RSS

Children’s Books Giveaway

05 Nov

I LOVED reading all your responses about who would be a better friend and why!  You guys crack me up.  I’d love to have enough to give to everyone, but Random.org had to choose just two winners.

And the winners are:

#25 – Mo!  Congratulations and enjoy Diary of a Worm!

#14 – Karina!  Congratulations and enjoy Diary of a Spider!

I have TWO great children’s books to giveaway!  Both are from the author of Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type, Doreen Cronin.  Both are hilarious and have wonderful illustrations.

Diary of a Worm and

Diary of a Spider

Both are listed as appropriate for ages 4-8, and I would agree.  Although Jenna loves the illustrations, the content and text are still a little over her head.  I would guess that some of the humor would even be a little advanced for many kids in the younger age range, but it opens the door for wonderful conversations.

Both books contain some great factual information about the critters they represent, as well as a clever, moral at the end.  Here’s an excerpt from Diary of a Worm:

“May 28:  Last night I went to the school dance.  You put your head in.  You put your head out.  You do the hokey pokey and you turn yourself about……  That’s all we could do.”

“June 15: My older sister thinks she’s so pretty.  I told her that no matter how much time she spends looking in the mirror, her face will always look just like her rear end.  Spider thought that was really funny.  Mom did not.”

This excerpt from Diary of a Spider completely cracked me up given my previous post:

“April 13:  We had a vacuum drill today.  I stopped what I was doing.  Forgot where I was going.  And ran screaming from the room.  We’re having another drill tomorrow.

Two winners will be chosen for this giveaway.  The first winner chosen by Random.org will receive Diary of a Worm, and the next will receive Diary of a Spider.

Giveaway! To enter the contest, simply leave a message in the comment field (below) telling me whether you think a worm or a spider would make a better friend.  One extra entry for posting a comment at Twitter about this giveaway & review, then commenting (in a separate comment) here with the URL of your tweet.  If you don’t use Twitter, you can email your friends and include me in the email (psychmamma(at)hotmail(dot)com) and leave an additional comment here telling me that you did it.  Earn an additional entry by blogging about the giveaway & review and leaving a separate comment with your blog post’s URL.  Please leave separate comments for each entry opportunity in order to receive full credit.  Contest ends at 6 p.m. EST on Wednesday, November 12. Comments that don’t follow the posted instructions will be deleted.  Two winners will be chosen via random number generator.  The winner must provide a valid email address and respond to prize notification within 3 days. After 3 days, your prize will be forfeited and another winner will be notified. Contest is open to all readers.

This giveaway is part of the Book Giveaway Carnival at Bookroom Reviews.  Go visit the site for more great book giveaways this week!

 
85 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2008 in Giveaways, Product Reviews

 

85 responses to “Children’s Books Giveaway

  1. Amber G

    November 5, 2008 at 2:27 am

    I think a worm would make a better friend…but I am afraid of spiders! Please enter me 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  2. Tarie

    November 5, 2008 at 2:50 am

    I think a worm would be a much better friend because a worm could never bite me! 😀

    Tarie
    peteredmundlucy7@yahoo.com

     
  3. Jenny

    November 5, 2008 at 2:53 am

    I like spiders, who wouldn’t want a friend than can defy gravity?

     
  4. Lexie C.

    November 5, 2008 at 3:01 am

    ;-; both scare the living daylights out of me, but if I had to choose I suppose a spider would be a better friend. Charlotte’s Web after all!

    lexie.cenni (@) gmail.com

     
  5. Terra Heck

    November 5, 2008 at 3:50 am

    My daughter would enjoy these books. I think a spider would make a better friend because I have a fear of worms. I can’t touch them. Ugh!

     
  6. Zara

    November 5, 2008 at 4:05 am

    I would choose the worm for a friend, because I’m afraid of spiders! Thanks so much for the giveaway! I think my son would love either of these books. 🙂

     
  7. Janet F

    November 5, 2008 at 5:18 am

    I think a worm would be a better friend.

    Thank you!

