RSS

Ways To Save On Groceries

23 Oct
Photo by broken imagination

And the winner is:

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

           2	

Timestamp: 2008-11-02 23:58:05 UTC

**  Congratulations Bonnie!  **

If your family is anything like ours, you’re looking at your grocery bill every week or so and wondering how it can possibly be so high. I know that I tend to get more and more tense as I go through the store pricing items and searching for the best deals on healthy food. Ugh. If they monitored blood pressure in the check out line, I think they’d notice an alarming trend toward dangerously high readings just from the stress of those dollar signs multiplying with each electronic beep of the scanner. Double ugh.

When Shannan asked me about joining the Kroger.com Blog Tour to learn more about the savings available through their website, I was more than intrigued. When I learned that I would be able to pass along a $25 Kroger gift card to one lucky reader, I was even more intrigued. Who can’t use $25 in free groceries these days?? When I received the information and checked out the Kroger website, I was even more impressed. I had no idea that Kroger offered so many ways to save and so many different services.

Here are some ways that you can save money by using Kroger.com:

There are three ways to easily access coupons for your next shopping trip:

  • Shortcuts – A service of AOL, in partnership with Kroger, this site allows you to download coupons directly to your Kroger Plus Card. During checkout, coupons are automatically redeemed when your Card is scanned.
  • P&G eSaver – You can also download P&G coupons directly to your Kroger Plus Card. During checkout, these coupons are automatically redeemed when you scan your Card.
  • Printable Coupons – If you don’t get a paper (we don’t in the interest of “greening”), you can easily print coupons directly from the Kroger.com site.

And, three additional ways you can save money through the website:

  • Fuel Rewards – You can accumulate and redeem fuel discounts earned by shopping at Kroger-owned stores at participating gas stations the retailer operates across the country. Most of the fuel discount programs offered by Kroger and its family of stores reward customers with a minimum of 10 cents off per gallon of gas for every $100 they spend in a store.
  • Kroger Pharmacy – Kroger Pharmacies offer a 30-day supply of more than 300 prescriptions for only $4, or 90-day supplies for only $10. At Kroger.com you can download a complete list of eligible medications and check to see if your local pharmacy participates.
  • 1-2-3 Rewards MasterCard – You can sign up for a 1-2-3 Rewards MasterCard and earn free groceries when you shop. Each time you use your card you’ll earn points – 1 point for every dollar spent outside the store, 2 points for every dollar spent inside the store and 3 points for every dollar spent on any of the Kroger family brands. For every 1,000 points you earn you’ll receive $5 in FREE groceries.

In addition, Kroger.com offers a Healthy Living Guide, recipes, a wine guide, party preparation tips, an online Gift Center, green living tips, recall information, digital photo processing for 9¢ a print, and online refill orders for prescriptions. I was also impressed by their efforts to conserve energy and resources as well as encouraging fair trade, recycling, and reducing waste. Wow!

Giveaway! One lucky reader will win a $25 gift card for Kroger! To enter the contest, simply leave a message in the comment field (below) describing thing you do (or have tried) to save money on groceries. Contest ends at 6 p.m. EST on Sunday, November 2. Comments that don’t follow the posted instructions will be deleted. One winner will be chosen via random number generator. The winner must provide a valid email address and respond to prize notification within 3 days. After 3 days, your prize will be forfeited and another winner will be notified. Contest is open to all readers with a valid mailing address.

This giveaway is part of Bloggy Giveaways Quarterly Carnival.  To find hundreds more giveaways this week, head over to their site using the link here or the button in my sidebar.  Good luck!

 
198 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2008 in Family, Giveaways, Product Reviews

 

198 responses to “Ways To Save On Groceries

  1. Heather~Domestic Extraordinaire

    October 23, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Krogers are still around? We lost our about 10 years ago, they turned into Giant Eagles.

    One thing I do is menu plan. But I menu plan around the sales. I also fill up the freezer. when stuff is on sale I stock up. Like the 40 pound box of boneless skinless chicken breasts I got last month for 1.00 a pound (40 pound min, but still) You have to bag it up yourself when you get home, but it is well worth it.

     
  2. Bonnie Sayers (autismfamily)

    October 23, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    My grocery store stopped doubling coupons and no longer accepts internet/printed coupons, although it depends on which register and cashier, as it changes daily.

    Not sure where Kroger is, but not here in Los Angeles.

     
  3. Insta-mom

    October 24, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Well, shoot. Now I want a Kroger’s.

     
  4. Heather of the EO

    October 24, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Great stuff again here! You must be such a busy lady researching all this. I appreciate it a lot-the grocery store is a source of stress for me right now too.

    I received “The Boy who Grew Flowers” today! It’s a beautiful book and a beautiful story. We will surely enjoy it. Thank you so much,
    Heather

     
  5. Heather of the EO

    October 24, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Oh! And I plan to talk about it on my blog tomorrow.
    Peace,
    Heather

     
  6. Betsy

    October 24, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Write a list and stick to eat, plus never going hungry!

     
  7. The Deal Lady

    October 25, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Thank you for the opportunity to win a gift card! A $25 gift card will go far at my house. I do a variety of things to save money on my grocery bill. Just a few of them are buying the loss leaders, stockpiling the best deals, cooking larger quantities to freeze leftovers in individual servings for future meals. On my blog I share the best weekly Kroger deals with the coupon matchups. There is almost always something that you can get for free! So if you want to help maximize your savings be sure to check out my blog. Have a great day!

    thedeallady.blogspot.com

     
  8. Sarah

    October 25, 2008 at 1:49 am

    I’ve been trying to plan menus. Less waste!

