RSS

Inside Out Girl Review & Giveaway!

22 Nov

And the winner is………#17!  Congratulations Jen!  Be watching for an email asking for you mailing address!  I wish I had a copy to give to everyone!  Happy holidays!

Inside Out Girl by Tish Cohen is a charming story of an overprotective single mother of two (Rachel) who meets and develops a relationship with a single dad (Len) raising a daughter with special needs.  The book focuses on the variety of relationships within the story.  I love how it addresses perspectives from the kids as well as the parents at the same time it focuses on the complexities of parenting, family, friendships, and dating, as well as sexual identity for Rachel’s teenage daughter, and special needs for Len’s ten-year-old daughter, Olivia.

I could totally relate to Rachel’s propensity to overprotect and worry, and found myself alternating between laughter and tears throughout the book.  I would have to warn that the book was a little bit heavier/sadder in general than I anticipated, but that it didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the story.  I just thought it would be a little bit “lighter” read than it ended up being.

I thought the treatment of the subject of a special needs child and the parenting issues surrounding her was superbly handled.  Olivia, who suffers from a nonverbal learning disorder (NLD), will touch your heart, and her relationship with her father is priceless.  Len’s understanding and patience with Olivia are truly touching, and his frustrations and worries are both poignant and realistic.

In summary, Inside Out Girl is a wonderful read that will touch your heart and remind you of the secret wonders that we all carry within.

Giveaway! One lucky reader will win a copy of the book Inside Out Girl! To enter the contest, simply leave a message in the comment field below.  One extra entry for posting a comment at Twitter about this giveaway & review, then commenting (in a separate comment) here with the URL of your tweet.  If you don’t use Twitter, you can email your friends and include me in the email (psychmamma(at)hotmail(dot)com) and leave an additional comment here telling me that you did it.  Please leave separate comments for each entry opportunity in order to receive full credit.  Contest ends at 6 p.m. EST on Sunday, November 30. Comments that don’t follow the posted instructions will be deleted.  One winner will be chosen via random number generator.  The winner must provide a valid email address and respond to prize notification within 3 days. After 3 days, your prize will be forfeited and another winner will be notified. Contest is open to all readers.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2008 in Jenna

 

26 responses to “Inside Out Girl Review & Giveaway!

  1. Kate Coveny Hood

    November 22, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Sounds like a great book. I’ll add it to my list!

     
  2. Awake

    November 22, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Sounds interesting, sign me up!

     
  3. Lucy K

    November 22, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    This sounds like a great book to read. Then of course I will pass it on to my sister and niece’s who all love to read.
    Thanks !

     
  4. Samantha R

    November 22, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Sounds like a good read!

     
  5. rachael

    November 23, 2008 at 12:06 am

    it sounds like it is a wonderful story!

     
  6. Elaine R

    November 23, 2008 at 1:34 am

    I have a special needs son so I would find this book really interesting.

     
  7. Alyce

    November 23, 2008 at 2:53 am

    I would like to win this book! It sounds like a good read.

    akreese (at) hotmail (dot) com

     
  8. Julie

    November 23, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Sounds interesting-I like new novels!

     
  9. Sarah Faries

    November 23, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Would love to read this book, and I’d pass it on to my SIL after reading… she has 2 daughters.

     
  10. Shannon

    November 23, 2008 at 10:07 am

    I am the mom to a preemie and I would like to read this.
    Thanks

     
  11. judy brittle

    November 23, 2008 at 10:11 am

    The story sounds wonderful. Would love to read it. Thank you so much!

     
  12. amandasue

    November 23, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I’d love to be entered, it sounds like a really good book! Thanks.

     
  13. Allison

    November 23, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Looks interesting. Thanks!

     
  14. Ginny

    November 23, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Looks good

     
  15. Theresa N

    November 23, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful book please sign me up.

     
  16. Cindi

    November 23, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    What a wonderful sounding book! I enjoy reading books that focus on relationships and the complexities of them. I especially like when they work out. Please enter me in your delightful drawing. Many thanks, Cindi

     
  17. jen

    November 24, 2008 at 12:40 am

    this sounds like a very interesting book!

     
  18. Heather~Domestic Extraordinaire

    November 24, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Sounds like an interesting story, I will have to see if our library has it.

    Good Luck this week with all the celebrating-hopefully we can get together before Christmas, but if not there is always 2009!

     
  19. Shannon

    November 25, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I would love to read this book this Christmas

     
  20. WannaBeSkinny

    November 25, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    This sounds like a great read! Sign me up TO WIN!

    =)

     
  21. Abundant Food Savings

    November 25, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    We are doing our first give away on my blog! You just have to register for our newsletter 😉 The winner gets a monthly prize pack! This months prize pack is Blade Runner – The Final Cut (2007 Two-Disc Special Edition) & Omaha Steaks Cutting Board + Cutlery Set.

    For more info visit – http://www.abundantfoodsavings.com

     
  22. Steph @ Problem Solvin Mom

    November 30, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I’m always looking for new good books/authors – great giveaway!

     
  23. Sandi

    November 30, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    This sounds like a really great book and I would love to read it! I will try to post about this on Twitter although I am not sure if I will do it right…lol.

     
  24. Sandi

    November 30, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    http://twitter.com/snacks420…I am pretty sure that it posted and I know it is there. Not sure I did it right though but I definitely tried.

     
  25. jen

    December 1, 2008 at 12:20 am

    thank you thank you thank you!
    i am so excited. i will remember to email you … soon.

     
  26. jen

    December 1, 2008 at 12:21 am

    by the way … does the book come with a babysitter so that i can take the time to read it? or do i have to give up precious blogging time? 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