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  8. Lee Anne

    November 5, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Totally a spider! I wouldn’t have to cook a anymore! And I wouldn’t have to worry about the early bird getting my friend. That would be no fun…

     
  9. Gwendolyn B.

    November 5, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Spider! Way more active and interesting! However, I really love DIARY OF A WORM, so I’d love to win that! Hey, what can I say, I’m a Gemini! Thanks for the chance!
    geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

     
  10. Jennifer

    November 5, 2008 at 10:11 am

    A worm would most definitely make a better friend.

    knittingmomof3 (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  11. Teresa Hoyt

    November 5, 2008 at 10:21 am

    I’m not too fond of spiders, so I’ll go with the worm making a better friend. Thanks!

     
  12. Shelly Burns

    November 5, 2008 at 10:33 am

    I think a spider would make a better friend…just look at Charlotte from Charlotte’s Web. What better friend was there than that?

    shelcowsATgmailDOTcom

     
  13. Shelly

    November 5, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I think a spider – you would know where to find them always!

     
  14. Karina

    November 5, 2008 at 11:18 am

    We LOVE Diary of a Worm in the house, from the 5 year old, on up through the 8, 10, 13, and 15 year olds, right up to the 40-somethings! I really hope we win the Diary of a Spider, because the whole family would love it!

    I would vote for the worm as the better friend, mainly because I have a touch of arachnophobia!!

     
  15. Nicole

    November 5, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Definitely a worm, because spiders freak me out too much.

     
  16. Barb G

    November 5, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I’d have to pick the worm. Don’t really like spiders much.
    ve3smu at cogeco dot ca

     
  17. Becca

    November 5, 2008 at 11:37 am

    A spider would be a better friend I think. I have always liked spiders anyway but I also think they would be so much more interesting than a worm.

     
  18. AmyInOhio

    November 5, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Hum, this is a toughie. Both gross me out in the real world, but they are both so cute in these books.

    I vote worm, because he/she is less likely to wrap me in a cocoon.

     
  19. Elizabeth M.

    November 5, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I think a worm would make a better friend. As far as I know, they don’t bite!

     
  20. Elizabeth M.

    November 5, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I tweeted here

     
  21. Mia J.

    November 5, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I think the worm would make a better friend. You could totally make him a little habitat so you would know where to find him.

     
  22. Ti

    November 5, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I think a spider would make a better friend. She could spin webs for us to hang out in, catch some snacks, etc.

    thereedfamily[at]sbcglobal[dot]net

     
  23. CanCan (Mom Most Traveled)

    November 5, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    I would pick a spider for a friend. For some reason that is less creepy than a worm.

     
  24. amandasue

    November 5, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    I think a worm would make a better friend, because spiders scare me!

     
  25. Mo (Un-Mainstream Mom Reads)

    November 5, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    My two daughters are 5 & 7, so this is right in the age range for them. I think they’d love either book. If we won the spider one, it might give them a different perspective so they are not so scared of them. But we’d be happy with either book. Thanks for the chance to win!

     
  26. sito

    November 5, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I would rather have a spider for a friend. She could spin a web around my porch and keep the mosquitoes out so I can sit comfortably and read. Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  27. Christine

    November 5, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    A worm because spiders freak me out! Thanks for the chance, my son would love these! justicecw@hotmail.com

     
  28. Sunny

    November 5, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    For sure the worm would make a better friend because they dont bite! They both look like fun books. Thanks!

     
  29. rachel crisman

    November 5, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    I guess a worm would make a better friend. Spiders are cute and all but some people are scared of them and some of them are poisonous.Worms are just really laid back.

     
  30. Debbie

    November 5, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Since I am deathly afraid of spiders, I would pretty much have to pick the worm. I’d love to win one of these for my 4 year old godson.

     
  31. Lis

    November 5, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I think a worm would make a better friend and you could both eat apples together haha 😀 I would love to try and win one of these for my eight year old cousin and her three year old sister

     
  32. Bonnie Capuano

    November 5, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I would like to think worms are better than spiders!! HA Thanks so much for a chance to win EITHER book. My granddaughter loves to read with me and this would be great!

     
  33. Green Me

    November 5, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    I would much prefer a spider as a friend, because she wouldn’t dry out on our adventures! And, she could weave us bridges, nets, whatever we might need to get around! However, I think worms are pretty cute in books…

     
  34. Susan C

    November 5, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    I would rather have a spider as a friend. It could sit it a corner and eat flies! Worms are too gooshy! The books look fun!

    smchester at gmail dot com

     
  35. bookroomreviews

    November 5, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    I asked my four yr old and he said spiders, personally I disagree lol These are darling books! I will tweet for ya!