     
  9. Joy

    October 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

    We LOVE Kroger’s! I try to buy larger packages of food whenever possible (lower $/lb). We also use coupons a lot (only for items we need!) and love the Kroger’s doubles them all.

     
  10. Amy Huang

    October 25, 2008 at 10:04 am

    I clip coupons!

     
  11. Sandy

    October 25, 2008 at 11:18 am

    well I used to live where there is a krogers and can send this to mom if I won to help her… we no longer have stores that take inet coupons and none that triple let alone double

     
  12. lace

    October 25, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I’ve tried the coupon thing and I just have a hard time doing it. I have friend who gets amazing deals. I think I need to go live with her for a month to figure it all out.

    I just recently bought several large pie pumpkins for very little $ and have roasted and purred them and stored them in the freezer for pies and cakes this winter.

     
  13. Pat

    October 25, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    I save money on groceries by using coupons. Kroger doubles coupons!

     
  14. Jessica

    October 25, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I try to do the coupon thing. We get the Sunday paper whenever I can remember it. I also try to printout coupons on the internet.

     
  15. psychmamma

    October 26, 2008 at 1:57 am

    I’m loving the great savings ideas! Keep them coming. Sorry to all of you who don’t have a Kroger nearby! I actually didn’t realize they weren’t everywhere in the universe. 🙂

     
  16. Stacy

    October 26, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    We buy less meat.

     
  17. Yard Sale Princess

    October 28, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I participate in the Grocery Game and use coupons like a mad woman. I also try to grow some of my own produce.
    yardsaleprincess1ATyahooDOTcom

     
  18. Amber G

    October 28, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    I always use groceries and compare prices between grocery stores for items like milk, fruit and frozen entrees.

     
  19. Kim

    October 28, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    I use double coupons to save and I also try and base my weekly meal menu around the items on sale in the weekly sale ads from Kroger. This save us a lot of money. 🙂

    daisymomto3(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  20. Marcy

    October 28, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    I plan my weekly dinner menu, plan my shopping trips, use coupons, and read lots of blogs to get the scoop on the best deals for the week! 🙂

     
  21. Annabelle@Christian Momma

    October 28, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I try to use coupons to save money! I didn’t realize that you could download coupons onto your kroger plus card! I’m heading over there now to do so!!

     
  22. Becky

    October 28, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I’d love to be entered to win. We used to do the whole coupon thing–which worked to an extent–but it’s hard to eat healthy and do coupons. Too much junk. Eating healthier is more important.

    Becky
    laney_poATyahoo.com

     
  23. LeAnna

    October 28, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    We’re big coupon users, as well as price matchers! We take our small town grocer ad’s to wal mart and have them match their price. We also shop monthly, as opposed to weekly. I really feel like this helps keep the grocery bill down. It requires making a rough menu of what we’d like to eat every week, but it’s well worth it!

    We also raise our own beef, which helps cut down meat costs. It does cost money to feed cows, but we end up with a healthier meat for much less than store prices.

     
  24. Lisa F

    October 28, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    I comparison shop the ads before I leave home, then I make a list and stick to it at the store. I also find paying with cash helps me stay on budget.

     
  25. Lisa

    October 28, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I cut as many coupons as I can, and I also shop after I have eaten a good meal.
    Stormy5475@aol.com

     
  26. Mrs. Sprinkles

    October 28, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    I only buy sales, and only use coupons. And I buy four SUnday papers for the extra coupons!

    Come enter my Amazon giveaway!

     
  27. amber

    October 28, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Wow, thank you! What a helpful prize!

    To save money, I use coupons, especially buy on get one free. I also stock up on necessities when there is a big sale.

     
  28. Cynthia

    October 28, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I plan meals around the store ads and use coupons when I remember.

     
  29. Victoria

    October 28, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I use coupon and compare prices in circulars. Now, I’m going to use kroger’s website though! Thanks so much for that info, I had no idea.

     
  30. Stephanie

    October 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    I try to only shop with a list and I look through ads before I make my list. I also try to use stores like Aldi where food can be less expensive.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    zipster81(at)juno(dot)com

     
  31. Stacy

    October 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Planning and coupons help me save money and I stock up when things go on sale.

     
  32. Sheri F

    October 28, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I use internet coupons

     
  33. Lori

    October 28, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    I get several stacks of coupons so that when something goes on sale I have more than just one coupon to use. It comes in really handy. Thanks for the chance!

     
  34. Sarah

    October 28, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    We used to buy any meat that we felt like having….now we try to buy and stock up on whatever is on sale. The freezer comes in handy for this!

     
  35. Cherie

    October 28, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    This year we are trying to cook large amounts and then freeze them for later use. I love Kroger! It’s the only place I shop, I scan the ads, buy bulk of sale items, and the shoppers card helps alot too. Please enter me!

     
  36. Carol

    October 28, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    We go to Krogers when we travel, there’s not one near us, and we lolve Krogers.

