RSS

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

20 Oct

And the winner is………

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

           17	

Timestamp: 2008-11-02 23:51:48 UTC

**  Congratulations triplej2676! **

Who’s ready for the holiday season?  Since all the retail places are already getting out their winter inventory and Christmas decorations are starting to show up, I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon too.  Ha!

Seriously, this is a lovely collection of all the best songs from Amy Grant’s three Christmas albums, plus four new songs.  I especially love “I Need A Silent Night” and I think it will speak to many busy parents out there.  (If you want to listen to a preview of this song, click here and then click the right-facing “play” arrow in the gray box under the heading “MP3 Song.”)

Giveaway! One lucky reader will win Amy Grant’s The Christmas Collection!  To enter the contest, simply leave a message in the comment field (below) describing your favorite family Christmas/holiday tradition or one that you want to begin.  Contest ends at 6 p.m. EST on Sunday, November 2. Comments that don’t follow the posted instructions will be deleted.  One winner will be chosen via random number generator.  The winner must provide a valid email address and respond to prize notification within 3 days. After 3 days, your prize will be forfeited and another winner will be notified. Contest is open to all readers with a valid shipping address.

This giveaway is part of Bloggy Giveaways Quarterly Carnival.  To find hundreds more giveaways this week, head over to their site using the link here or the button in my sidebar.  It really IS the most wonderful time of the year!  🙂

 
119 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2008 in Giveaways

 

119 responses to “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. Jenny

    October 20, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    On Dec. 1st each of the children take turns unwrapping a figure from the Nativity and explains the importance of each character. It’s a great way of reminding us what Christmas is really about. All the decorations have to do with Christ (even though Santa still visits us).

     
  2. Kathleen

    October 20, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Every Christmas morning we start the day with a family breakfast. A egg/sausage casserole and monkey bread, fruit, juice and coffee. Then we all go to the family room and the kids pass out the gifts to each person. My mom and daddy are always here on Christmas morning. They usually spend the night on Christmas eve when we have a special celebration dinner.

     
  3. Patricia

    October 20, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Our advent calendar is one which has a special activity for each day, such as go for a walk to look at Christmas lights or make decorations for the tree or decorate a gingerbread house, just to name a few. No treats or gifts, just quality time with family.

     
  4. Mama Ginger Tree

    October 20, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I love me some Amy Grant.

    My favorite Christmas tradition is Christmas Eve. We make an appearance at a good friend’s annual open house in the afternoon. Then we come home and have a roast chicken dinner just with us and the three kids. Then we bundle up in cozy clothes, get some mugs of hot chocolate and pile into the minivan. We cruise the neighborhood and check out all the lights. The kids love it. When we come home we check the sky for Santa and the kids leave carrots for Rudolf and cookies and milk for Santa. Once the kids are in bed, my husband and I build a fire and set up the gifts for the next morning.

     
  5. AmyInOhio

    October 21, 2008 at 10:29 am

    We tried last year to do cookies for our loved ones. Parker consumed far more icing and m&m decorations then the cookies ever saw.

    I think this year she’ll be more aware of the “giving” element of it. Of course I could be totally wrong.

     
  6. leah cole

    October 21, 2008 at 10:36 am

    We pick a family and buy gift for them instead of ourselves.

    Its a nice way to remember those less fortunate.

    thanks for the great offer 🙂

     
  7. Jill B.

    October 21, 2008 at 11:10 am

    My favorite Christmas tradition is going to church Christmas Eve. The last song of the service we light little candles each of us holds, turn off the lights and sing “Silent Night”. My kids absolutely love this just as I did when I was a kid.

     
  8. Christina

    October 21, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Decorating for Christmas the day after Thanksgiving!!!

     
  9. amandasue

    October 21, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    My favorite tradition would be decorating the tree, and going caroling at the nursing homes in my town.

     
  10. Sarah

    October 21, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    My favorite tradition is starting to decorate on the day after Thanksgiving. My family & I go all out. My daughter has a “theme” for her bedroom every year. We have Christmas trees in the bathrooms, in the kitchen, and in the family room in addition to the real one in our living room. Our house kind of looks like a Christmas explosion by the time we’re done but we have a lot of fun decorating!

