RSS

The Get Fit Plan – Week 6

14 Jan

Time to give you an update on my progress with the Get Fit Plan.  In a nutshell:  I couldn’t be more happy.  OK, OK…… I WOULD be more happy if I had lost even MORE weight, but I’m determined to keep my focus on fitness and health and trust that the weight loss will follow.  I also know that it’s better to lose weight slowly and consistently.  At least that’s what “they” say.  It sure would be nice to lose it all at once though.  I guess that says something about my patience level, huh?

After 6 weeks of following my plan, and struggling with the temptations of holiday treats, I’m happy to say that I’m 26 points away from my 200 point goal, and I’ve lost a total of 9 pounds!  That’s more than a pound a week, and I guess that’s nothing to sneeze at.  (What does that saying MEAN, anyway??  You sneeze at things you mock??)

I started tracking my goals and points through Joe’s Goal’s online.  My friend T (yep, the same one who inspired the Get Fit Plan) told me about it, and I love it!  It’s free, it’s easy to use, and it gives a great visual representation of how you’re doing.  Give it a try.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but the holidays were INCREDIBLY difficult.  I had to concentrate on will power and pull myself away from treats and snacks.  I DID let myself induldge in small samples of my favorite things now and then, but keeping the samples small was so, so hard.  I have to say that it was all worth it when I would step on the scale and see that my weight stayed the same, and then when it actually DROPPED!  Yay!

There is no doubt in my mind that what’s working for me is the fact that I’m tracking positive points.  Instead of tracking food points (like Weight Watchers) and feeling guilty or dreading that I’m adding another point, I’m excited to get points for positive behaviors that are adding up to earn a sweet prize………..

I’m getting very excited because PsychDaddy said that next week, for my birthday, we should incorporate picking up my new iPod!!  Yipee!!  Now, I just have to think of what my next incentive to work toward will be……  I don’t want to lose my momentum.  Twenty more “baby pounds” to go……..

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2009 in Health, Weight Loss

 

11 responses to “The Get Fit Plan – Week 6

  1. Kylie

    January 14, 2009 at 5:58 am

    That is awesome! Go PsychMamma!

    I’m doing weight watchers, but it’s because I lost 15 pounds the last time I did it and was able to keep most of it off. My brother in law lost about 80 lbs with them (and has kept it off for 4 years now).

    And my gym finally opened! And it’s awesome! And six minutes from my house! It can’t get better!

     
  2. Rachel

    January 14, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Way to go! I’ve got about 15 “baby pounds” to lose… I keep putting off a fitness plan of my own until I’m done nursing (and done being lazy, I suppose).

    Keep us posted on your progress!

     
  3. Insta-mom

    January 14, 2009 at 11:37 am

    So do you get a Wii for the next 200 points?

     
  4. Jill

    January 14, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Congratulations on 9 pounds!!! You can do it keep on going!

     
  5. Maura

    January 14, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Awesome job! I think your goal prize should be a Wii, too. 🙂

     
  6. So Much More Than A Mom

    January 14, 2009 at 4:55 pm

     
  7. lisa

    January 15, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Weight is so easy and fun to put on, but so hard to take off. Weight Watchers helped me lose the 50 lbs. I gained with each of my kids.

     
  8. Heather

    January 15, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Congrats – I’ve gained 2lbs in the last 6 weeks. Keep going – that is great.

     
  9. Stephanie

    January 16, 2009 at 3:10 am

    Congrats on your progress toward your goals! Good for you!

     
  10. psychmamma

    January 17, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Thanks, everyone for the wonderful support and encouragement!! All of you who are also working on weight loss: If I can do it, you can do it. Really. 🙂

    Kylie – So glad you have a gym close to your house. That makes it so much easier. Ours is also 5 min away.

    Rachel – You can do it!!

    Insta-Mom & Mo – LOVE the Wii idea! It’s definitely on the list. Budget considerations might have veto power though.

    Lisa – You’re exactly right. It doesn’t seem fair that it’s so easy to put on and so HARD to get off. In my younger days, the two were almost even, but, sadly, those days are gone.

    Heather – Hee! That’s my usual holiday MO, too. Two pounds is not distrastrous, so don’t fret!

    Jill & Stephanie – Thanks for the encouragement!

     
  11. iMommy

    January 18, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    I agree with Insta-Mom, a Wii is a great next goal. Maybe increase the points for that one, though.

    You have inspired me to set up a prize for Hubby & I to lose weight. Woot!

    And….. CONGRATS! GOOD JOB!

     

Leave a Reply

 