     
  37. rccalyn

    October 28, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    We almost always buy the Kroger brand of food, and my hubby always checks for the latest sales – we stocked up on chicken this week for huge savings!
    -Stacy (slwilkins05@yahoo.com)

     
  38. rachel crisman

    October 28, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I usually check the paper to see what is on sale in the different stores and I sometimes buy in bulk.I love Krogers!

     
  39. bermudaonion

    October 28, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    I shop specials, use coupons and use customer loyalty cards. Since there isn’t a Kroger near me, I’d send this card to my son who’s in college and has a Kroger nearby.

     
  40. Stef

    October 28, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    I empty my pantry, fridge and freezer before I go back to the store. This means I get creative with ingredients and try to come up with a good dinner with what I have on hand. Great way to use up leftovers.

    stef dot reed at gmail dot com

    Enter my giveaway to win a signed book!!

    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/Stef/608905/

     
  41. Gina

    October 28, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I’m really bad with using coupons and lists so I don’t even try, I do however shop around, go to my local market for meat and veggies and then to the grocery stores for boxed/canned items, it seems to be saving us a lot of money.

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

     
  42. Elizabeth

    October 28, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I love Kroger… especially since they also offer have a gas station that if you spend $100 a month in groceries you get 10 cents off per gallon of gas… and since gas prices are so high I try to shop the deals at Kroger and then get my 10 cents off also 🙂

    THanks
    ELizabeth
    zizziecards@gmail.com

     
  43. Wendy Darling

    October 28, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    We continue to use coupons, make a menu/shopping list and STICK TO IT! Kroger doubles coupons. 🙂

    Thank you for participating.

     
  44. Mary Jenkins

    October 28, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    I love Kroger! I go at night when they mark down “expiring soon” produce and freeze it! I save hundreds a month that way!

     
  45. Wanda

    October 28, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Love to shop…..especially for food.

    Great item.

    Love your blog.

     
  46. nicole

    October 28, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    I just signed up for The Grocery Game a few weeks ago. I cut my grocery bill in half! Great giveaway…thanks for the chance to enter.

    (Im also offering a Carnival giveaway…a complete blog makeover…http://apronstringsaflutter.com/?p=840)

     
  47. Debbie

    October 28, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    I make all my menus out and grocery list prior to going then I stick with the list. Hard to do but it does save money.

     
  48. Susan

    October 28, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I check hotcouponworld.com each week … there are forums on each store on the deals that week. Great giveaway!
    sjbraun at hotmail dot com

     
  49. Lisa Perez

    October 28, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I take about 1-2 hours to really look things over when I shope. For meats look at managers specials and think of double duty cooking with them. Always check prices just beczause you have a coupon doesnt mean its a good deal!

     
  50. Lisa

    October 28, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I’m crazy cheap so I’m all about the coupons, the meal plan and the clearance racks! Tonight for dinner we’re having on sale roast, with .13 green beans and free mashed potatoes! Woo hoo!

     
  51. lizzykristine @ Uplifted Eyes

    October 28, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    I try to shop around the time of produce markdowns. Sure, the fruit may have a few bruises, but when I’m buying 20-30 lbs a week, markdowns sure help!!!

     
  52. Cara

    October 28, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    I love taking advantage of the Manager Specials that Kroger has. I always make meal plan before I go to the store, but I leave a little room to wiggle if I come across something marked down, like meat and fresh veggies.

    Thanks for the opportunity to win free groceries!

     
  53. lomagirl

    October 28, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I use a Kroger card to help save money. I do, but not that much. So then I also buy generic or store brands, whatever is the cheapest.

     
  54. bimw

    October 28, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I do the Grocery Game, and I shop at Kroger all the time! Thanks for the chance to win!

    Katie
    http://boastinginmyweakness.com
    zoescoutureboutique(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  55. Estelle S.

    October 28, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    I stick to my list, check my weekly ads, use coupons and any rewards cards I have (love my Kroger card), and I never shop hungry.
    mr_mrs_steen[at]netzero[dot]com

     
  56. Majellamom

    October 28, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    I used to just buy store brands trying to save money, but I started to do some serious couponing almost a year ago, and our grocery bill is lower, and the pantry is stocked with name brand food.

    I love it when I can go to big chain stores (like our Kroger store Safeway) when I am in bigger towns to catch specials and match them up to coupons. We love getting the gas discount too!

    Great giveaway!

     
  57. Maria

    October 28, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    I plan suppers around what’s on sale. I also had my husband get me a deep freeze so I can stock up when things are on sale! 🙂

     
  58. Christy

    October 28, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    We buy a lot of store brands and try to avoid highly processed foods. Dried beans are cheaper than canned ones. Whole chickens are cheaper than already cut up ones. Making homemade pizzas cost less and taste better than frozen ones.

    Thanks,
    Christy

     
  59. Jennifer

    October 28, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    we use coupons, but I also always shop with a list and severely limit impulse buys!

     
  60. Angie

    October 28, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    I have always used coupons from the papers..but recently I started printing them from the internet….I am surprised just how many sites there are! I also tend to just buy what is on sale and we plan our meals by what is on sale! Thanks for the chance to win..I love me some Kroger!

     
  61. Cindy

    October 28, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Wow! I try to use the 10 for 10 at Kroger and then stock up on sale items. I made an overflow closet of all sale items and rebate items. At one point I had 100 tubes of toothpaste!

     
  62. Nichole

    October 28, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I try and save money by planning my meals around what is on sale. It takes some work but is worth it in the end!