     
  11. Laura

    October 21, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    My holidays are so steeped in traditions it’s hard to pick a favorite! We always decorate the Christmas tree while listening to Glen Miller “In the Christmas Mood” album. It sets the feel for a fun and happy holiday.
    We also have one night in December where we haul out all my scrapbooking stuff and we make all our own gift tags. We use glittery pens, colored paper, even pictures from magazines to create one-of-a-kind tags. Some of them we save from year to year, we just can’t throw them away, they’re so cute!

     
  12. Go Amie

    October 21, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    We don’t always do this, but cutting down our own Christmas tree!

     
  13. sara l.

    October 21, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    The day after Thanksgiving my family always visits our local Christmas Tree Farm to pick out the perfect tree! We chop it down and bring it home and enjoy finger foods, Christmas music, and good company as we decorate the tree!
    sblilly14(@)yahoo(.)com

     
  14. Deborah

    October 21, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    I have lots of traditions that I enjoy, but one of them is giving my 4 kids one gift on Christmas Eve. They’ve all gotten smart enough now to know that this one gift is new holiday pajamas, but they humor me. And, the bonus is everyone looks great for their Christmas morning photos!

     
  15. Pat

    October 21, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    As our children were growing up, we gave them a new Christmas ornament each year. Then, as an adult, they have a collection of ornaments to start their new life.

     
  16. Jessica

    October 21, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    We always put up the Christmas Tree Thanksgiving night while we watch the movie Christmas Vacation. And we always bake cookies and listen to Christmas Music.

     
  17. triplej2676

    October 21, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    i make monkey bread every christmas morning and it bakes while we unwrap our gifts.

    i like to give my kids christmas pajamas on christmas eve.

    we really enjoy making and decorating cookies to give to our favorite neighbors and friends.

     
  18. Sara

    October 21, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Gosh, there are so many. I love decorating for Christmas and listening to Christmas music. We always make press cookies leading up to Christmas. And we always eat Paris Puffins and an egg and sausage casserole with orange juice on Christmas morning.

    I love Amy Grant!! What a great give-away!

     
  19. Sandy

    October 21, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    we do alot but my favorite is making ornaments each year and they smell so yummy

     
  20. Joy

    October 22, 2008 at 9:05 am

    My husband serves me breakfast in bed (including the splurge of bacon!) — he even did it last year WHILE taking care of the 6-month-old — did I get a winner or what?! : )

     
  21. jen

    October 22, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    i think my favorite tradition is the finding of the christmas tree, drinking hot chocolate…setting it up, looking at and telling stories about each of the ornaments, playing some christmas CDs and eating a warm meal…together.

    with my husband’s airline job…we rarely get him home on an actual holiday…so i think we try to make the best out of the days preceding or following!

     
  22. psychmamma

    October 26, 2008 at 2:07 am

    I LOVE all the great holiday traditions and can’t believe how many of you are observing many of the same ones we do or that I did as a child. Cool! I’d love to get even more tradition ideas, so if you email a friend, or “Tweet” about this giveaway, post another comment telling me about it and I’ll register you for another entry. (That means two entries are possible per person!!) Spread the joy! 🙂

     
  23. Jenna

    October 27, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    One of my favorite traditions is my grandmother’s french bread. There’s something special about it and she only makes it at Christmas. Though my mom has made it before, no one makes it like Grandma! I always look forward to getting a yummy slice.

     
  24. Ang

    October 28, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    i love amy grant, my fav thing in the world is sitting around with my family on christmas day, its SO hot in the house everyone is stuffed and we are normally giggling alot, i live 10 hrs from my family so these small cherished times are what keeps me going.
    Ang

     
  25. Dionna

    October 28, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    We have chicken noodle soup as a simple Christmas meal to represent Christ’s simple beginnings.
    LOVE Amy!

     
  26. Trish

    October 28, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    We love to go out on Christmas Eve and drive around looking at all the Christmas lights.

