RSS

The End

19 Jan
Photo by Olivander

Well, I have some big news to share with you.  Nope, I’m not pregnant.  THAT’S not happening again.

I’m quitting blogging.  This week.   Today.  As in, this is my last post.  I’ve been mulling this over for a long time, and let me tell you, it was NOT an easy decision.  And it’s not because I don’t love doing it.  In a nutshell, it’s because I’ve been feeling internally conflicted.  Maybe “guilty” is even an accurate word.  I know myself well enough to know that those feelings mean I need to psychologize myself (yes, it’s totally a word).  On closer examination, I realized that, too often, blogging leads to time taken away from where my priorities are: PsychDaddy and a cute little toddler who just wants me to play with her all the time.  {smiles}

No matter how you look at it, and no matter how well I manage my time, blogging still TAKES time.  Often, it’s more time than I plan for.  I get “sucked in” a lot more often than I care to admit.  I HATE when I snap at Jenna or get impatient with her because I’m trying to focus on something for a blog.  She’s at such a fun stage right now, and I’m not going to get these years back.  I also want to start working more on teaching her, working on crafts together, cooking together, etc.  I know that the best gift I can give her is my time and attention.  I know that it’s been sadly lacking more than I’d like it to be lately.

Time spent blogging is also time that I feel I should be spending working on something that will earn money.  I have an opportunity to do some work (FOR MONEY) from home, and it just makes more sense to commit time to this.  I know that would help take some income stress off PsychDaddy, and he’s been carrying that load alone for a while now.  If I’m not spending time earning money, I also feel like I need/want to be spending more time investigating what I want to do with the rest of my life.  Like when Jenna goes to school.  I need to be figuring out where I’m going and what I want to do, and then trying to work toward whatever goal I set.  That will probably be an ongoing process, but I’d like to be spending more time on it.

I’d love to have more time to work out, to work on my photography skills, to scrapbook, to journal, to read, to cook, to play Risk or Carcassonne with PsychDaddy {smiles}.  That time has to come from somewhere.

Finally, PsychDaddy hates the blogging.  He tries SO hard to not say anything, because he knows I love it (sweetie), but I know it bugs him.  He thinks my time can be better spent on just about anything.  I don’t like keeping it from him.  I feel dishonest when I purposefully don’t mention that I spent time doing it, and when I mention something about it, I sense “weirdness” and I change the subject.  Blech.  I just don’t like that “tension” between us.  I value my relationship with him MUCH more than I value this hobby.

I  hope to still read and comment at the sites of all my wonderful “bloggy” friends.  I’ve “met” (virtually) so many wonderful bloggers and there are so many wonderful writers out there.  I’ll still come to visit.  I figure that will be my “magazine reading” time equivalent, since I’m ending subscriptions to printed magazines in the interest of saving money and the environment.  Makes sense, right?  I’m also going to leave my blog up for public viewing.  You can come back to look up links or info from past posts, or just come back to reminisce.  Maybe some of the Special Needs Sunday posts will still help someone searching for info.  Who knows.  At any rate, the site will be here, it just might be a little more echoey than it used to be.

I truly, truly hope you all understand.  I love writing.  I love YOU, my readers, and the interaction I have with you through the comments.  I’m going to miss it.  I’m going to miss you all.  I just feel like this is what I need to do to balance my priorities right now.  My hope is to spend a little bit less time writing about life and a little bit more time living it.

Wishing you all the best.  Thank you for coming to read what I had to say.  Thank you for sharing a little bit of our lives.  I truly feel richer from the experience.

Peace and Namaste.

 
35 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2009 in Stream of consciousness

 

35 responses to “The End

  1. Kylie

    January 19, 2009 at 5:46 am

    I’ve been feeling similarly, so I know what you mean.

    Still, I will miss your posts…but have fun doing what you want to do:).

     
  2. Lee Anne

    January 19, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I’m so sad you’re leaving, because I only recently found your blog, and it’s quickly become one of my favorites. But I completely understand your reasons. Good luck!

     
  3. Amazing Greis...

    January 19, 2009 at 8:38 am

    You will definitely be missed. I totally understand your reasoning, enjoy this time with your “little” one and if you ever decide to come back we will welcome you with open arms. Be sure to continue to visit me, I love hearing from you.

    XOXO

     
  4. Amy in Ohio

    January 19, 2009 at 10:09 am

    I know, all too often life is what happens with your busy blogging…lol

    But I’m sad, and I understand but I’m still sad.

    Does this include twitter? LOL

    Do we have each other’s email addresses? OR we could go total old-school and pen (GASP) letters.

