RSS

Honest Scrap

24 Oct

The lovely Princess Jenn has honored me with the Honest Scrap Award!  Her intentions may have been a little bit devious (she said I needed to update my space), but I’m still flattered.  I love Jenn’s honesty and we’ve really connected with the special needs issues we’re dealing with for our girls.  She’s a fabulous lady with a great sense of humor, so go, take a minute, and check out her blog.  Thank you, Jenn, for the awesome award, but EVEN more for being my friend.

Here’s how the award works:

  1. Present this award to 7 others whose blogs you find brilliant in content and/or design, or those who have encouraged you
  2. Tell those 7 people they’ve been awarded the HONEST SCRAP AWARD and inform them of these guidelines in receiving the award.
  3. Share “10 Honest Things” about yourself.

So now you need 10 Honest Things about me:

  1. I HATE diet soda.  I tried forcing myself to like it, but I just. can’t. do it.  Can’t stand the taste of artificial sweetener & hate anything that contains it.  Even gum.  While we’re talking about soda, it’s also one of my weaknesses.  I’ve tried to give it up a million times.  I have finally succeeded in not bringing it in the house, but I often indulge when I’m out.  And, for the record, make it Pepsi, please.  No Coke.  Unless it has cherry syrup in it.
  2. Potato chips are another weakness.  Don’t even bring a bag in the door of my house.  Don’t. Do it.  My butt thanks you.
  3. I’m currently struggling (a lot) with patience with a three-year-old going on thirteen.  I have always loved kids.  I thought I was (mostly) a patient person.  Then I became a mom.  Every day, right now, I struggle with this, and I feel horrible when I snap at her.  I try to always apologize as necessary.  I hope it’s at least teaching her that apologizing when you screw up is a good thing.  I make sure that I tell her I love her at least once a day, and EVERY time that I apologize.  I’m trying to do better.  I’m also REALLY worried about the teenage years. {And, Mom?  I can here you giggling from here.  I know, I KNOW: she’s just like me.  Karma stinks.}
  4. I’m uterus-free and couldn’t be happier about it! I had a hysterectomy in July for severe endometriosis that I’ve struggled with for many, MANY years.  It is unbelievable to be completely pain-free, plus free of the monthly BLECH.
  5. Largely as a result of that last item, I’m switching to a vegetarian diet.  A hysterectomy increases my odds of heart disease, and, one of the best ways to prevent heart disease is through a vegetarian diet.  I’m not going to be crazy-strict about it.  If we’re somewhere without veggie options, I’ll still eat meat, but it will be rare (the occasion – NOT the meat.  Ewww).  Except I’m not sure I can give up bacon.  I really. love. bacon.  There’s just something about that salty goodness.  *Sigh*  I’m going to try “Fakin’ Bacon” but I’m skeptical.  It will, for sure, be something I miss.
  6. I am a Halloween grinch. I really don’t like the “holiday.”  I think it’s largely due to all the wastefulness that goes with it.  Especially the spending: on elaborate costumes, on decorations (lawn ornaments & Halloween lights? REALLY??), the candy, etc.  Teenagers and college students that we don’t even know, coming in groups to ring our doorbell and ask for candy?  REALLY??  Don’t worry.  I won’t judge you if you love it.  We all have our “thing.”  BUT, don’t be surprised when we turn out our lights, close the blinds, and retreat to our basement TV room for the night.
  7. I think that I love our new cat, Cookie, more than Jenna does, even though the cat was “for her.”   She’s lovey, cuddly, beautiful and fun, and I love watching Jenna play with her.  I DON’T love the litter box, and wish I could hire someone for that job.  (Secretly waiting for Jenna to get old enough to force slave labor add it as a chore).  And I love her a lot more since she seems to be over her eating disorder, but that’s a whole post for another day.
  8. I’m becoming a “home-body” in my old age.  Seriously.  I’m curiously surprised to find that I now often prefer to just hang out at home instead of going out.  Or even inviting people over sometimes.  I never would have guessed this about myself.  Don’t get me wrong – I still get cabin-fever now and then, and NEED to get out, but it’s not as often as it used to be, and I’m much more content to just be home.  Ultimately, I think that’s a good thing.  It means I love my family.  I love my home.
  9. I still have the travel bug, though.  My list of places in the world that I want to see is growing longer, not shorter.  Greece and South America currently top the list.  (Can you be a home-body in your day-to-day life and still wish to travel the world occasionally??  Apparently, you can, because that’s exactly how I feel, if it makes any sense.)
  10. The best concert I ever attended was Elton John (open air) in Leipzig, Germany (Hey!  Don’t judge!)  Somehow, my friend and I managed to be standing in the front row, right at the stage, and the concert was AMAZING.  Afterward, we hung out at the stage in the (naive) hope that Sir Elton would come back out.  Instead, we started chatting with the stage crew, who ended up asking us to go to a pub with them.  No, we didn’t go.  But it was pretty awesome.  Instead, we rode the Strassenbahn back and saw a woman pull down her pants and urinate on a bench at the station.  Ahhhh…..the memories.

There you have it!  More than you ever wanted to know about me in 10 bullet points.  Now, here are the 7 wonderful people I’ll tag:

Our Incredible Journey

Eat, Play Love

Healthy Green Moms

InstaMom

MommyGeekology 2.0

Playgroups Are Not For Children

Coconut Belly

The Extraordinary Ordinary

All awarded for their wonderful honesty, bloggity writing, and personal loveliness.  What?  There are more than seven?  Hmmm…..  I don’t always follow directions well.  Shoot me.

