RSS

Bubble Bath Finger Paint

17 Oct
Photo by Yogi

Here’s an easy recipe for homemade finger paint to use in the bath:

  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • organic food coloring of choice
  • organic liquid soap
  • Water (as needed)

Mix the flour, salt and water to a paste consistency.  Add food coloring and soap to get the desired consistency.

Here’s my question for you all:  Have you ever tried something like this in the tub?  I haven’t yet.  I know that Jenna would love it, but I’m a little concerned about the food coloring.  Will Jenna turn colors?  Is it safe for her to be sitting in?  How hard is it to clean up the tub?  Any input would be great.

Happy painting!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2008 in Random Fun, Recipes

 

4 responses to “Bubble Bath Finger Paint

  1. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle

    October 17, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Wonder if it would work with GFCF flour? I guess I would be too nervous about staining the tub or something, though!

     
  2. Insta-mom

    October 17, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I’m curious to know what you learn. I think about things like this often, but doing it in my own home is a lot different!

     
  3. iMommy

    October 17, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Hmm… well, with food coloring, I think that’s it’s probably not a big deal. It’s in our food; it’s probably OK to have in the tub with your kid. And as far as staining the tub…. I haven’t found anything that won’t quiver and die in the face of a good steam cleaner 🙂

    Maybe I’ll try! If I do, I’ll post about it 🙂

     
  4. Aunt Amy

    October 18, 2008 at 11:17 am

    I don’t know about the stains, my concern would be starting something that would cause future hassles. Do you really want to have the battles in which you try to explain that it is okay to paint the walls in the bathroom, but not the rest of the house? Or that you can paint with this paint, but using other paints or Mommy’s lipstick is not okay? Yikes! I think you have enough battles already with normal two year-old issues.

    But, you are fight. Jenna would love it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