     
  27. Lisa

    October 28, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Its not so much a family traditon but hubby and I stay up and put everything under the tree and talk about how as a family we can can make the world a better place and think about how to make it kid friendly, and before we open gifts in the morning tell the children our ideas and during the day we discuss how to make it happen.
    Stormy5475@aol.com

     
  28. Queen-sized funny bone

    October 28, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    our family all get together and make italian cookies weeks before the holidays, we eat drink sing christmas carols and even the men are included.

     
  29. Cynthia

    October 28, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    We make a happy birthday cake to Jesus and gather around and sing to him.

     
  30. tami lewis

    October 28, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    our fav tradition is reading the christmas story from the bible and acting it out 🙂

     
  31. TamiW

    October 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    On Christmas eve we all meet at my moms house and have a lite dinner and let the kids open their family gifts. Then we pile in the van and go look at Christmas lights. Then we go home and put the kids to bed so they can wait for Santa to show up. Then we adults spend the rest of the night finishing up wrapping and assembling gifts until the sun comes up.

     
  32. Beth

    October 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Every year on Christmas Eve my dad grills Filet Mignon outsise on the grill. It doesn’t matter how cold it is outside he always goes out and grills. We have a big meal with all the family. It is the one time we all get together.

     
  33. Carol

    October 28, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Our fave tradition is Midnight Mass then home to bed.

     
  34. Cherie R.

    October 28, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Starting when my children were just babies, we would buy each of them a new Christmas ornament every year. They would eventually get to help pick the one that suited them best. For instance if they played soccer that year maybe they would want one with a soccer theme. Then when they are older they have a collection and memories to go along with it. Please enter me!

     
  35. Nancy

    October 28, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    I love Amy Grant! I’m really hoping I win.
    One of my favorite family traditions around the holidays, is going up into the mountains and cutting down our Christmas tree. I want to continue this tradition with my own children.

     
  36. Elizabeth

    October 28, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I love Christmas and one of our traditions is getting together for Christmas Eve and having a Birthday Party for Jesus…

    Thanks,
    ELizabeth
    zizziecards@gmail.com

     
  37. Carrie

    October 28, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Baking sugar cookies on Christmas Eve and decorating them as a family while reading The Christmas Story. And listening to Amy Grant’s Christmas music all through December, of course! =D

    readingtoknow (at) gmail (dot) com

    !

     
  38. The Chatty Housewife

    October 28, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Sledding is my favorite christmas tradition, it’s so much fun! Thanks for the great chance to win! chattyhousewife(at)gmail.com

     
  39. Judy

    October 28, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    I’m all about going to look at Christmas lights. We stop at the coffee shop for coffee and hot chocolate and drive around, taking in all the beautiful sights!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

     
  40. Shawnee

    October 28, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    We lived in Germany when my husband was in the Army, and picked up the tradition of St. Nicholas Day. The kids put out their shoes on the evening with their Christmas lists in them, and St. Nicholas comes in the night, gathers the lists and leaves little treats for the good children.

     
  41. Gale

    October 28, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Watching the kids open their stockings in the morning. May not be unique, but it’s so fun to watch their excitement and brings back happy memories from my own childhood.

     
  42. chris swanson

    October 28, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Our tradition is driving around on the days before Christmas listening to Christmas carols and looking at all the lights and drinking hot chocolate.

     
  43. Amity

    October 28, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    My favorite Christmas tradition is every year the sunday after thanksgiving we go to a tree farm and get our christmas tree…they have cookies, hot cocoa, animals for the kids to look at, face painting, buffalo burgers, a bon fire…it is fun 🙂
    amitymatthia [at] hotmail.com

     
  44. Dana

    October 28, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Many years ago (when I was young and still living with my parents) – it became a tradition to have an open house on Christmas Eve……something we still do today
    After my second marriage, I added another part….
    Christmas morning we have open house for Brunch! Boy is it messy but SOOOO much fun!
    hushmouth{at}verizon{dot}net

     
  45. Sharla

    October 28, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    We have loved having a secret santa come to us and this year we want to be secret santa to someone else. THe best part of Christmas is giving! sharlacarbine at gmail dot com

     
  46. Sheila at Dodging Raindrops

    October 28, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Favourite Christmas traditions:
    -using the advent calendar
    -my boys playing with their Little People nativity set
    – driving around to see Christmas lights

     
  47. Julie

    October 28, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I would love to get a nativity set that my daughter can play with. I love just spending time with my family.

