RSS

The Get Fit Plan

04 Dec

Does anyone know where I can find that contraption??  It looks promising.  I’ll try anything.  OK – maybe not.  That one guy on the right looks like he hurt himself….

I blogged before about my goals to lose the “baby weight” from my “baby” who’s now almost three!!  Aaaaahhh!  How did that happen??  Where does the time go?  Sigh.  Anyway, I committed at StickK and have been (mostly) steadily losing weight.  There have been some ups and downs and I’m expecting to hit a wall plateau before long.  I know that I haven’t been exercising as much as I’d like, and the time has come to get serious about fitness and health.  With all of Jenna’s health stuff, my time has been consumed with her care, and I know that I’ve put this off for too long.  I also know that my self confidence, energy, and general attitude would be better if I was in better shape.  The time is now!!

PsychDaddy and I were talking about our sad lack of fitness and the fact that we’re “older” parents.  We want to be sure that we stick around and are in good health for Jenna AND for ourselves.  About the same time as this conversation, my good friend T emailed to say that she set up a behavioral plan for her fitness goals with a Wii reward at the end!  Brilliant!!  We decided to blatantly copy her geniusness with some personal tweaking.

PsychDaddy made his own plan, which shall remain confidential (but I WILL mention that he has a much easier shorter journey than me – – I swear that HE should have carried the baby.  He just naturally seems to stay slim.  Sigh).

Here’s my behavioral plan:  I earn points for doing different things and will work toward a prize when I reach my goal.  My goal is 200 total points by the end of January.  Here’s how I earn points (1 for each):

◊  Do the Sun Salutation (yoga) in the morning
◊  15 min of ab work
◊  30 minutes of walking
◊  30 minutes of cardio workout (bike, elliptical, stairs, etc.)
◊  30 min of strength training (free weights or weight equipment)
◊  1 day without pepsi (or ANY soft drinks) AND desserts/sugary treats
◊  1 pound of weight loss (doesn’t count if I gain it back & lose it again)

I set up all those options, because it’s all stuff I want to be working on.  I want to be more healthy and fit AND lose weight.  Every day this week, I earned 4 points for a total of 12!!  Yay so far!  I just have to keep it up.  I pretty much have to have 4 points a day to make my goal (with 12 days “leeway” for 0 points if/when I want to take a day off).  Usually, I start my morning (before Jenna’s up) with a cup of coffee and some leisurely computer time.  Now, I don’t allow myself to do that until I’ve done sun salutation and ab work.  This means I’ve been getting up a little earlier and doing both (the ab work is KILLING me, by the way)!  In the evenings, I’ve gone to the rec center at the college nearby when PsychDaddy gets home and takes over with Jenna Duty.  I’ll weigh tomorrow morning.  Hopefully, it’s good news.

Oh!  What’s the prize I’m working toward??  A 120GB iPod Classic that looks like this:

Sweet!  That picture alone is enough to motivate me!  I currently have the first generation Shuffle and I’m frustrated with not being able to sort songs into playlists or find and select the songs that I’m in the mood to hear (or that Jenna’s demanding).  My friend T also shared the great tip that the larger memory will allow me to download video that can be a real lifesaver when I need to silence occupy Jenna, at places like the grocery or doctor’s office.

I should mention (lest you imagine that we’re rolling in bucks here) that I’m not getting Christmas or birthday presents (in January), so this will kind of be both, PLUS a great reward.  It’s also, of course, completely contingent on the economy NOT tanking out and our ability to still put groceries on the table.

Here are the other gadgets that were considered from my “wishlist”:  Flip Video Recorder, Wii & Wii Fit, and a Kindle or Sony Reader.  You can let me know if you think I made the right choice.  And if any of you marketing reps out there would like me to review and blog about your Flip, Wii, Kindle or Sony Reader, I’d love to do it!  Send one my way!  {wink}

Psssst…..I’m trying to win a Wii Fit here and HERE!  You can too.  How would it change my life?  My hope is that it would actually make it FUN to exercise and that I would WANT to do it.  And, maybe I won’t fall down when I try to do yoga.  I also really hope it would be something that Jenna and I (or all three of us!) could do together.  I think that the yoga program looks the most fun & interesting to me, and I actually think I would stick with it because of the feedback it offers AND because it makes it more like a game than work.  It would get me up off the sofa more because it would be HERE.  This would be great for me since it’s often hard to get to the gym, given our limitations for care for Jenna and Hubby’s work schedule, and the fact that exercise equipment like treadmills and ellipticals are SO expensive and space-hogging.  Keeping my fingers and toes crossed……..