     
  36. Steph

    November 5, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Ooh, what a great giveaway, and a tough question! 😉 I think either would make a good friend if they had the right personality (oh what a cop out!)

    Thanks!
    Steph

     
  37. Rebecca Reid

    November 5, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    They look like great books! I’d love to be entered for one.
    rebecca [at] rebeccareid [dot] com

     
  38. Meredith F.

    November 5, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I think that worms, because they don’t freak me out nearly as much as spiders do. All insects give me the ickies, but out of those 2, worms are less icky.

    ~Meredith F.
    rosesaremyfavorite at hotmail dot com

     
  39. Cindi

    November 5, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    What a choice! Spiders give me the creeps and worms can be slimy. I would choose a book worm! Thanks, Cindi

     
  40. Karen

    November 5, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    It seems like a spider would be a better friend…

     
  41. Heather of the EO

    November 5, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    I have read and LOVED the worm one, so I’m going with the worm.

    If you can tell me how to do the tinyurl thing on twitter I would totally tweet about this. I just haven’t figured out that linking via twitter thing (I’m slow to these techy things.)

    Great giveaway!

     
  42. Jenn

    November 5, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I would think a spider would be a better friend. They can spin webs!

    Thanks!

     
  43. Kris

    November 6, 2008 at 12:29 am

    I would have to say worm. Mostly, because I don’t like spiders!

     
  44. Laura

    November 6, 2008 at 1:02 am

    I would probably choose the worm, since I hate spiders. Worms are pretty harmless.

     
  45. Carla Pullum

    November 6, 2008 at 2:27 am

    I love the worm!!

     
  46. katayoun

    November 6, 2008 at 3:17 am

    i think a spider would make a better friend, they are more active and the swinging from the web is very cool!

     
  47. Tiffany

    November 6, 2008 at 6:47 am

    I think spider might make a better friend, worms are slimy! lol
    thanks for the giveaway!

     
  48. Staci

    November 6, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    A spider would make a better friend, they can help hold all your things with all those legs, and hanging in a web would be pretty fun! Thanks for the chance to enter!

     
  49. Jennifer @ Quiverfull Family

    November 6, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Is this open for Canadians? I used to collect worms as a young girl, but I think a spider would provide more social interaction :).

     
  50. Marie

    November 6, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Well, I’m scared to death of spiders so I would have to go with the worm 🙂

    vmlay@artsci.wustl.edu

     
  51. Molly Capel

    November 6, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    I think a spider would, as he would always have something “good” to eat, hanging around. lol

     
  52. Jesica

    November 6, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I’d much prefer a worm for a friend. Spider are icky, and worms are WAY more fun to play with. 🙂

    thanks for the giveaway

     
  53. Katie Stacey

    November 6, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I’m pretty terrifed of spiders so I would have to have a worm friend.

     
  54. Tracey Byram

    November 6, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I believe a worm would make a better friend. You could take a worm on a fishing trip. A spider would spin all kinds of excuses why it didn’t want to go.

     
  55. pamr

    November 7, 2008 at 12:19 am

    My son would love these books, they sound hilarious! I think I’d prefer a spider to catch the bugs, as long as he wouldn’t bite me! Thanks for the giveaway

     
  56. Janelle

    November 7, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Spiders must be quite intelligent. I couldn’t spin a web so intricate! I think they’d make a more intriguing friend. We love Doreen Cronin. Thanks!

     
  57. Janelle

    November 7, 2008 at 10:50 am

     
  58. Amy

    November 7, 2008 at 10:54 am

    I think I would choose the worm for a friend. My son absolutely loves these books!