     
  63. bqkimmy

    October 28, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    I’ve just started meal planning and buying only what I need to makke those meals. That way I don’t spend money on things I don’t really need. I am going to check out the Kroger site because I had no idea you could load coupons right onto your card. That is awesome!

     
  64. 2hippos

    October 28, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I try to build meals around sale items.

     
  65. Linda J.

    October 28, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I always check the shelf label for unit pricing to save money– sometimes the small package is the better deal, sometimes the large. You just never know! Thanks for the great giveaway.

     
  66. Dana

    October 28, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I try and buy what is on sale, and if it’s a really good deal, I will stock up. I found the salad dressing my daughter likes for $.99 when it’s normally $4.19…..so hopefully she will have dressing for a while!
    hushmouth{at}verizon{dot}net

     
  67. Stacy

    October 28, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Using coupons and planning in advance.

     
  68. Holly

    October 28, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    I try to use coupons when I can but when in doubt – I hit Walmart – is that awful?

     
  69. Bailey's Leaf

    October 28, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    I shop every two weeks now as opposed to each week. I find that we eat what I buy, I’ve cut down on excess tossing and we’re eating healthier!

    Thank you!

     
  70. Rachel O.

    October 28, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    I always buy the off brands!

     
  71. margelina

    October 29, 2008 at 12:08 am

    cereal is expensive! I try to only buy when its on sale and use coupons, or buy it at walmart and use coupons!
    margelina@comcast.net

     
  72. Mommy Cracked

    October 29, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Coupons and meal planning are helping us get the most groceries for our money.

     
  73. Lachelle

    October 29, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Plan plan plan! I use coupons and plan around sales and what we will eat each week.

     
  74. Candice

    October 29, 2008 at 12:40 am

    I try to use store brands but with organics that can be difficult. Kroger is catching up though!

     
  75. Tricia

    October 29, 2008 at 12:44 am

    I plan out our menu and cut coupons.

     
  76. Lydia

    October 29, 2008 at 12:53 am

    Buy in Bulk! My biggest $ saver.

    lydia.bower @ ak.net

     
  77. Heather

    October 29, 2008 at 1:06 am

    I don’t shop while hungry–reduces the impulse buying.

     
  78. Kathy in WA

    October 29, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Love Krogers! We try to shop in bulk and price check – knowing the prices of items keeps us from falling for a “good deal” that’s not so great.

    Thanks!

     
  79. hillesha

    October 29, 2008 at 1:57 am

    I use coupons and also try to get things when they’re on sale.

    lilacbutterfly [at] earthlink.net

     
  80. Tianna

    October 29, 2008 at 3:05 am

    I buy the generic brand for staple items. I try to stick to produce that’s in season. thanks for the giveaway~

     
  81. Jessica

    October 29, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Dried Beans! Dried Rice! Dried Barley! Beans Again! They’re really tasty, and easy to put in a slow cooker. 🙂

    Thanks for hosting this. pinkeareddog@gmail.com

     
  82. Juli

    October 29, 2008 at 9:25 am

    I find it easier if I have a premade list instead of just going and impulse buying. Also…..I find that if I do go to Kroger instead of say a Wal-Mart I spend less. guess that’s because going to larger stores I find more things I “think” I need :-). Great giveaway!

     
  83. the pleasures of homemaking

    October 29, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Let’s see I use Short.cuts and I go to the Kroger website, I clip coupons and use the weekly circular. I always shop with a list and I use cash (can’t go over the budget amount when you’re working with cash 🙂

    Manuela

     
  84. World's Greatest Mommy

    October 29, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    We’ve been buying less ready made things and trying to make more from scratch.

     
  85. Janae

    October 29, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I buy things on sale with coupons

     
  86. Kathy

    October 29, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Hi, I’d like to take that Kroger card off your hands. Love that store.
    Kathy
    bigfamily8 (at) yahoo (dot) com

     
  87. Stephanie

    October 29, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    We shop at Fry’s (a Kroger store) and recently started purchasing more generic brand products to cut back on our grocery bill. For example, we used to always buy Digiornio or Freschetta frozen pizzas. We bought Kroger pizzas the last two times and they were great – just as good or better than the other brands! AND – at $3.99/pizza – the price just couldn’t be beat!

     
  88. Kara

    October 29, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    I have tried making a list and sticking to it to avoid impulse buys that don’t get eaten.

     
  89. Cynthia

    October 29, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    My biggest money savers:
    making a menu
    sticking to a grocery list
    using coupons
    making my own laundry soap and dishwasher detergent

     
  90. Crystal B.

    October 29, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I use coupons and buy larger size products which give you more for your money.

     
  91. Katelyn

    October 29, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I stock up on sale items.

     
  92. mannequin

    October 29, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I try to save by only going once every two weeks. We got a deep freezer so I stock up. I still need milk and so forth but I find if I can limit my trips to the store, I limit my spending greatly.

    I also buy some store brands for things like flour, sugar,you know, staples.

     
  93. Olga

    October 29, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein) my friends, is amazing. My roommate buys the morningstar soy crumbles, and while those are delicious, they are also very expensive. I went to Whole Foods and a pound of TVP sets you back $2. Keep in mind that it’s dehydrated, so you’re not paying for water. A week later, and I still have half a pound left.

    A note though, unless you can find some flavored dehydrated TVP, it’s really tasteless on it’s own. It keeps on sucking up any flavoring like there’s not tommorow, so season accordingly.

