RSS

Happy New Year! There’s A Bird On Your Head

01 Jan
Photo by Magh

My sister and I cut each other’s hair.  We realized two things:  we can save a LOT of money, and it’s not rocket science.  (No offense to any stylists out there.  I’m sure you know and do things that we have no idea about.)  I mean, it’s just hair……if we mess up a little bit, it will grow back.  So far, we both think we’re getting the best haircuts we’ve ever gotten.  I even started highlighting my sister’s hair (successfully)!

Yesterday, we were swapping haircuts I was cutting hers after just having mine finished.  She was fidgeting, and commented, “I think you hold still a lot better than I do.”  I just recently finished the book Eat, Pray, Love (LOVED IT!) and told her that the author was working on yogic meditation and said that there is an old Sanskrit text that states that you know you’re doing meditation right, and that you’ve achieved the ultimate, tranquil state if you are sitting still enough that a bird lands on your head.  I said, “So, that would be a huge yogic compliment.”  She snorted somewhat disdainfully.

Me:  “What???  What was the snort about?”

Her:  “Because you would COMPLETELY freak out if a bird landed on your head.”

Me:  (Deflated) “Oh.  So much for yogic goals.”

Because she’s exactly right.  As soon as a bird would land on my head, all tranquility and peace would fly out the window, and I would jump up with arms flailing, screaming like a little girl.  Read more about my feelings for fowl here (see #11).

May your New Year be full of peace, love, happiness and wonder, and may no birds land on your head.  Unless that’s your yogic goal.

Namaste.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2009 in Random Fun

 

7 responses to “Happy New Year! There’s A Bird On Your Head

  1. Domestic Extraordinaire

    January 1, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Yea, I don’t know how I would feel about a bird landing on my head. I used to cut my own hair, but I could only wear it one way. I think it is awesome that you and your sister are talented enough to do that :O) Happy New Year!

     
  2. mrs. f5

    January 1, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    First: happy new year.

    Second: love this post.

    Third: “there’s a bird on your head” just happens to be one of my favorite Designing Women lines ever. Which is saying a LOT.

    Thanks for the good read and the well wishes. See you ’round the Twittersphere…

     
  3. Kirsten/Mama Ginger Tree

    January 2, 2009 at 1:04 am

    I have the same feelings about birds. Ahhhhhhh.

    Happy New Year!

     
  4. Maura

    January 2, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    You crack me up. Happy New Year!

     
  5. Heather of the EO

    January 2, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    That’s funny stuff. So true. Happy New Year!

     
  6. anymommy

    January 3, 2009 at 5:59 am

    I just finished Eat, Pray, Love too. I loved it and hated it. I’ll have to write about it sometime.

    I think birds are foul – aha – I love that. No, they are disgusting and one on my head would ruin any meditation that I ever attempted.

     
  7. mikey

    January 11, 2010 at 4:24 am

    my bird flys on my head all the time

     

Leave a Reply

 
