RSS

Comforting

26 Dec

Ever since my trip to Europe when I discovered the luxury and wonderfulness of down comforters, I’ve been hooked.  Luckily, PsychDaddy has the same obsession, and we have a wonderful down comforter on our bed that I wouldn’t trade.  Unless it’s for a new one.  I’ve even joked that if our house caught on fire in the night, I might drag this out with me.  We’ve had our comforter for five years now and couldn’t be happier.  Down comforters often come in a variety of “weights,” and we have a medium weight one that we use year-round.  It’s not too heavy in the summer not too light in the winter.  (Although, now that we’ve turned our thermostat down, an extra blanket is sometimes nice too).

The one pictured above is not ours, but it looks heavenly.  It’s made with organic cotton and sewn with 15″ square, sewn-through construction.  I would recommend this, because the individual squares help keep the down evenly distributed and the comforter more fluffy.  A comforter cover (aka a duvet) is more easily washable and will help extend the life of the comforter you choose.  A down comforter isn’t cheap, but it’s a wonderful, natural, and lasting investment toward comfortable and cozy sleeping.  Consider all the hours you spend sleeping and how awful you feel when you don’t sleep well.  I love making our bed a cozy haven.  We found our down comforter on sale at a very reasonable price, and I’m sure you can too.  The one pictured above is available through The Company Store online for $169-$269, depending on the size you need.  Sweet dreams!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2008 in Favorite Things, Product Reviews

 

4 responses to “Comforting

  1. iMommy

    December 26, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I got my mother a down comforter and duvet a couple of years ago. She still raves about it!

     
  2. Domestic Extraordinaire

    December 26, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I loved my down comforter, that is until my hubby let the girls take it in the tent and then it rained and got ruined. He hated it, it kept him too warm. I miss it so much.

     
  3. psychmamma

    December 27, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    iMommy – What a wonderful gift!! Hopefully, you bought yourself one at some point too.

    DE – So, was Hubby secretly TRYING to ruin the comforter?? That’s pretty low. Maybe you just need to try a lighter weight one that doesn’t make him so hot.

     
  4. Stephanie

    December 27, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    My husband and I both love down comforters too. We have that on our “list” for the next time we buy a bedding set…which will be very soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