     
  94. Karma`

    October 29, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I try to purchase in bulk as much as possible and get my produce from a CSA. The rest I buy as needed. I don’t buy foods that are loaded with chemicals and empty calories, and we drink water. We will splurge on sodas and snacks sometimes, but don’t buy them for everyday. That cuts the grocery bill and keeps us healthier, and is teaching my children how satisfying a healthy diet can be.

     
  95. Nadia

    October 29, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I use coupons and shop in bulk. Thanks!

     
  96. gaitha

    October 29, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I have been trying really hard to match up coupons with store sales. I aslo have been trying to get into the walgreens RR system where you can get money back on some items to spend on other items. I have to say I am not a pro at any of it yet tho! ha
    ggp42304 (at) gmail (dot com)

     
  97. Cathy

    October 29, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I always shop with coupons at stores that take them. Although I do most of my grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s, where I can’t really use coupons but I find the lowest every day prices on most things we buy every week.

    Thank you for the giveaway!

     
  98. Karen

    October 29, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I switched to using my local Kroger’s (King Soopers here) delivery service and found my grocery bill drastically reduced because I wasn’t doing all the impulse shopping.

     
  99. karissa

    October 29, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I have a coupon organizer and we only use buy what we normally would buy anyways. I cut everything just in case, and so I can give them out. And I let the mister do some shopping too, so I don’t buy extra stuff. sorry but us women are crazy shoppers! we like to buy extras! and he is pretty good about not! although he isn’t good about coupons!

    I also watch sales and stock up on things we use a lot of, and use CVS and walgrrens for cereals and other certain foods.

    thanks so much!!!

     
  100. cheryl c.

    October 29, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    I spend so much money at Kroger, but I do try to save by getting coupons from the paper and from Kroger online. The GC would be a big help!

    castings[at]mindspring[dot]com

     
  101. Kim

    October 29, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I don’t go more than 2 times a week. You’d be amazed how much you DON’T get when you don’t go every day!

     
  102. Nancy

    October 29, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    We love Kroger and we’re lucky to have a store less than a mile away. One thing I do to save money is plan my meals around whatever meats are on sale each week – I never buy meat unless it’s on sale at a good price.

     
  103. Das Critic

    October 29, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Coupons!

    Deborah
    dbstout{at}juno{dot}com

     
  104. Karen

    October 29, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    I wait for Kroger’s awesome 10 for $10 sales and stock up on the basics.

     
  105. emily

    October 29, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    I clip coupons and always shop the weekly sales.

    Thanks for offering it!

    princesslimey (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  106. reeva

    October 29, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    we go about every 2 weeks or so and i stick to the list!

    Great giveaway! I hope I’m the lucky winner 🙂

     
  107. Kimberly

    October 29, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    I shop at Kroger weekly. I download coupons from their website, collect coupons from all possible sources, match coupons to sales and stockpile, watch for managers specials and discontinued items, plan meals based on the sales, always take a list, and be sure to watch the register…if the item rings up wrong you can get it free!
    Thanks for the chance to win your great giveaway!

     
  108. Cathi Hassan

    October 29, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    I do some saving with coupons, especially at Kroger’s with their double coupon savings, and I print coupons from S C Johnson that I get in my email notices from them at http://www.rightathome.com. One of the best savings for me has come about since I started going together with a neighbor, who is also alone, on food. She gets to the store much more than I do (I’m somewhat disabled) and finds a lot of great bargains. By pooling our money we can get larger amounts and split. Also by cooking for two, we can split and have less to throw away.

    I love Kroger’s and find the savings on the card really do help (yeah, I know some prices will be lower elsewhere, but as I have checked around, I usually find that for me Kroger’s is a better deal than trying to go to three different places to get specific items at each one). I didn’t know about several of the things you mentioned in your article. I appreciate the info. AND the giveaway. Sure would come in handy to have that gift card.

    Cathi
    chassan2 at hotmail . com

     
  109. Amy

    October 30, 2008 at 12:02 am

    One thing I do to try to save money is menu plan. I do it every week and make a gracery list for what I need. Then I only buy what’s on the list (unless the kids talk me into something).

     
  110. Amber S.

    October 30, 2008 at 12:07 am

    I try to match coupons to sales to get the most bang for my buck. Kroger is great because they double coupons!
    mommyof3inva(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  111. Audra

    October 30, 2008 at 12:22 am

    We try to go shopping only twice a month to avoid unecessary purchases.

    Thanks so much for the AWE-some Give-oh-Way!
    audrajjensen(at)msn.com

     
  112. Jackie@OurMomentsOurMemories

    October 30, 2008 at 1:00 am

    We have a new grocery store that opened up recently and they have incredible deals on produce every Thursday. I go and stock up for the week, and it saves me a ton of money. I also price match, searching the ads with a fine-tooth comb for any great deals.

     
  113. Rebecca Graham

    October 30, 2008 at 2:38 am

    I use coupons and take a list!

     
  114. melanie @ meladramatic mommy

    October 30, 2008 at 4:16 am

    I cut way back on snack foods and my husband gave up Mt. Dew. That alone was huge!

     
  115. Suzie G

    October 30, 2008 at 6:10 am

    I use coupons and check the local ads to find out where I can get the best deals on food. Then I stock up on regularly used items when I find a good sale price.

