RSS

Try This Tuesday: Pencil Grippers

29 Sep

Try This Tuesday

I’ve been trying (unsuccessfully) to get Jenna to grip a pencil, crayon or marker correctly, or at least a little closer to correctly than she currently does with her toddler “fist grip.”  She’ll just be turning three in January, so we’ve got lots of time to work on this and I’m not really worried.  But, whenever I try to model a correct grip or gently correct hers, she gets frustrated, so I usually just back off.

I recently came across something called a Pencil Gripper that trains little fingers into the correct placement for writing (not to be confused with a simple grip cushion).  The company says that they also prevent “over-gripping” and that “when the fingers are relaxed, the brain relaxes too.”  They’re designed for either right or left-handedness and come as a set of three in either primary or pastel colors.  I think they sound like they’re worth a try.

Pencil Grippers are available online through Leaps and Bounds

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2008 in Jenna, Parenting tips, Product Reviews, Special Needs

 

6 responses to “Try This Tuesday: Pencil Grippers

  1. cincinnatiwomenbloggers

    September 29, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    I can remember using these when I was little. My teacher had all different colors. My favorite was a red one on a yellow dixon ticonderoga pencil. I remember using it all the way down to the nub.

    It’s insane the things you remember.

     
  2. cincinnatiwomenbloggers

    September 29, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    Crud – Its Shannan from Mommy Bits. I run Cincinnati Women Bloggers too.

     
  3. Heather~Domestic Extraordinaire

    September 30, 2008 at 8:47 am

    The Chicken (who is almost 11) loves the pencil grippers. Although we get ours from a local paper store, will have to check if the online price is cheaper than the nearly $2 I paid last time for one.

     
  4. Tami

    September 30, 2008 at 10:00 am

    My son (who is almost 11) loves pencil grippers, too. These grippers are pretty cool looking for little ones.

     
  5. Julie

    September 30, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    That looks like a great product! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

     
  6. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle

    October 1, 2008 at 10:05 am

    My son’s OT just introduced him to flip crayons, which are really short and promote a proper grip. He resisted at first but then started using them and seems to like them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