     
  5. Renee aka Mekhismom

    January 19, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Oh, you are going to be sorely missed! I am with Amy, does that mean Twitter too? An occasional “hi guys, I’m okay” would suffice. I completely understand your reasons and they all make sense. Do what you need to do for you my friend, I know I blog much less than I used to for many of the reasons that you have stated. If I only post twice a week that is fine with me. I understand. Life happens. I Miss you already!

     
  6. Connie @ Young and Relentless

    January 19, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I completely understand and support you.

    I have recently cut back on blogging and reading blogs for this same reason. It is liberating!

    Good Luck in all of your future ventures!

     
  7. Heather

    January 19, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Just these last few weeks my addiction to blogging has gotten a little out of control. Last week I had to not turn on my computer for one whole day and it killed me. It was then I realized that I wasn’t being fair to the kids. So I am limiting my posts to 2/3 a week instead of every day and I am going to try and read on those same days. So I truly understand where you are coming from.

    Jenna is so beautiful and everyone tells us we will never get these years back so definitely make the most of them.

     
  8. Issa

    January 19, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I do understand. I’ve done it once myself. In some ways it can be a really freeing thing. But I’m sad too. I’ll miss you. Okay, it seems kinda dumb to ask….but are you done with Twitter too?

    I wish you the best in whatever you choose to do, just don’t be a stranger okay?

    Hugs, Issa

     
  9. Deborah

    January 19, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Your insight and wisdom will be sorely missed…

    Deborah

     
  10. Heather of the EO

    January 19, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    You’re doing the right thing, lady. Yes, a tough decision, but one I highly doubt you’ll regret. You’ll be too busy making memories with Jenna and PsychDaddy. You are a wise woman. You will be missed, but I totally get it.

    Peace,
    Heather

     
  11. Kate Coveny Hood

    January 19, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    As always – you have your priorities firmly in place. You’ll be missed! Maybe you could just come back and visit every once in a while?

     
  12. psychmamma

    January 19, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    {Sniff-sniff} I love you all!! Thanks so much for all the wonderful comments and support. You’re making me miss you already. 🙂

     
  13. Insta-Mom

    January 19, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    I am sad. I understand. But I am sad.

    You know where to find me. And you’d better find me occasionally. Better yet…I know how to find you!

     
  14. lorrie

    January 19, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    you will definitely be missed. im leaving my subscription on forever! if you ever get back into the game or do articles elsewhere (you can do this for money too!) let us know. and have fun with your little one, this time is so very fleeting.

     
  15. anymommy

    January 19, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Sadness. I echo all these comments, I understand and I’ll miss you deeply. Meeting women like you is what has balanced out the time I put into blogging, but I have those same feelings. Live it all to the fullest and please, please say hi when you can! Let us know where/when you’re published.

    Hugs, stacey

     
  16. Sharon

    January 19, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    First and foremost, you will be missed.

    I recently found your blog and have enjoyed reading it immensely. I’ll read whatever you write, whenever you have time or inclination to write it.

    Best wishes for the time with your family.

     
  17. jen

    January 20, 2009 at 2:06 am

    you said it …
    i feel the same exact way. and have really stopped visiting blogs and writing on mine when my children are around me.
    i think you are making a very well thought out and good decision.
    keep in touch.
    i will miss your writing and pictures.

     
  18. Maura

    January 20, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Your voice will be missed and, like Insta-mom said, you’d better keep visiting! 🙂

     
  19. tanyetta

    January 20, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Peace and Namaste.

    So beautifully written and completely understandable 😉

     
  20. Suzanne B. (Crunchy Green Mom)

    January 21, 2009 at 1:54 am

    Huzzah!

    Good for you for making the choice for your family! You will be missed, and many of us might leave for similar reasons, though, I am happy you will be coming back from time to time to see us all.

    However, since we are your magazine time… I wouldn’t suggest taking us into the bathroom with you… while you are.. “reading”, that might get a bit awkward for PsychDaddy when he walks in on that! 🙂

    Take care of yourself… I hope you find blessing in every day with your lovely family!

    Warm Blessings,
    Lilith ~Crunchy Green Mom~

     
  21. heartatpreschool (Kari)

    January 21, 2009 at 3:06 am

    I understand and I respect the decision you made about blogging. Good for you.

    I’ll enjoy coming back though, and reading some of your archived posts that I haven’t read yet.

    Thanks for sharing yourself with all of us.

    All the best,
    Kari

     
  22. abesheet

    January 21, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Too bad you happen to be quitting when i stumble across your blog. You sound like such a fun person to read. I’m sure many would be sorry to see you go, especially since many bloggers aren’t.

    Regarding your decision, it’s no place of mine, of course, but.. you are giving up blogging because it’s taking too much of your time (away from Psychdaddy and your toddler child). What of you, the discerning reader may ask. But i’m sure you’ve asked (and have given a sufficient answer) to that already. To me, though, it reminds me why I didn’t wanna have kids in the first place. Because once a mother has a child, she’s as good as non-existent. Good luck mommy! I hope your child makes your giving up a favorite pastime (“an outlet”, some may say, “a refugee”, “a rock of salvation) for her sake worth while 🙂 !

