RSS

Cheap Winter Fun For Kids

07 Jan

buttons

God bless grandmas.  Really.  My mom and dad are visiting right now, and my mom brought along a big jar of vintage buttons that she’s had for years.  I remember playing with them when I was a kid.  Jenna has literally spent hours with these buttons.  She’s enjoyed stringing them with a darning needle, and she’s created a long string of multicolored buttons.  We put them in a 9 x 13 pan, and she simply sorted them, touched them, ran her fingers through them and admired them.  She’s currently enjoying scooping them with spoons and measuring cups and pouring them into her play kitchen pots and teacups.

Not only is this occupying time and keeping her busy and happy, she’s also learning while she’s doing it!  She’s learning to discriminate colors, sizes and shapes (circles, spheres, and squares).  She also started sorting small buttons from the large ones and carefully dropping the small ones into the spout of her play teapot.  It’s great practice for fine motor skills and eye-hand coordination, and it’s a wonderful sensory exercise.  I have to admit that I had fun looking through the variety of colors, shapes and styles and remembering them from my childhood too.

Thanks Grandma!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2009 in Family, Jenna, Parenting tips

 

6 responses to “Cheap Winter Fun For Kids

  1. Domestic Extraordinaire

    January 7, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    you could give her an empty egg carton and ask her to sort them into different slots (or a muffin tin works well too) don’t tell her how you want her to sort them, let her sort them and tell you. It is amazing how they see differences and similarities in buttons.

     
  2. psychmamma

    January 7, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    DE – Great idea! We’ll try it today.

     
  3. anymommy

    January 7, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I love this! I’m going to start begging for people’s old buttons. My grandmother had an old messenger bag that she threw all her junk mail into. We would play mail for hours at her house. I’ve done this a couple of times with our kids. They love it.

     
  4. heartatpreschool (Kari)

    January 8, 2009 at 4:10 am

    That is just awesome!

     
  5. psychmamma

    January 8, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    I LOVE the mail idea! I’m going to start saving “junk” mail for Jenna. She’ll have a great time. FYI: You can get bags of buttons for relatively cheap at craft stores like Michaels. I also save all the extras that I get with clothes and throw them in a jar.

     
  6. iMommy

    February 3, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    oooh! I need to get me some buttons.

    My mother just gave Boopie a “Treasure Chest” with a bunch of buttons, jewelry, old keys, etc in a box that used to hold pretty rose-scented soaps. She LOVES it – carries it everywhere – and knows every single item that is supposed to be in the box.

    Hours of imaginative play right there, folks.

    Thank God for Grandmothers.

     

Leave a Reply

 