     
  116. Beth Grund

    October 30, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Well my big adventure every week is to go to the grocery..yeah me;) Krogers is my fav and I do all the above to save…coupons from paper, coupons printed off interenet, loaded P&G to my Kroger card, I even use a gift card that gives 5% of what I spend to my kids church program. What I didn’t know about was the Mastercard thing…thanks I look into that.

     
  117. Bebemiqui

    October 30, 2008 at 9:23 am

    We’ve cut out a lot of pre-made snacks and I’m teaching the kids that snacking all the time isn’t necessary.
    Now, if I could only teach it to the hubby!
    bebemiqui82(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  118. Carrie

    October 30, 2008 at 10:41 am

    I don’t buy much processed food. That keeps my food bill pretty low.

     
  119. Rachel

    October 30, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    I use coupons as much as possible!
    Count me in!
    twinzmama23(@)yahoo(.)com

     
  120. Krista

    October 30, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    We have been trying to buy stuff only when it’s on sale and then buy enough that we won’t need more until it’s (hopefully) on sale again. clay_walker_fan at yahoo dot com

     
  121. Karla @ Ramblin' Roa

    October 30, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    This is a great giveawayt, and lots of great tips! I will have to check into shopping at Fred Meyer more often!

    I have discovered that some basic foods are actually cheaper in bulk… oatmeal and rice are ones I’ve stocked up on recently.

     
  122. Kristin

    October 30, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    every sunday i save the coupons and put them in a folder. then when i need something i go check if there’s coupons for it before i go.

     
  123. rebecca

    October 30, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I shop sales and use coupons. I also read thrifty blogs!

     
  124. Jennifer

    October 30, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    I don’t really use coupons–but I do make a menu for each week based on what’s on sale in the circulars. And I try to make as much as possible from scratch–that really saves a lot, and is healthier and tastier too!

     
  125. Shannon B.

    October 30, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    I shop my Kroger on Wednesday nights. That’s when they mark down most of their meats. I also clip coupons every Sunday. Thanks for the opportunity!

     
  126. Alaina

    October 30, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I try to use some coupons and I also menu plan!!!

     
  127. Barbara

    October 30, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I make a meatless meal once a week to save on groceries. It’s usually bean soup which only costs a couple dollars to feed the whole family and have leftovers for lunch later in the week.

    Thanks so much for the contest.

    oinkmoobaa (at) yahoo(.)com

     
  128. Krissy R

    October 30, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I’ve been clipping coupons, planning meals and waiting for sales to help keep our grocery costs under control. A gift card would really help. Thanks!

     
  129. Nature Deva

    October 30, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    My local Kroger is called King Soopers and the one I shop at has many natural and organic products. I try to find out when they are on sale and to see if I have a coupon for that brand to save even more on the organic foods that I buy.

     
  130. Ashley Barnhart

    October 30, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    I have started buying coupons on ebay for super cheap! daisy_collections(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  131. Chi

    October 30, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Buying in bulk 😀 Usually, the more you get the bigger the discount 🙂

     
  132. Amy

    October 30, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I always try to use coupons, making sure that the can double most of the time. I also menu plan so I am not wasting the food I bought.

     
  133. she

    October 30, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    i LOVE the blue corn chips in that photo!

    i save money by shopping at kroger (no lie) and taking my lunch to work.

     
  134. Nicole

    October 30, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I buy off-brand foods–most are just as good as name brand at half the cost!
    shoreview3(at)hotmail(dot)com

     
  135. Kirby McCauley

    October 30, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    I have officially become the coupon queen. I know exactly wen to use them to best stretch my moolah!

     
  136. amy

    October 30, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    id love to enter…the way i have to do it is same as everyne else…watch ads…compare with coupons…shop at krogers since they double coupons…

     
  137. Kate

    October 30, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I always shop at Kroger. I plan my meals around what is on sale. I buy the family packs of meat, then divide and freeze. I use lots of coupons, and load my card as you described. I would really love to win this giftcard!

     
  138. Jessica

    October 30, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    I split my groceries in half so I can double more coupons!

     
  139. callmeabookworm

    October 30, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Coupons, of course. Trying to buy those things that are on sale. Also, planning meals. They all help.

    Thanks for this great giveaway!
    callmeabookworm AT gmail DOT com

     
  140. Shaunda

    October 30, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I have found that Aldi and Superdollar offer great deals and cheaper brands that don’t lack in the taste department. I have had to let go of brand loyalty and cook more items from scratch. No biggie. I am always looking for great recipes anyway.

     
  141. Cassandra

    October 30, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    I make sure to only buy what i really want and what I know that i’ll use. There’s no use buying store brand food if you know you hate it because it will just sit on the shelf. There are some things you can buy store brand and save money, but some things are soooo much worth the extra few cents.

    thatwemightfly AT gmail DOT com

    Thanks!

     
  142. Lessa

    October 30, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Combine an in-store sale and manufacturer’s coupon to get items for very little money!

     
  143. A Casson

    October 30, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Compare stiore circulars and double coupons thats how I try to save.
    skyskyaa11(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  144. Lis

    October 30, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    I used to make lists of what I would buy at the grocery store while I was there, the only things I would buy, but that didn’t work out so well haha sometimes I just feel like eating certain things and can’t help myself but another way to save money that actually worked for me was just not buying junk food it’s expensive, unhealthy, and just not necessary sure sometimes I’ll grab a candy bar but I avoid chips, bags of chocolate, and other junk that I just don’t need and I don’t buy food that I know no one will eat 😀

     
  145. Jodie Brooks

    October 30, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I shop at Kroger to help save money on shopping. They always have sales (10 for 10) and I stock up as long as everything stays good.