     
  48. Lisa @ Stop and Smell the Chocolates

    October 28, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    I love Amy Grant and I love Christmas music! We always read about Jesus’ birth from the Bible on Christmas Eve and sometimes open 1 gift that night. I do want to start the tradition of the new pajamas every Christmas Eve – I think I’ll start it this year!

     
  49. Lydia

    October 29, 2008 at 12:54 am

    My favorite Christmas tradition is setting up the ceramic Nativity Set that my Mom handfired and painted when she was 15–very special. Thanks for signing me up.

    lydia.bower @ ak.net

     
  50. hillesha

    October 29, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Just spending time together 🙂

    lilacbutterfly [at] earthlink.net

     
  51. Krystle

    October 29, 2008 at 2:21 am

    Every year my family gets together at my aunt’s house on Christmas Eve. We have dinner (most of the time it’s spaghetti) and open gifts. Every year we draw names and on Christmas Eve we find out who had our name. Each year my aunt gets me and my 2 cousins a gift bag filled with little odds and ends. Even though we’re grown up, she still makes them every year!

    I love Christmas music and I would love to add this CD to my collection!

     
  52. Lauren C.

    October 29, 2008 at 11:46 am

    On christmas eve the kids are each allowed to open one gift!
    My parents went to college with Amy Grant- this would be fun to give to them!

     
  53. Kimberly V.

    October 29, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    My favorite holiday tradition is driving around Christmas Eve looking at all the holiday displays and having a “contest” with my family where we name the “Most Beautiful” display, the “Weirdest” display, the “Most Colorful” and so forth. Then we come home, have hot chocolate and watch “A Christmas Story” as we track Santa’s progress on the NORAD web site.

    Thanks for a great giveaway! We just purchased Josh Grobin’s Christmas CD and that is awesome too!

     
  54. amandasue

    October 29, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    my favorite christmas tradition is decorating the tree and sugar cookies and reading the night before christmas

     
  55. World's Greatest Mommy

    October 29, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    We go caroling every year to people that need a pick-me-up. We make beautiful baskets of goodies and just have a blast!

     
  56. Paula

    October 29, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I love the Christmas Eve dinner. Good food, with dishes you don’t make except at Christmastime, and everyone sitting down at the same time.

     
  57. Crystal B.

    October 29, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    We all gather at my parents on Christmas day to have dinner and exchange gifts.

     
  58. sara l.

    October 29, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    The day after Thanksgiving we go to our local Christmas tree farm and pick out the perfect tree…We spend the rest of the night sipping hot chocolate and listening to Christmas music as we decorate our tree!

    Thanks for such a fun giveaway!
    sblilly14(@)yahoo(.)com

     
  59. Nadia

    October 29, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    The night before Christmas, we watch a Charlie Brown Christmas in our brand new Christmas PJs. =)

     
  60. Michelle

    October 29, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Our favourite holiday tradition is making lefse (a Norweigan flatbread) together, which is served with our Christmas dinner.

     
  61. Sheryl

    October 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Oh I would enjoy this so much! Hmmmm . . . Christmas Eve at my folks is probably one of my favorite things. Wild rice soup and cracker bread and a fire crackling. Thank you!

     
  62. Margie

    October 29, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Our favorite tradition is to go to see the Nutcracker Ballet. Our silliest tradition is to always watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. We also always get new jammies and open them to wear on Christmas Eve! I love Christmas traditions!!!

     
  63. Margie

    October 29, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Oh and I just posted some great Amy Grant photos on my blog. I was fortunate enough to see her in Phx. last week! 🙂 The 20th Anniversary of the Lead Me On tour!

     
  64. Michelle C

    October 29, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    My family sleeps over at Grandma and Grandpa’s house. We stay up way too late and enjoy family that we don’t see often enough and eat too much. What an awesome prize, thanks for the chance to win it!

     
  65. Michelle Corning

    October 29, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Every moring we make apecial just for christmas breakfast and then read the Christmas story from the bible then we open gifts.

     
  66. Das Critic

    October 29, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Making Christmas ornaments on Thanksgiving day.