 

17 responses to “Honest Scrap

  1. mommygeekology

    October 24, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    muah. I love you.

     
  2. PrincessJenn

    October 24, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    See, yet another reason you have to move up here with me. My next door neighbor manages the Pepsi plant here.
    Oh, and I had to re-read #7 a couple times, because I thought you were saying at first that you loved the cat more than you loved J. Yeah, I’m going to get more coffee now.
    lol

     
  3. Tricia

    October 24, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Wow, I came upon this and definitely need to add you to my blog list. I love the way you write. (If I can ever find the time to read the long list I already have, but promise to try). You and I sound like kindred spirits – I think we both figured out that we love to travel already and we seem to be in sync about many topics.. Your comment about the endometriosis was the one that caught my eye – I have been a sufferer for most of my fertile years and am still suffering. Both my kids are miracles. I recently had my sixth clean out surgery (July), have done Lupron, birth control, you name it and cannot get rid of the pain for long. I would truly appreciate your comments on the value of a hyseterectomy. Much of my endo is not on my ovaries and uterus, which has been one of the main reasons they haven’t taken it all out, but I’d really love to hear how it has helped you. I am seriously considering it as the next step. 🙂

    Hope to get to know you better over the next while and I will definitely start reading.

    Thanks for sharing all these interesting facts about yourself!
    Tricia 🙂

     
  4. psychmamma

    October 24, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Princess Jenn

    Not that I needed another reason to want to move up there, but A PEPSI PLANT???? Holy heavenliness. It’s an omen, don’t you think? 🙂

    Completely cracked up when I re-read #7. It was poorly written, so we can’t entirely blame the lack of coffee. Corrected it to avoid ongoing confusion.

     
  5. Heather

    October 24, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Dang it…now I have to write! 😉
    Thank you darling…I’ll get to it. Later. I promise!

     
  6. psychmamma

    October 24, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Tricia –

    So glad you came to visit! Would definitely love to connect with you about endometriosis issues, and hope to get an email out to you later today. Looking forward to talking to you more!

     
  7. psychmamma

    October 24, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Heather –

    Sleep should be your number one priority right now, mama! No hurry! No worries. I’ll be there reading whenever you have the time.

     
  8. Jennifer

    October 24, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Thank you!! I’m honored you include me on your list.

    I also don’t like diet soda, by the way. Actually I don’t even like regular soda.

    Patience, oh yes. I used to work with kids who I thought tested my patience. Hoo boy, little did I know.

     
  9. psychmamma

    October 24, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Jennifer –

    I’m not sure how you stayed strong against the evil, addictive tastiness that is what we call soda, but I admire you. 🙂

    If we could bottle and sell patience, think how much money we could make……. AND how much better the world would be *sigh*

     
  10. jen

    October 25, 2009 at 3:19 am

    i get so excited when you update your blog. and then to see my lil’ piece of the blogworld on there? awesome. made my day.
    thank you.
    oh … paitence. just you wait … i have decided that all this girliness might actually be making me a bit excited for the upcoming boy-ness around here. seriously … a 13 year old in a 5 year old body. and it’s not pretty. but it is what it is.
    i’m just hoping that maybe we are getting the teenage angst out of the way early and it will be freesailing from here on out.

     
  11. psychmamma

    October 25, 2009 at 4:23 am

    jen –

    (First of all, I seem to know a lot of Jens, Jenns, and Jennifers! LOL!)

    Second, you aren’t giving me a lot of hope here when you say the same thing is happening at 5!! {wink} You’re absolutely right that “it is what it is.” We just have to do the best we can and enjoy the ride. There are also days (like today was here) that are full of snuggles, calmness and kindness that just about make your heart burst. 🙂

    Can’t wait to read 10 things about you!

     
  12. InstaMom

    October 25, 2009 at 5:38 am

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. This is my very first award…I should stop writing more often (*wink*).

     
  13. psychmamma

    October 25, 2009 at 5:42 am

    InstaMom –

    You totally deserve it. For your honesty, friendship and the beauty I sense in your heart. I’m glad to know you. No pressure to post. Just know you’re loved, and I’ll be there when you do!

     
  14. Heather of the EO

    October 25, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Hey thanks, lady!!! I’m flattered that you thought of me. 🙂

    I can’t stand diet soda, just so you know. But REGULAR Dr.Pepper? I’m pretty sure it’s the nectar of the gods.

     
  15. AmazingGreis

    October 29, 2009 at 12:43 am

    I’m with you on the diet soda front, hate it. If I’m drinking soda, it’ll be the REAL thing. Love potato chips, especially salty ones. I really want to go on an Alaskan Cruise and to Australia.

    Thanks for sharing your truths.

     
  16. Heather~Domestic Extraordinaire

    November 5, 2009 at 4:23 am

    It is so great to see you posting again….great list, feel like I know you better. And the soda thing….I am addicted to Dr.Pepper, but as long as I don’t have it in my house I am fine and when we are out I treat myself to Diet Coke or Sweet Tea….if I got one Dr. Pepper I don’t know that I could stop! But when hubs is feeling extra sweet he will bring me a 20 oz of Dr. Pepper home, instead of flowers…and I LOVE it!

     
  17. psychmamma

    November 5, 2009 at 6:03 am

    Heather –

    Hmmm…. Pepsi instead of flowers? I think I could get into that!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
