RSS

Homemade Granola Bars

02 Jan

granola-2

Ta-da!  I’m domestic!  I baked!  I’m a baker!  (Movie reference anyone??)  I made these homemade granola bars thanks to a recipe I found at Mom Most Traveled, and they turned out great.  They were easy to make, they’re absolutely delicious, and I’m already looking forward to one with my coffee for breakfast.  Here’s the recipe:

3/4 c. packed brown sugar

1/2 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. vegetable oil

Mix oil & sugars

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

Beat in egg and vanilla

1 1/2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

Combine and add to mixture

2 1/2 c. oats

1/2 c. mixed seeds (flax, pumpkin, sesame, sunflower)

1/2 c. chocolate chips

Stir into batter (I actually kneaded this part in by hand.  Where’s that Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer when I need it??)

Press into ungreased jelly roll pan and bake for 20 minutes (until golden) at 375F

Enjoy the yumminess!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2009 in Recipes

 

7 responses to “Homemade Granola Bars

  1. jen

    January 2, 2009 at 10:37 am

    those look so delicious.
    if i bring over my coffee … can i have one too?

    oh yeah. sick kids with a stomach bug. must. stay. home.

     
  2. CanCan (Mom Most Traveled)

    January 2, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I do the hand kneading method as well. Aren’t we purists?
    I wouldn’t mind a mixer…

     
  3. Maura

    January 2, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Those look fantastic…and not just because my stomach is growling right now!

    I saw your tweet about this post and I thought, “Eh, granola bars, OK.” But the recipe is great and now I’m going to try them myself. Thanks!

    P.S. This is the first time your blog came up for me at AlphaInventions, so that was kind of neat. 😉

     
  4. Maria

    January 2, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Making NOW. Yum!

     
  5. Heather~Domestic Extraordinaire

    January 2, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    I have wanted to make homemade granola bars for a while (like years) but always don’t. I have no idea why because I don’t like eating the Quaker variety ones.

    I must do this.

     
  6. Heather of the EO

    January 2, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    mmmmm…you ARE a baker!

     
  7. Mia of General Hysteria

    January 5, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Yeah! Something I could make too! I can be domestic with you. Shhhh. Don’t tell anyone. It would ruin my completely undomestic persona.

     

Leave a Reply

 
