RSS

Fighting A Cold or Flu Naturally – It’s About Thyme

12 Jan

Body + Soul magazine had an excellent article on the natural remedial qualities of thyme that I thought I would share with you.  Since I’m currently battling some sort of cold, this information is particularly relevant to me.  I’ll start trying this tomorrow after I get some thyme.

Apparently, culinary thyme contains high levels of antimicrobial compounds that combat colds and flus.  It also has expectorant qualities that can help ease coughs.  Here’s how you can use it:

Pour a cup of boiling water over 2 teaspoons dried (or 3 teaspoons fresh) thyme, and steep for 10 minutes.  Drink 3 cups daily for cold, flu and cough symptoms.  Gargling with the tea can also soothe a sore throat.

You can pick up fresh or dried thyme at most grocery stores, but remember that dried herbs lose their potency over time.  If it doesn’t have a fragrant scent, you need a new jar.

Feel better soon!

Edit note:  I’ve tried this now and really think it helps.  Especially with the sore throat.  It DOESN’T taste great (in my opinion), but it’s tolerable.  It’s more palatable with mint or mint tea added..

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2009 in Going Green, Health

 

7 responses to “Fighting A Cold or Flu Naturally – It’s About Thyme

  1. iowacompact

    January 12, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Ohhh! I’m so glad you posted this. PERFECT moment to remember the medicinal qualities of thyme.

     
  2. Marinka

    January 12, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Have you tried it? I love thyme, but the idea of thyme tea is sort of gagging me a little. thanks for the tip!

     
  3. psychmamma

    January 12, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Ha! I haven’t tried it yet. Will get fresh thyme this afternoon. I guess when your head is as clogged up as mine, you’ll try just about anything to be able to breath through your nose again. 🙂

     
  4. maturenatural

    January 13, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I put dried thyme in my hair oil. Love the smell.

     
  5. Connie @ Young and Relentless

    January 13, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    I love thyme! Thanks for the info!

     
  6. heartatpreschool (Kari)

    January 14, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Ooo, I am so trying that! Thanks!

     
  7. iMommy

    February 3, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I’ve gotta get into this herbal medicinal stuff. Everything you post about it sounds awesome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