    Deborah
    dbstout{at}juno{dot}com

     
  67. PEA

    October 29, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    I so love Amy Grant and don’t have this Christmas cd of hers so I would sure love to win it:-) My favourite Christmas tradition is playing the game we’ve played every Christmas Eve for the past 27 years…we get 3 playing cards each and if your card is called, you pick a gift from the pile. Once all the gifts have been taken, you then start to steal from each other. It’s hilarious and everybody has such a fun time:-)

     
  68. emily

    October 29, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    I love Amy Grant’s Christmas! My favorite Christmas tradition is going to church the night before and then coming home and just spending wonderful time as a family around warm cups of hot chocolate!

    Thanks for offering it!

    princesslimey (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  69. Rita A

    October 30, 2008 at 12:38 am

    My grandmother started this when I was very young. She made a wreath of popcorn balls and had it hanging by the door for anyone to take one as they left her home. I still continue the tradition 40 years later.

     
  70. Qtpies7

    October 30, 2008 at 1:20 am

    I want to get a manger for inside my house. Then have everyone put a piece of straw in the manger whenever they do something nice annonymously for someone else. We’ll see how soft of a bed we leave for baby Jesus on Christmas morning.

     
  71. Chelsea

    October 30, 2008 at 2:33 am

    On Christmas Eve with my whole family we all put our Pajamas on before opening presents, and then Santa always pays us a visit too! Thanks! FlipFlopsChels@msn.com

     
  72. Chelsey

    October 30, 2008 at 4:06 am

    A tradition I hope we’ll begin is caroling to the neighbours! One tradition we already have is placing a wooden manager in our front yard with small lights inside of it to make it look as though it’s glowing.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  73. melanie @ meladramatic mommy

    October 30, 2008 at 4:13 am

    My mom starts the Christmas music as soon as the Thanksgiving dishes are all put away!

     
  74. Huguette E.

    October 30, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Our tradition is to visit our families, attending midnight mass, open presents the next morning and more visiting.

     
  75. Sandra

    October 30, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Our tradition is making Lefse ( a Norweigan flat bread) on the days prior to Christmas to serve with our Christmas dinner.

    owatz (AT) telus (DOT) net

     
  76. Princess Leia

    October 30, 2008 at 9:53 am

    When I was a kid, one of our church families would invite their friends and the church staff to their house after the Christmas Eve service for a party. “Santa” would always come to give small gifts to each of the kids (provided by the parents). But my favorite part was that at midnight, everyone would quiet down and someone would read the Christmas story from Luke 2. I hope to start the tradition of reading the Christmas story with my family every year.

     
  77. Kelly

    October 30, 2008 at 11:32 am

    My favorite holiday tradition is silent communion at our church. Some 30+ years ago our church started opening its doors on Christmas Eve for families or individuals to come as they liked until midnight. My Grandfather always took my family there, it was a very special time for us. So when he passed away on December 23, 1983 it was devastating for us all. Since then we have carried on the tradition, my father says a prayer and as a family we share in communion. To me, it’s a way of including Poppy in our Christmas. I wish he could be here now to share this with my children, his great-grandchildren, but I know he’ll always be here with us in our hearts.

     
  78. 33tekfan

    October 30, 2008 at 11:39 am

    We pick stars off trees and buy those gifts for needy children. I love Amy Grant – thanks for this generous offer!

     
  79. Cmerie

    October 30, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    This will be our first Christmas with just our family. My favorite tradition is going to Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve.

     
  80. Kristin

    October 30, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    oh man i want this cd. my fave tradition is our christmas eve family pictures in front of the tree with our new pjs on. we take a nice pic and a funny pic. it’s so fun to look back at all the old pictures!

     
  81. Frances Bartlett

    October 30, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I do not have children yet, but when I do I want to start traditions that teach them to be grateful for what they have and that it is better to give than to receive.

     
  82. Jennifer M

    October 30, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    We’re going to buy a new christmas village piece each year to start our own christmas tree town.

     
  83. monica

    October 30, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I would love to have this cd. Our favorite tradition is to put up the tree Thanksgiving night.So we can enjoy it longer! monk5@charter.net

     
  84. Cherie J

    October 30, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    We go out and drive around to look at all the light displays. Then we return to sit around the tree sipping hot cocoa or eggnog while listening to Christmas music.

