RSS

Another Virtual Baby Shower!

17 Feb
Photo by chicagophotogirl

A fellow mommy-blogger and friend, Renee from But Why Mommy, is adopting a baby from Ethiopa! His name is Lion, and you can learn more about him and his story here and here. This will be baby number two for her, and as many of you know, baby number two (and subsequent babies) often miss out on the fun of a baby shower. Which is kind of weird, because even though there may be several things that can be handed down or reused, you still need a lot of new “stuff” for the new baby. Especially when the gender is different from the first! The new mommy is just as excited for each subsequent baby to arrive and is probably even MORE in need of a celebration since she’s going through everything this time with a four year-old at home to care for.

Issa contacted me and several other “bloggy” parents who love Renee. We didn’t want Renee to miss out on any of the fun, but we had a dilemma. We’re scattered all across the U.S., so celebrating in person wasn’t going to work. Instead, Issa coordinated a virtual shower through our blogs. Today, we’re all blogging a piece of baby/mommy advice for Renee and sending her good wishes and virtual hugs. The good news about this type of shower is that there are no ridiculous games to play!! The bad news is: no cake. Sorry.

Renee, this blog-fest is for you! We all love you, and wish you and your family all good things!

(I’m “recycling” my advice from a previous virtual shower, because I still think it’s awesome and I’m all about recycling.)

The best “parenting advice” I ever received was from a friend and mentor in grad school who reminded me that if I didn’t take care of myself first, I wouldn’t be able to take care of my baby. This was especially meaningful advice for me because Jenna was still in the NICU, and I was emotionally and physically exhausted. I think that it’s wonderful advice for any parent-to-be, though. Too often, we don’t take the time that we need for ourselves. Time to renew and recharge in order to be the best parents we can be. When I start to feel like things are out of control or overwhelming, I usually realize that it’s been too long since I made some “me time.” Time all to myself to do something for me. Sometimes, the best thing is to just be. Grab a coffee, sit on a park bench and let my mind get quiet. Heaven. Sadly, it doesn’t happen often enough. Try to do better than I do! {wink}

On the lighter side, I found some funny tips at this site. Here are a few of examples:

Dressing small children is not as easy as it seems: First buy an octopus and a bag made out of loose mesh. Attempt to put the octopus into the bag so that none of the arms hang out. Time allowed for this: all morning.

Go to your local supermarket: Take with you the nearest thing you can find to a preschool child — a fully-grown goat is excellent. If you intend to have more than one child, take more than one goat. Buy your week’s groceries without letting the goats out of your sight. Pay for everything the goats eat or destroy. Until you can easily accomplish this, do not even contemplate having children.

Hollow out a melon. Make a small hole in the side. Suspend it from the ceiling and swing it from side to side. Now get a bowl of soggy Cheerios and attempt to spoon them into the swaying melon by pretending to be an airplane. Continue until half the Cheerios are gone. Tip the rest into your lap, making sure a lot of it falls on the floor. You are now ready to feed a 12-month-old baby.

Can you stand the mess children make? To find out, first smear peanut butter onto the sofa and jam onto the curtains. Hide a piece of raw chicken behind the stereo and leave it there all summer. Stick your fingers in the flower beds, then rub them on the clean walls. Cover the stains with crayons. How does that look?

Practice getting ready to go out. Wait outside the bathroom for half an hour. Go out the front door. Come in again. Go out. Come back in. Go out again. Walk down the front path. Walk back up it. Walk down it again. Walk very slowly down the road for 5 minutes. Stop to inspect minutely every cigarette butt, piece of used chewing gum, dirty tissue, and dead insect along the way. Retrace your steps. Scream that you’ve had as much as you can stand until the neighbors come out and stare at you. Give up and go back into the house. You are now just about ready to try taking a small child for a walk.

Practice repeating everything you say 5 times (Or, practice having your spouse/partner ask “Why?” after every single thing you say).

If you have some parenting advice (or humor) for Renee, please leave it in the comments section here. Be sure to also head over to her site to give her your own good wishes and some bloggy love.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2010 in Blog Links, Family, Parenting tips, Random Fun

 

5 responses to “Another Virtual Baby Shower!

  1. Heather

    February 17, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    THAT is priceless! I love it.

    I’m going to buy 2 goats right now! XOXOXO

     
  2. But Why Mommy

    February 17, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Thank you hon. This is so sweet even if there isn’t cake. Thanks for the great advice. Its going to be an interesting ride with a baby and a 4 yr old. I kind of take for granted that Bunny can do all sorts of things by herself, I need to prepare myself to do everything again. Or to train Bunny to do it for me 🙂

     
  3. Denise

    February 17, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    The best cutest advice… The cheerios thing is so true!

     
  4. Heather~Domestic Extraordinaire

    February 18, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Love the goat tip….awesome!

     
  5. Issa

    February 18, 2010 at 7:47 am

    I love the octopus one. That cracks me up every single time.

    I’m so glad this worked out. Even better since she got her good news today.

     

Leave a Reply

 
