RSS

Getting Kids to Sleep Longer (so that maybe you can too)

06 Jan

Tired of tots coming into your room to ask you if it’s time to get up yet?  Or, if they’re not “free-roaming” yet, maybe they just repeatedly call you with increasing volume until you respond, like Jenna does.  Sigh.  Here’s a solution I love!  Leave it to desperate parents to come up with something brilliant.  The Good Nite Lite was developed by a dad who just wanted a little. bit. more. sleep.  It works like a night light that’s set on a timer.  When it’s time to go to sleep, the happy moon face glows.  When it’s wake up time (the time YOU choose and preset on the timer), the cheery sun face appears.  A visual cue is a stroke of genius, especially for young kids who can’t yet tell time.  I also love that it’s easily packable and portable for anytime you travel.  Consistency (and sleep) when you’re on the road are pretty important too.

If you have a super early bird, gradually set the timer for a little later each morning until you reach a wake-up time where you all can function better.  Especially you {smile}.  Maybe you can even sneak in a cup of coffee before they get up.

The Good Nite Lite isn’t available in retail stores yet, but you can order online here.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2009 in Product Reviews

 

7 responses to “Getting Kids to Sleep Longer (so that maybe you can too)

  1. Kirsten/Mama Ginger Tree

    January 6, 2009 at 12:51 am

    That’s adorable. What a great idea. I would get one for my son, but he HATES all night lights. My daughter could use one though.

     
  2. Meg

    January 6, 2009 at 10:29 am

    We just got our daughter to move to her bed and now we are looking for a nightlight. I am seriously thinking about getting this. (’cause I treasure my morning quiet alone time) Thanks for sharing it!

     
  3. Insta-Mom

    January 6, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    This is one of those “Why didn’t I think of that?” things.

     
  4. Heather of the EO

    January 6, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    THIS IS BRILLIANT! How long have I been saying, “MILES, it is NOT even 7 yet!!!”

     
  5. anymommy

    January 6, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Holy cr*p I want one! this is brilliant. I’ve been considering a clock with a huge star by the seven. Not a chance my kids would understand. This they will understand!

     
  6. psychmamma

    January 7, 2009 at 10:19 am

    LOL! You’re all reacting like I did. “Why didn’t I think of that?? It’s ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!” and “I WANT one!”

    I think that’s going to be one successful and lucrative invention.

     
  7. heartatpreschool (Kari)

    January 8, 2009 at 4:11 am

    LOVE that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