     
  85. CC

    October 30, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    We unwrap one holiday book each night for the month. They aren’t new books, but it is fun to be surprised!

     
  86. susan t

    October 30, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    My favorite is shopping the day after Thanksgiving with all the females in my family. We have a great time together. Thanks for the giveaway. Really like Amy Grant…semtaylor(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  87. Jesica

    October 30, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    The only Christmas ‘tradition’ I can think of is that we always go to my aunt’s on Christmas Eve – the whole extended family comes, and I LOVE it! It’s my very favorite day of the year.

     
  88. Becky

    October 30, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    How fantastic! Thank you for this giveaway; I hope I win 🙂
    eyeslikesugar (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  89. Julie Neff

    October 30, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    My fav Christmas tradition is to open one gift on Christmas eve (usually new pj’s).

     
  90. Shannon

    October 30, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    We always open one Christmas present from a friend or non relative on Christmas Eve to get excited about Santa coming that night!

    palmersf(at)bellsouth.net

     
  91. Karen

    October 30, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    We let the kids open one present each on Christmas Eve.

     
  92. Valerie

    October 30, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    everybody decorating the christmas tree together 🙂

     
  93. Mudpies And Mary Janes

    October 30, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    My families favorite tradition is decorating the Christmas tree while sipping on homemade glog and listening to Christmas carols. thanks!

     
  94. Julie at Elisharose

    October 31, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Our house is Christmas central. We start with breakfast and have friends and relatives in and out of the house until nightfall. It is fun and wonderful and I love it.

     
  95. Junglewife

    October 31, 2008 at 12:35 am

    OH, I LOVE Christmas music! I just love pulling out the Christmas music and listening to it while I decorate the house on the weekend after Thanksgiving. =)

     
  96. Tanya Moyer

    October 31, 2008 at 3:49 am

    One of my favorite holiday traditions is that on Christmas Eve we have clam chowder in a bread bowl, and it needs to be sourdough! :o)

    Great giveaway – thanks for offering!
    ~Tanya
    the4moyers(at)msn(dot)com

     
  97. tricia

    October 31, 2008 at 6:04 am

    We always have a special dinner and watch movies on Christmas Eve

     
  98. Carol Jo

    October 31, 2008 at 7:11 am

    we are going to start celebrating Advent with the daily studies…I so excited to get into the true reason for Christmas…I would be so blessed by this CD…I love the way Amy Grant sings….thank you…cvdmvega@yahoo.com

     
  99. Jen

    October 31, 2008 at 8:42 am

    We decorate the tree together while listening to a new christmas music cd (this could be our new one this year!!!) every year after Thanksgiving!

     
  100. Mary

    October 31, 2008 at 10:10 am

    My favorite family tradition is my husband, myself and our 2 kids going out to the country and cutting our own tree. It takes hours sometimes to find that perfect tree and according to my husband- we must always go when it is the coldest day so we can enjoy the hot chocolate and bonfire when we get back to the car with our tree.

     
  101. sarah

    October 31, 2008 at 10:17 am

    oh i love amy grant! we have 2 small children and are working on our traditions for our family. one thing we are doing is making gifts for each other so we are thinking and planning more in our gift giving.

     
  102. Nancy

    October 31, 2008 at 11:22 am

    One of our Christmas traditions is to go out for drive-thru burgers on Christmas Eve and then eat while we drive around looking at Christmas lights. We’ve done this for years and always look forward to it.

    Thanks for this lovely giveaway!
    Nancy @ Homemade Blessings

    homemadeblessings(at)gmail(dot)com

    http://homemadeblessings.wordpress.com/

     
  103. Davina Perret

    October 31, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    My mom hides a pickle (ornament) in the Christmas tree and we have a big contest to see who can find it first. I usually give up and get the flashlight out and cheat. But it’s fun. So I have started this tradition with my little family.
    Davina
    Please visit my giveaway at http://www.toddlertailoring.blogspot.com

     
  104. dee

    October 31, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Every year we do fondue with my whole family on christmas eve(this cd would be amazing playing in the background) then we go to church and then go ride around and look at christmas lights!