I’ll keep you all posted on how the Get Fit Plan goes…..  Wish me luck through the holidays.  I need it.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2008 in Health, Weight Loss

 

11 responses to “The Get Fit Plan

  1. heartatpreschool

    December 4, 2008 at 2:26 am

    Good luck to you!

    I just joined this, to help me lose some pounds: http://shrinkingjeans.net/

    Anything that helps with motivation, right?

     
  2. Alpaca Farmgirl

    December 4, 2008 at 9:55 am

    So inspiring! I still have my baby weight from all 4 of my darlings and they are, well, old now. This year I have taken off over 10 lbs drinking Slimfast for bfast 6 mornings a week (instead of bisuits, bacon, the yummy stuff). Need to add the exercise part. Maybe after the holidays…In 2009 – we’ll talk.

    Good luck. Sounds like a super plan. Love the behavior mod in action! I’m hoping for a Kindle for Christmas.

     
  3. Issa

    December 4, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    We have the Wii fit and love it. Although when I don’t use it for a week and then I do it and it says, you know you’d lose more weight if you used me more than once a month, I kinda want to return it too sender. But it’s awesome.

     
  4. Spring@Forever Spring

    December 4, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I’m new and I came here from is there any mommy out there?

    I’m still trying to lose my baby weight too. And I adopted.

    I wish there was a regular people fitness challenge ’cause sometimes the fitness bloggers scare me! (though I read them religiously for inspiration and ideas, I am NOT telling them what I weigh!!!!)

     
  5. magpie

    December 4, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    I like your idea of points for exercise and stuff…it’s a nice twist on the WW diet points…

     
  6. Heather

    December 5, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    I got ‘stuck’ at a certain weight with my second and couldn’t shift it at all. I gave up soda at home and within a month I dropped 5lbs. I did nothing else different. Soda is now not on my shopping list ever!!! However if we go for dinner I will order one as a ‘treat’.
    Hope that helps!

     
  7. Kylie

    December 8, 2008 at 8:56 am

    My kids are getting a Wii for Christmas and somewhere along the way we will get a Wii Fit. My sister RAVES about the Wii. Her hubby is a gamer and she loves this system best of all, which probably means that it’s set up for the people who love gamers (and not the games themselves).

    My daughter’s school uses the Flip Video recorder. She thinks they’re pretty cool. I should let her write up a review for you.

     
  8. psychmamma

    December 8, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    HeartAtPreschool – Thanks for the link! I’m following them at Twitter and considering hooking up at the site. Good luck to you, too!

    Alpaca Farmgirl – My sister has done the SlimFast thing w/sucess too. I might have to give it a try. Hope you get your Kindle wish!

    Issa – Ha! If the Wii really says stuff like that, it might be just the kick in the pants I need! Glad to hear you like yours.

    Spring – I think being a mommy makes it difficult to find time to work out and stay fit the way we’d like to. Doesn’t matter if the kids are biological or adopted. 😉 And, I know what you mean about many of the fitness sites out there!

    Magpie – Thanks! Although WW points give you something concrete and relatively easy to track & monitor, they come across as having a “negative” slant to me. “Limit yourself to only this many points.” I like the idea of earning points as a positive and that I have a tangible reward (besides health and fitness which are abstract) to reward myself with. I can tell the motivation is working already.

    Heather – Thanks for sharing your soda story. I KNOW that it’s not good for me and that it’s just empty calories, but it tastes SO good, and I like the caffeine. Sigh. That being said. I’m determined to give it up except for the occasional treat when we’re out. If you can do it, so can I!

    Kylie – You’ll have to let me know how you like the Wii. I’m sure your kids are going to love it! And also let me know when your daughter writes the review for the Flip! {wink}

     
  9. jen

    December 8, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    i think i finally convinced my husband that we need a wii.
    really.
    and he is completely anti-game systems.

    we played with one the other night and he thought it would be really fun.

    now we just have to get it. and your idea is awesome!

    plus i just joined the stickk thing. except i forgot my checkbook at home…i’ll have to get that in.

    you just totally kicked me in the arse. thanks.

     
  10. psychmamma

    December 8, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Jen – Always glad to contribute a kick in the arse! Good luck! You can hook up with me for support at StickK if you want. I’m “PsychMamma” 🙂

     
  11. shannanb aka mommy bits

    January 13, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I love this points system. I think I would be REALLY motivated if there was a prize (other than weight loss of course) at the end.

    May have to steal this idea!

     

Leave a Reply

 
