RSS

Here Comes Santa Claus – maybe.

24 Dec

I struggle a little bit with the whole notion of Santa with Jenna.  Don’t get me wrong – we read the stories that include Santa, she sees Santa movies, she went on a sleigh ride with Santa, and she gets gifts in her stocking from Santa.  We don’t really try to avoid Santa at all, I just have a teensy bit of trouble with supporting an untruth.  I really try to be honest and open with her, and this one is tough.  Her joy, excitement and wonder over the whole notion of Santa is equally difficult to quash in favor of reality.

So, we’re riding the Santa wave at this point, and hoping we sense when the time is right to present the truth.  Or that she doesn’t hate us for supporting a lie when/if she learns the truth from someone else.

*sigh*

Do all parents feel torn this way?  When I was a kid, I remember sitting on Santa’s lap, writing letters to him, and getting gifts “from Santa,” but I don’t really ever remember believing in him.  Maybe I did, and just don’t remember….  I definitely don’t remember any moment of outrage when I learned the truth.

At any rate, I surprised myself this year by sending Jenna a personalized video message from Santa via email through this site.  I decided to do it because the video seemed so well done, and the options for personalizing were PERFECT.  I was able to have Santa talk to her about the fact that, although she’s done pretty well with trying new foods this year, Santa knows that she could do a little bit better.

TRYING NEW FOODS?!  YES!!  If Santa telling her that she needs to do it will help in ANY way, I’m willing to grasp that possibility with both hands and kiss it on the lips!

He also told her that he wants her to work on being polite and kind and generous.  See? PERFECT.  He told her that he knows she’s been wanting a new “big girl” watch, and that maybe she would get one on Christmas Day.

Jenna watched the entire video in complete and utter AWE.  When it was done, she asked to see it again.  She was AMAZED that he knew about her and that she wanted a watch (cue my twinge of guilt for setting the whole thing up).  She earnestly told video Santa that she’d try to do better at trying new foods, and that she would be kind, polite & generous.  In spite of the twinge of guilt, I’m elated to think that maybe the message will help with her eating issues.

Fast forward to the next day:

We offer her some new food to try.

She rudely says no.

We remind her of what Santa said.

She angrily shouts:

I will NEVER try new foods!  I HATE new foods!  I CAN’T  be polite! ::pause::  ::pause::

{grumpily}  I’ll just get my own watch somewhere else.

So much for Santa.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2010 in Christmas, G-tube issues, Holidays, Jenna, Random Fun

 

5 responses to “Here Comes Santa Claus – maybe.

  1. kadield

    December 24, 2010 at 12:34 am

    I wouldn’t worry about it. I think most kids figure it out by themselves. When I figured it out I wasn’t upset or anything, I knew why my parents were doing it.

    Side note, being 30, my dad still tells me I have to believe in Santa to get presents. Yeah. That.

     
  2. Lisa

    December 28, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Could it be? I am also a tube feeding mamma who loves her Droid… and Bodum french press! So I had to say hello! 😉
    I just ran across your blog because I was looking up weaning from a G-tube. My son is 2.5 and has had his Mic-key since he was 7 months old. I’ll keep reading, but I would love to talk with you more!

     
  3. psychmamma

    December 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Lisa –

    So glad you found me! I’d love to talk to you more, also! I’ll send you an email today. Have to go make some coffee in my french press right now. 😉

     
  4. punkinmama

    December 28, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Oh, that’s hilarious!
    I did the video with Punkin too and used the “try new foods” thing… loved that that was an option! However, I’m not sure the impact lasted until the next morning either. Oh well…

    And the whole guilt thing over Santa thing? I have tried remembering when I “found out” but I can’t, so I’m thinking it wasn’t too traumatic… hoping the same thing for Punkin!

     
  5. psychmamma

    December 28, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Punkinmama & Kadield –

    Thanks for the reassurance that I’m not screwing her up too badly! 😉

    I’d probably feel guilty if I made her skip all the joy of Santa, too. Parenting is hard, yo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