     
  146. Denise

    October 30, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    I’ve been doing a lot more couponing lately. I’ve started getting more than one Sunday paper to get more coupons! Thank you.

     
  147. susan t

    October 30, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Compare the weekly ad with my coupons..Try go match the sale items and coupons. Thanks for the giveaway. Love Kroger…semtaylor(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  148. Deeanna

    October 30, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I have become a coupon queen!

     
  149. Sarah Z

    October 30, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    I look at the coupons I have and see if that product is on sale – a lot of things aren’t listed in the sale ad! I also don’t buy unless I know I will use it!
    Thank you!

     
  150. Suzanne Lewis

    October 30, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I use coupons!

    txhottie_86 at yahoo dot com

     
  151. Julie Anne

    October 30, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Ooops wrong email on that last comment!!

    I save money by meal planning and shopping at Aldi a lot!!

    parresia03 (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  152. Jesica

    October 30, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    We buy what’s on sale – and plan our meals around it.
    We buy in bulk when it’s cheaper to do so.
    We only buy produce that’s IN season; it’s always cheaper.
    We shop less often. The less times I’m in the store, the less I spend

     
  153. Shannon

    October 30, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Use coupons only for things we eat and use them at the only store I shop at.

    palmersf(at)bellsouth.net

     
  154. Reva Skie

    October 30, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    I bring my ads to one store for price matches.

     
  155. Karen

    October 30, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    To save money on groceries, I am really trying to use what I have in my pantry rather than running out to buy something for dinner.

     
  156. C Gibbs

    October 30, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    I try and go to stores that are offering super double coupons or rebates on products that I actually need!

    daytoncat1(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  157. Susan

    October 30, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    When I go shopping I make a list of ONLY the things we NEED, and then I try to stick strictly to that list. That seems to prevent me from spending unneccisarily.

    snkjohnson(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  158. chantelle

    October 30, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    i use coupons as often as possible! Awesome giveaway! Thank you for the chance to win!

     
  159. Kim

    October 30, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    I pair up coupons with sales and save a ton!

     
  160. Heather S

    October 30, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Shopping the sales and using coupons is how we do it. Thanks!

     
  161. Heather

    October 31, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I’ve started couponing which has helped. I am working on getting more organized to be effective in this area.
    Thanks for the giveaway.
    Heather
    poncey76 at hotmail dot com

     
  162. Julie at Elisharose

    October 31, 2008 at 12:03 am

    I always shop sales and use as many coupons as I can. I cook from scratch and in bulk and freeze. That saves time and money.

     
  163. Bret

    October 31, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I have my wife plan the meals a week ahead of time that way we can budget and use coupons instead of her running to the store at the last minute and spending too much.

     
  164. Junglewife

    October 31, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Wow, that’s awesome info about Kroger!
    I’ve been trying to do more cooking from scratch, and also trying to use up what I already have in my cupboards. Yeah, I know I’ve already paid for it, so it’s not like I’m saving money, but at least I’m not spending MORE money!

     
  165. Crayl

    October 31, 2008 at 1:36 am

    We only buy what’s on sale, we tend to buy very little processed foods(as little as possible) and I try to use coupons, but often there aren’t coupons for foods we actually eat, PLUS we also don’t get a paper. I love that I can print them off Kroger.com, nice! Can the coupons be used at Food For Less? That’s the only Kroger related store anywhere near us . Thanks for a chance.

     
  166. pinklady

    October 31, 2008 at 1:41 am

    I stockpile items when I can get them free or super cheap by using coupons matched to sales primarily.

     
  167. Becca

    October 31, 2008 at 1:45 am

    We get 5 cents off each time we use our own bag. Thanks!

     
  168. Chrysa

    October 31, 2008 at 2:14 am

    I use tons of coupons and always buy what is on sale. Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  169. Tanya Moyer

    October 31, 2008 at 3:50 am

    I am a major couponer! I always try to use as many as I can. Plus I go to stores that double coupons! Great giveaway – thanks for offering!
    ~Tanya
    the4moyers(at)msn(dot)com

     
  170. tricia

    October 31, 2008 at 6:03 am

    I combine coupons with the sales flyer.

     
  171. Dani

    October 31, 2008 at 6:23 am

    To save money I clip coupons and look for deals and also take advantage of the Shortcuts & P&G loadable coupons on my Kroger card.

     
  172. molly

    October 31, 2008 at 10:03 am

    I try to save money by only buying things that are essential and things that are on sale.

    email:chipshots@embarqmail.com

     
  173. Mary

    October 31, 2008 at 10:14 am

    I menu plan, freeze anything I can get on special, including butter, milk, bread, cheese. And I coupon- a lot!

