now, what do I do with a kid who is *still* in a toddler sized bed and who shows no indications of wanting to move to anything bigger, even though he’s not going to fit in that bed much longer? At my parents’ house, he sleeps on the floor in their guest room, leaving the full size bed empty, because “it’s too big”. Crazy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
