RSS

Organic Facial Products

29 Oct


One month ago I made the switch to Origins Organics facial care products.  I decided to try them for a while before posting about them so that I could give a complete review.  In a nutshell:  I love them!!

The Foaming Face Wash foams wonderfully, does a great job of removing makeup and smells fabulous.  I don’t like facial products that smell perfumed and I’m pretty sensitive picky about it.  This scent is just right.  I mostly notice the scent of cloves, which sounds weird in a facial wash, but I love it.  It contains aloe leaf, olive oil, clove, rose, lavender, patchouli, and red thyme essential oils.

The Purifying Tonic tightens pores and controls shine while it cools and soothes your skin.  It supposedly brightens your skin too, but that seems tough to determine.  I feel brighter, if that counts.  It contains willow bark, vinegar and lavender alcohol.

The Nourishing Face Lotion absorbs quickly, is luxuriously creamy, moisturizers well (I can tell some fine wrinkles lines are diminished), and smells great.  I was previously using an eye cream for those little lines that are sneaking up on me in that area, but I’ve noticed that this moisturizer is doing great on it’s own, and I feel like it’s gentle enough to use in that area.  That equals points scored for time AND money saved!  The lotion contains both shea and cocoa butters, organic glycerin, sunflower and coconut oils, clove rose lavender, patchouli, and red thyme essential oils.

I’ve also been trying their No Offense alcohol free deodorant.  I’ve been wanting to get away from the aluminum in antiperspirant/deodorants and decided to give this one a try.  So far, I’ve been pleased.  And, no one has complained about me stinking, so that has to be a good sign!  I have noticed an occasional slight dampness in the underarm area, since deodorant doesn’t diminish perspiration.  I figure that our bodies are designed to perspire for a purpose though, and as long as I don’t stink, I’m happy being a little more natural.  It comes in a clear gel stick that easily glides on, and, again, it has a pleasant smell that’s not perfumey or overdone.  It also doesn’t seem to leave a residue on my clothes like even some of the “clear” antiperspirants do, which is another nice plus.  The real test would be to try it in the summertime or in Florida this winter.  I’ll keep you posted.  In the meantime, if you notice I’m stinking a bit, please (politely) let me know.  🙂

They do offer an organic deodorant spray called Totally Pure Deodorant that I was hesitant to try because of the spray application.  I might give it a try the next time, since I know I love all their other organic products now.

I’m also using their Stay Tuned Balancing Foundation.  It’s light and creamy, absorbs and blends well, and is long-wearing yet easy to remove.  It contains skin-balancing Vegepol from algae, Vitamin E, chamomile, geranium, bergamot, and spearmint.

I would highly recommend any of these products to anyone who asked.  And maybe even if you didn’t.  Ha!  And, just for the record, Origins is not paying me for this review or providing any products.  BUT, if someone from Origins comes across this post and would decide to send me some love in the form of products or gift cards, I’d be more than thrilled.  And I’d even share with you, my faithful readers, through a giveaway, thus creating an even larger market of people in love with the products!!  Hint, hint Origins……..

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 29, 2008 in Product Reviews

 

One response to “Organic Facial Products

  1. Insta-mom

    October 30, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I used to use Origins religiously, but it there’s no place that sells it where I live now. I really have been trying to go organic, though, so these may be worth the shipping. Thanks for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