     
  59. Lindsey@A Kindred Spirits Thoughts

    November 7, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Hmmm… well I almost want to pick a spider because it reminds me of Charlotte’s Web, but I get all creeped out at the thought of having a spider friend, lol. A worm would be better, I think, because… well, I’m not entirely sure why. lol

    Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  60. RebekahC

    November 7, 2008 at 11:37 am

    My daughter’s absolutely love Doreen’s Click Clack Moo and Giggle Giggle Quack, so I just have to enter this draw. If I had to pick one over the other I’d definitely go with a worm making a better pet because it wouldn’t creep up and crawl on you in quite the same. But really I’d just as soon have neither as a pet because both are creepy. LOL

    Thanks for the entry!

    RebekahC
    littleminx@cox.net

     
  61. RebekahC

    November 7, 2008 at 11:39 am

    I know you said to Twitter, but I don’t have Twitter. I did Stumble your post though with my user id- monkeygirlsmama just in case that might count. Thanks!

    RebekahC
    littleminx@cox.net

     
  62. beth shepherd

    November 7, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Thank you for having this. I would love to win. I would pick the worm as I am somewhat afraid of spders. Thank you!
    tatertot374@sbcglobal.net

     
  63. Sharon Jones

    November 7, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I think the spider…lots of hands to shake with!
    thanks for entry 🙂

     
  64. Frances Bartlett

    November 7, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    I think a spider would make a better friend–better protection from your enemies!!

     
  65. Jodi

    November 7, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    My little girl loves spiders, please enter us.

     
  66. Natasha

    November 7, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I think a worm would be a better friend, but just by default – spiders scare me!!

     
  67. Natasha

    November 7, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I twittered about your giveaway.
    http://www.twitter.com/thesoothieranch

    Thank you!!

     
  68. sandy

    November 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    hmm a spider knows how to spin a web and is very talented so a spider would be a better friend mrs.mommyyatgmail.com

     
  69. Gina

    November 7, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    I like spiders…worms are too scary for me..probably a result of the old mealworm cookies prank back in school

     
  70. Brenda Callahan

    November 8, 2008 at 12:21 am

    a better friend? would probably be the spider, only because the worm and I couldn’t do too much if i can’t burrow in the dirt like him 🙂

     
  71. Elaine R

    November 8, 2008 at 1:47 am

    I think a worm would make a better friend since we both love being out in the garden!

     
  72. Dani

    November 8, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I think the spider would be a better friend because he could keep me safe and show me how to make things with his web.

     
  73. Donna K

    November 8, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    I think a spider would be better.

     
  74. marybeth i

    November 8, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    A worm would make a better friend A spider is far to industrious to socialize 🙂

     
  75. Chrysa

    November 9, 2008 at 12:18 am

    I think a spider would be a better friend because he could eat annoying bugs.

     
  76. Aimee C

    November 9, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I think a spider would make a better friend – after all they have all those hands to hold things with and make gorgeous webs! acirucci(at)gmail.com

     
  77. Diane S

    November 9, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I think the worm would be a better friend for the young boy that this would be gifted to .

     
  78. Clair

    November 9, 2008 at 12:24 am

    A worm would be a better friend…they are good for the soil. clairjuly at yahoo dot com

     
  79. Donna Buccuzzo

    November 9, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Well, technically both critters are a little creepy, but I think a worm would be a better friend because it’s slower! Spiders can run pretty fast and I’m sort of frightened of them!

     
  80. jen mroch

    November 11, 2008 at 1:00 am

    I think a spider would be better….they eat mosquitos.

     
  81. Tiffany

    November 11, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I’m just thinking of Charlotte’s Web, but I’ll say a spider. Even though I’m not sure about that!!! 🙂
    give_me_a_latte at yahoo

     
  82. Jenna

    November 11, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    A worm would make a better friend for me. I am afraid of spiders and would hate being afraid of my friends. Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  83. stephanie

    November 11, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    The spider hands down.
    1. No one would mess with you. The spider is the king of the bug world.
    2. They are very artistic. Maybe they could make a beautiful web for my house.
    3. Just like me they have to be creative to find their food. I use coupons; they use a web.

     
  84. Deidre

    November 12, 2008 at 9:23 am

    I think a spider would make a better friend. I have cousins who used to have a tarantula and he was quite friendly.

    Deidre
    deidre_durance at hotmail dot com

     
  85. Brooke

    November 12, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    I definitely think a spider would make a better friend – think of Charlotte and Wilbur. Plus they eat mosquitos.

     

Leave a Reply

 