     
  174. Lisa

    October 31, 2008 at 10:19 am

    I read the sale flyers before I shop, and I try to stick to my list (and I never, ever go without a list, because that’s just asking for trouble). Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  175. Davina Perret

    October 31, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Save money on groceries? Yeah right:) Before I moved to Oregon I got into printing coupons but now I don’t have a printer! But I’ve tried to be conscious of what is cheaper where, so maybe in the end I’m saving. But probably not.
    Thanks for hearing my ramblings.
    Davina
    Please visit my giveaway at http://www.toddlertailoring.blogspot.com

     
  176. Lindsey

    October 31, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    I use coupons printed from the internet

     
  177. expectingamiracle

    October 31, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I use coupons and stock up when things are on sale.
    shannona@hotmail.com

     
  178. Kiy

    October 31, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    We are using coupons more and more, and doing the stock up thing too. I think everyone is trying so hard right now to watch their pennies. However, if I was lucky enough to win this, I would give it to my MIL. She is on a very fixed income and there is a Kroger right near her home. It would be nice to see her be able to get a couple of extras for herself at Christmastime, since we can’t be there this year (and I would make sure, by enlisting the help of my SIL!).

    Cheers, Kiy

     
  179. Carolyn Nedrow

    October 31, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    To save money I go to a Kroger that doubles dollar coupons and use lots of coupons!
    cjnedrow@gmail.com

     
  180. Deana McHatton

    October 31, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I match my coupons to stores that double and shop there and plan my menu around what is on sale. I also make sure to stock up during triple coupons.

     
  181. Ginny

    October 31, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I try combining coupons with sales.

     
  182. Richelle F

    October 31, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    I use moneysavingmom.com and couponmom.com to find the great deals to use my coupons.

     
  183. karen c.

    October 31, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    We tried freezer cooking and it really saves you money. Especially since food doesn’t end up going to waste that way!

     
  184. michelle

    October 31, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Once, I was at our Kroger affiliate (King Soopers) with a pile of coupons. I stopped at the Starbucks in the store to get a coffee first, and then managed to spill it all over my pile of coupons! Ruined! I had to pay full price for that shopping trip. I’m more careful now.

     
  185. Terry C

    October 31, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I shop around for sales and Kroger has some of the best in our area. Thanks for the great giveaway!

    braaisjo at gmail dot com

     
  186. Linette

    October 31, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    I make a list and try to stick to it. It also helps when I leave my son at home.

     
  187. Karla

    October 31, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    I wait until the new ads come out on Wednesday’s and see what I have coupons for and what is the best price. I also tend to do my shopping in the morning when they have many of the “fresh” items marked down for quick sell.

    karla at endikos.com

     
  188. Stacy

    October 31, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    I try to buy items that are on sale (at Kroger) and stock up on them. I also buy a lot of store brand items. Thanks for the chance to win.

     
  189. Katrina

    November 1, 2008 at 1:50 am

    I have started cutting coupons! Thanks for sharing the shortcuts website! definitely checking it out! I would love to win! Thanks! =)

     
  190. Noreen

    November 1, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I use coupons and stock up for great sales.
    Can you use shortcuts with a fred meyer card (they are part of kroger) and do you have to have aol?

     
  191. Lisa

    November 1, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    We clip coupons and study the sale papers. We try to only buy things that are on sale that we also have coupons for. I sure miss super double coupons!

     
  192. Shanaka

    November 1, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I started clipping coupons during the summer. I use my CVS bucks to buy my papers. I keep everything in a coupon binder. I use shortcuts.com, the p&g esaver and cellfire for coupons loaded to my Kroger card. I print bricks coupons also. I buy in bulk when its a good deal (love the Kroger 10/$10) and I meal plan for every 2 weeks and only buy whats needed. I find where the best deals are going to be from hotcouponworld.com and afullcup.com. I buy generic when possible and hardly buy anything without a coupon. I’ll fix big meals (only 3 of us eat table food) so we end up with either leftovers for next day or I’ll fix half and freeze other half for a later meal. My relatives swear by the Angel food ministries for cheap food too but I havent had the chance to catch a sale yet, but I will.

    Thanks for the chance to stock up on Kroger goodies.

     
  193. Elaine

    November 1, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    I am pretty diligent about cutting coupons from the paper. I actually like organizing them and using them. I also take advantage of the Kroger card when I shop there.

     
  194. Angela

    November 1, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I try to shop with coupons, and combine them with sales. My Ralph’s stopped doubling coupons over $1 (So the max you can save is $1) which is kind of a bummer. I also try to go early in the morning to get all the produce, meat, and bread that is marked down for quick sale. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Angela
    itsahumanzoo(at)gmail(dot)com
    P.S. Stop by my blog later, I’ll be giving away a fun prize from Bath and Body Works to kick off NaBloPoMo!!

     
  195. Lisa G.

    November 1, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    To save money on groceries I always clip coupons and scan the weekly ads for products on sale that match my coupons. I can get alot of items free or nearly free this way.
    lisalmg (at) ktis (dot) net

     
  196. MommyWizdom

    November 1, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Hi, thanks for the awesome giveaway. One thing I do to save money on grocery bill is i try to only shop twice a month… You’re supposed to do once a month but we go through milk too fast… That helps cut down the cost on stuff you’d buy on a weekly run. I will keep my fingers crossed!!

     
  197. Elsie

    November 2, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Planning is the key to save money, reading sale ads, deciding on meals that have sale ingredients for that week, lots of thought into leftover plus add a new item days, and buying the right amounts and staying true to your list…

    I’ve become a very organized shopper/cook and that helps , it’s unbelievable!

     
  198. thepilatesbiz

    February 8, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Im truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. Its a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Excellent work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
