RSS

Bob Books Giveaway!

30 Sep

And the random number generator has spoken!

Here are your random numbers:

22	

Timestamp: 2008-10-12 22:04:07 UTC

#22 is Allison.  Congratulations!  Hope that these books help with teaching your 4 y/o to read!  I think you’ll love them.

If you’re not familiar with Bob books, you need to check them out!  I won Sets 1-5 from a contest at Thingamababy, and couldn’t be happier.  I’m so impressed with them, that I’m giving away Set 1 to one lucky reader here!  Here’s how the company describes their books:

Bob Books was developed as a step-by-step, book-by-book program to guide your child gently through the early stages of reading.  This carefully crafted, simple, and progressive approach to learning assures children success and confidence from their very earliest reading experience.  Children love the hilarious (and sometimes mischievous) stories and pictures.

There are twelve books in Set 1.  Each book is written with three-letter words and short sentences that are easy for beginning readers.  Sounds are presented in a uniquely simple style, and a sounds/picture dictionary for introducing each new letter is included.  Here’s a sample of a sounds/picture dictionary page:

Letters are added in each ordered book, and, by the end of the final book of the set, all the letters of the alphabet (except Q) have been presented with consistent sounds throughout the set.  Only five “sight words” are introduced Set 1.  Each page offers silly, simply illustrated characters that kids love.  Even though the illustrations are simple, they provide contextual clues that also aid in beginning reading.  Here’s a sample of a page from Book 1:

For a brief peek at Book 1, you can flip through the pages here.  There are twelve pages in each of the twelve books in Set 1.  Each book is conveniently sized for little hands at 4.25″ x 5.5″. The company also offers activity pages to download from their website that correspond with each set.

Jenna has just started showing interest in the words on the pages of a book instead of just the pictures, so I think we’re ready to start introducing the Bob Books.  I can’t wait to hear her proudly proclaim, “I read the whole thing by myself!”

To enter to win Set 1 of Bob Books, simply leave a comment in the comments section below.  Any comment will do.  I’m all out of creative ideas for now.  One reader will be chosen via random number generator and notified via email.  Contest ends at 6 p.m. EST on Sunday, October 12. You must provide a valid email address and respond to prize notification within 3 days. After 3 days, your prize will be forfeited and another winner will be notified. Comments that do not follow the guidelines listed above will be deleted. Contest is open to all readers with a valid shipping address.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2008 in Giveaways, Product Reviews

 

24 responses to “Bob Books Giveaway!

  1. Laura

    September 30, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Do you think they’ll pick the first comment? Probably not, but I’d love to win anyway! I’m doing reading with my son and he needs all the motivation I can scrape together!

     
  2. Kate

    September 30, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I taught myself to read at a young age (and then my brother) with something similar. I’ve always wanted to find this kind of thing for my own kids!

     
  3. Ruby

    September 30, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I would love a set to help my two year old begin reading. They look like such great little books.

     
  4. Heather of the EO

    September 30, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    I want those books. 🙂

     
  5. Carla Pullum

    September 30, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Wow!!! I actually grew up on these kind of book and would love to share with my kids!!!!!!!

     
  6. Patricia

    September 30, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    I’ve heard about these books but have never seen one. Would love to take a look and see how my 4-year old likes them.

     
  7. Wendy

    October 1, 2008 at 8:51 am

    We used the later sets with my step-son. I swear these were such a big help for him and us as a beginning reader. It was like after reading these books he understood what it was to read rather than just recognize words/symbols and guessing. These are great! If you don’t win the set, I suggest getting them on your own!

     
  8. Kam A

    October 1, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    My 4 year old would love these! They look wonderful!

     
  9. jen

    October 1, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    i would love to be entered in this give-away!
    what a great idea…

     
  10. Monica W.

    October 2, 2008 at 11:44 am

    These look awesome! The learning to read stage is just around the corner for me!

     
  11. Melanie

    October 2, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    I have seen these before. I think they would be great for my little guy!

     
  12. Jenny

    October 2, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    I had these for my first daughter and need them for my son! (In the move I don’t know where the set I had went =(

     
  13. Sara

    October 2, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    These look great. I like the sound/picture dictionary page that has a picture for each sound used. This is a great way to teach kids to read. Kids feel like such superstars when they are able to read a book all by themselves.

     
  14. Anita Kaiser

    October 3, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    These books look really great. Here’s hoping it’s my name!

     
  15. minnemom

    October 5, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Please enter me. Thanks!

     
  16. Scary Mommy

    October 5, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    My little ones would love these!

     
  17. shannanb aka Mommy B

    October 6, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    These would be great for Brady! Count me in.

     
  18. AmyInOhio

    October 7, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I wanna win! P needs to learn how to read so she can tuck ME in at night!

     
  19. Sheri

    October 11, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    These would be perfect to share with Kai! I’ keeping my fingers crossed. 🙂

     
  20. Carrie (Justthatgirl)

    October 11, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    These look great. I’ll give it a shot!

     
  21. Cecilia

    October 12, 2008 at 12:48 am

    These would come in very handy! Thanx for having this giveaway. 🙂

     
  22. allison

    October 12, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Oh, I need these to teach my 4-year-old how to read! Many thanks.

     
  23. carole@hippostoes

    October 12, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    My son loves books and I love to read to him. I’d love to add these to his library 🙂

     
  24. Terri toebe

    January 11, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    My grand daughter wants to asleep with her new Bob book. We bought them last week. If we won more she would just love them and so would I.

     
 
