RSS

Get Fit Plan: Week 1

11 Dec

Time for an update on my Get Fit Plan.  I’m off to a great start!  I think it’s working so well because I have a tangible reward to look forward to, a positive system for earning points and tracking progress, and I’m just plain tired of being out of shape and overweight.

I made a quick spreadsheet chart for tracking and every day I’m determined to rack up the points.  At first, the ab work in the morning was killing me.  I can’t believe how puny my abs must have become since pregnancy and childbirth.  I keep remembering the days pre-baby when I had abs of steel (really!) and I’m determined to get back there.  I’m happy to report that after one week of thinking I would die every time I did crunches, I can already tell a major difference.  I can assure you that it’s still no picnic, and definitely my least favorite part of my goals, but at least I’m not in agony any more.  Yay!

Sun salutation is also going well, and I think it even makes a difference in my attitude for the day.  A little bit of yogic meditation to start the day seems to be a wonderful thing.

The best news??  I’ve lost four pounds over the last week!  THAT totally rocks.  My pants are already loose (and PsychDaddy even noticed), so an added bonus is that I’m going to need to shop for new clothes once I reach my goal.  So far, I’ve earned 40 points of the 200 I need.  I’m not going to quit when I hit that 200 point mark though.  I’ll just add another incentive!

If I can do this, you can too!!  Tell me about your goals or progress in the comments!  I’d love to hear your stories.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2008 in Weight Loss

 

4 responses to “Get Fit Plan: Week 1

  1. Spring @ Forever Spring

    December 11, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    My goals involve going backwards…and returning to former good habits.

    Prior to Feb of last year, I was at the gym daily, cardio for an hour, weights, then a good 20 mins of stretching. I wasn’t thin, but I was in good shape. Fit. Healthy.

    In February, I received a big surprise which disrupted my fitness routine and jilted me back into stress eating. So here I am, probably 40 pounds heavier (hey–me and Oprah!) but even more sadly, I’m very, very out of shape.

    So starting in January, I’m going backwards. I want to return to my good habits, good fitness, and banish stress eating from the kingdom. We can do it!!

     
  2. psychmamma

    December 11, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Spring –

    Good for you! I like the way you’re thinking, and yes we CAN do it!! Good luck! Keep me posted on how things go for you and any “secrets” you might discover. {wink}

     
  3. Kylie

    December 12, 2008 at 4:10 am

    My biggest thing is getting back to the gym. The gym means a lot to me. My gym is set to open MONDAY! YAY! Except that I’m leaving town next week. So, for now it’s just try to eat right over the holidays and get some moderate exercise in, and then when I return after the Christmas break, I’ll return to the gym!

     
  4. psychmamma

    December 16, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Kylie –

    Sounds like you already have your resolutions well in hand! Glad you have a gym that you can get to, and hope that everything works out for you to meet your goals after the holidays. Keep me posted!

     

Leave a Reply

 