     
  105. Tenille

    October 31, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I am hoping to begin a tradition of matching Christmas pj’s for the family on Christmas morning. I think it’s such a cute idea….

     
  106. Jeanette Jackson

    October 31, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Just getting the whole family together for Christmas is my favorite tradition

     
  107. karen c.

    October 31, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    My favorite thing is decorating the tree together as a family.

     
  108. Chrysa

    October 31, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    My favorite Christmas tradition is the “Christmas Feast” we have on Christmas Eve, which consists of everyone’s favorite foods. We have everything from beef jerky and cheese-in-a-can to smoked oysters and caviar!

     
  109. Joy @ Joy Of Desserts

    October 31, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Great idea! I’ve just bookmarked you so I can come back and read everybody’s Christmas traditions. We have lots of our own, but we can always add a few more. 🙂

    I think our most unique one is that we sing Christmas songs in various languages. The favorite would be Oh, Tanenbaum! with 4 generations singing in German, Italian, Spanish, French, and English. What a great chorus! It’s so much fun.

    Also, we do the French tradition of drawing a king and queen shortly after Christmas for Epiphany and eating a French version of a King’s Cake (similar to what people do in Louisiana), and of course we crown the king and queen.

    We also bake cookies, pies, and tarts with 2 or 3 generations teaching and helping each other. We listen to Christmas music all day and evening long for the entire season. We hang stockings and place our best SHOES by the fireplace. We leave Eggnog and cookies for santa and sprinkle magic reindeer food for Rudolf and his friends in the yard.

    Amy Grant is one of our son’s very favorites so it would be just lovely to win this for him. Thank you for the chance to win. (E-mail in profile.)

     
  110. Mom to 2 boys

    October 31, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I love, love, love Amy Grant. One tradition we are trying to start is celebrating Advent. And I am thinking this year we might try to do a Jesse tree to really help to get into the real spirit of the season. Thanks for the give a way!

     
  111. maria

    October 31, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Every Christmas eve my family would put together a christmas puzzle…it’s something I would like to continue with my kids when they are old enough.

     
  112. Chris

    October 31, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Drinking hot cocoa in Santa mugs while decorating the tree.

     
  113. lovedandamazed

    October 31, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I love the anticipation of Christmas… I always wait until Dec. 1st to begin playing music and decorating. I’m always VERY ready to get in the spirit by then. 🙂

    Thanks for the chance to win!

     
  114. Karla

    October 31, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    My favorite tradition is that we have Waffles and White Sauce every Christmas Eve – it’s a special thing that just our family does and I LOVE it!

     
  115. Becky

    October 31, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Oh, I would love this so much! I have fond memories of listening to Amy Grant as a teenager during Christmastime.

    Our family loves to give a favorite (sugary!) cereal along with Christmas stockings on Christmas morning. And then eat that cereal for breakfast!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  116. Corin Ritter

    November 1, 2008 at 7:44 am

    My husband and I started our own tradition with our kids to remeber the true meaning of Christmas. We make a chocolate chip coffee cake the day before Christmas and on Christmas morning we take time to sing happy birthday to Jesus and let our kids blow out the candles. Our oldest child is 9 so we have been doing this since she was about 3 the kids love it and it really makes us stop and remeber that Jesus is the reason for the season!

     
  117. Megret

    November 1, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    We always decorate gingerbread men and make them resemble family members, celebrities, or other characters — lots of fun!
    Megret
    musesofmegret (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  118. MommyWizdom

    November 1, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Hi (again)! Thanks for the awesome giveaway; I love Amy Grant.

    MY favorite Christmas tradition is doing stockings. My family didn’t do those when I was a kid so I do them now with my kids. I love shopping throughout the year for stuff to put in them and I love to see their faces when they pull their trinkets out!

     
  119. Elsie

    November 1, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Every December, we go to visit a local church display of Nativity art and creches (lent from area residents, for a week before Christmas)…and it is a family tradition to see the various art and beauty of the Season. Holiday music is played on route and back, as we comtemplate the variety and wonder of the displays each year.

    We enjoy this shared time while celebrating the joy of Christmas.

     

Leave a Reply

 