     
  23. Heather

    January 22, 2009 at 1:35 am

    I know you’re not supposed to be reading this as you are hanging out with your hubby and Jenna but wanted to let you know that I gave you a farewell shout out on my blog.

     
  24. lisa

    January 22, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I’m sorry I stumbled upon this too late. If you come back to visit, your comments, I hope you find more balance in your life and remain happy.

     
  25. Heather @ Domestic Extraordinaire

    January 22, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Hon, I will miss your posts but I am so happy that I got to meet you (I think on twitter and then got to know you a bit more thru your blog) I do most of my internet stuff when the girls are at school-so I understand wanting to spend more time with Jenna. And I know if hubby didn’t like the blogging I wouldn’t do it.

    Thinking of you while J is in the hospital. Many hugs to you and her and psychdaddy. And when J is feeling better and our schedules permit we will have to do lunch somewhere in between.

    Many hugs my friend. :O)

     
  26. Monica

    January 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Awe, I so understand why you made this decision so congrats for making it! You’ll be missed for sure.

    Many of us can relate to your feelings on it because blogging is so very demanding. I’ve spent most of my first year figuring out how to plan my time and as a mother, there are only so many hours in the day.

    Best wishes to you and little J, I hope to see you out reading your “magazines” so please stop by anytime and say hi 🙂

     
  27. Diapers and Wine

    January 23, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    I’m so bummed to hear this, but I too completely understand where you’re coming from. I think about quitting pretty much every other day!

    Best wishes to you and the fam – we here in the blogosphere will miss you!

    –Lisa

     
  28. Marinka

    January 23, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Selfishly, I am sad to hear it, but you are right, of course, you need to do what is right for you and your family. I’m not going to try to talk you out of it, because I respect your decision, but if you ever want me to talk you into returning to blogging, just shout!

    You’ll still twitter, right?

     
  29. Mia of General Hysteria

    January 25, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I’m heartbroken. Really, for you and for me. Partly because I recently found your blog, but also because I could have typed this post as well. These are things that resinate in my life. I recently left one thing to gain more time and ended up starting another. However, I would like to write as my “thing” to do in life, so I chalk this up to practice.

    For you, I’m heartbroken because I realize how terribly difficult of a decision this was. There’s a part of each of us as mothers that need something for ‘us’. We feel guilty when we have ‘me’ time or do anything for ourselves; torn between self-fulfillment away from family, and family.

    You should know however that you’ve made the right decision. Your daughter will appreciate your focused time. PsychDaddy will appreciate not seeing you staring at a computer screen hourly.

    I hope that you will find the time to come back and visit all of us still sucked in the blogosphere, maybe a tweet or two. Until then, you’ll be missed.

     
  30. Stephanie

    January 27, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Sorry it’s taken me SO LONG to comment on this post.

    I just wanted to say that I admire your decision and your commitment to your family. You’ll be missed, but something tells me that this isn’t really “good-bye.” I’m sure I’ll see you around the blogosphere…and – who knows? – maybe you’ll pick up blogging again someday.

    So, how has it been…not blogging?

     
  31. tracey

    January 28, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    You are always able to come back, you know. Blogging CAN be done in moderation and I will never find another spot for the type of outlet that I can get through blogging.

    But I understand. Good luck on your future endeavors.

     
  32. iMommy

    February 3, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I can’t believe I missed this.

    I’m sorry to see you go, simply because your blog is one of my favorites. I’ll truly miss your Saturday memories, your little quick snippets of interesting information – all of it. I always knew I could count on a smile when I pointed my browser here.

    I can’t be selfish, though 🙂 You have a beautiful family and I agree — it’s better to be present, to spend our time doing the things at are most beneficial to us at that time. You’re making a hard decision and I truly admire you for being able to make the right decision for your family.

    I’ll miss you, Mamma! I truly will. I hope that your e-mail address will still work? If not… please, drop me a line with your new one. I’d love to keep touch.

     
  33. CanCan (Mom Most Traveled)

    February 23, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Best of luck…I’m sure this was a difficult choice! Think of me whenever you check the time on your Casio! 🙂

     
  34. ExtraordinaryMommy

    February 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

    I completely understand. I could have written this post. I have snapped at my kids. I have felt guilty. I have struggled to balance it all. Wishing you the very best of luck!! Sad to see you go 🙂

     
  35. Allison

    February 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Aww, so sad to hear it. I get it though. Let us know if you ever change your mind. Good luck in your ventures!

     

Leave a Reply

 
