RSS

Poop In Car

16 Nov

I’ve been out of town the last four days, visiting a friend from grad school in Atlanta.  It’s been great catching up with her and spending time together again, but this is the first time that I’ve been away from Jenna for this long.  Hubby and I have traveled for two days before while Grandma and Grandpa watched Jenna, but it’s never been this long, and never on my own.  This time, Hubby took time off work to stay home with Jenna so that I could go.  How lucky am I??  This morning, I enjoyed a chocolate croissant with a cup of coffee, sitting down, without a toddler hanging on my leg.  THAT’S how lucky I am!!

It’s been wonderful, but I miss being home too.  When I call, I can’t believe how grown up Jenna sounds and how well she carries on a conversation over the phone.  Sometimes I swear she’s three going on thirteen.  She sounds like she’s having a fantastic time with Daddy.  (It also sounds like there’s very little napping going on, so I’m a little concerned about what next week will bring, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.)  Daddy doesn’t sound too stressed out and frazzled, so that’s a good thing too.

A couple of times when I called, she didn’t want to talk to me.  Hubby would say, “Jenna, don’t you want to talk to Mommy?” and in the background, she happily shouted, “Nope!” because she was too busy playing.  Here’s one of our conversations when she decided she DID want to talk to me:

Me:  Hi, Sweetie!  How are you?

J: Good

Me: What are you doing?

J: Riding in the car.  In the car with Daddy.

Me:  Where are you going?

J: To the coffee shop.  (Hubby told me later they weren’t really, but that’s where she WANTED to go)

Me: What else did you do today?

J: says something that sounds like “Poo in cah”

Side note: Jenna says “car” with a strong “Boston” accent: “CAH”

Me: (alarmed) You pooped in the car?

J: (adamantly) No.  “Boo in CAH”

Me: (confused) I’m sorry, Sweetie.  Say it again for me.

J: (getting frustrated) “BOO IN CAH!!”

Me:  ?? (silence)

Hubby takes phone and says: She saw a blue macaw.

Ahhhh.  MUCH better than poop in the car.

Special Needs Sunday will be back again next week.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2008 in Jenna

 

9 responses to “Poop In Car

  1. Heather~Domestic Extraordinaire

    November 16, 2008 at 8:51 am

    too funny! My Monday’s post is about hearing things that weren’t really said. Have fun in Atlanta and “see” you when you get back!

     
  2. Steph

    November 16, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Too funny, and much better than your initial impression! 🙂

     
  3. MommyWizdom

    November 16, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    FUN! I’ve never seen a Blue Macaw!! Lol. So much better than poo in the car. I have to agree! 🙂

     
  4. Jennifer, Playgroups are no place for children

    November 16, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    My first time away from my kids, I also couldn’t believe that my son could carry on a conversation over the phone and how grown up he sounded. As much as I wanted to get away, I really, really missed being home.

    And poop in the car would definitely NOT be a good thing.

     
  5. Kirsten

    November 16, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    I’m so glad there was no poo in your car. Truly.

     
  6. jen

    November 17, 2008 at 12:35 am

    chocolate croissant AND a coffee?

    i am SO jealous right now.

     
  7. anymommy

    November 17, 2008 at 6:02 am

    So much better than poop in the car!! Ah, breakfast alone, the ultimate treat. I get a morning by myself tomorrow and I am all fluttery just thinking about it.

     
  8. Kylie

    November 17, 2008 at 6:24 am

    One of my kids speaks mostly Polish, which throws me all the time. And he yells it if you don’t understand, which is kind of like how my whole life goes here.

     
  9. Issa

    November 18, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    So much better than poop in the car. Glad you had a good trip.

    I always think my kids look so much bigger and older when I’m gone for a few days.

     

Leave a Reply

 
