RSS

Motivation for Losing Weight

25 Sep
Photo by mrjorgen

After two and a half years, I’m still struggling with getting rid of the extra weight that came with a pregnancy and three months of bedrest.  Ugh.  I fondly remember the “good old days” when I could drop 5 pounds by skipping a few meals.  Unfortunately, that seems to have changed as more gray hairs were added and the years ticked by.  Now, losing weight is truly work.  And it’s not fun.  It’s a frustratingly slow process and I want to see results overnight.  Did I mention that I need to work on patience?

Anyway, I’ve dropped a few of the extra “baby” pounds, but not nearly what I’d like to.  I lost the most last summer when Hubby and I decided to create a monetary rewards system.  We figured what we would have spent for gym memberships and put the money in a jar.  For every pound we lost, we got to collect cold, hard cash.  I wanted a new camera and worked hard to lose the pounds to be able to buy it.  It was amazing how well it worked!  Then winter came, we weren’t as active, we ate more while we hibernated, and we came out in the spring with a few of those pounds back.  Sigh.

This time, I mean business.  I want to lose the pounds for good and start developing healthier habits to keep the weight off instead of all this yo-yo stuff.  It’s time to face the facts that I just can’t eat like I used to, and I need to exercise more.   So, I’m on a mission to lose 30 pounds.  I’d actually be pretty happy with 20, but 30 would be great, so that’s what I’m shooting for.  I now know that monetary incentives work wonders, and I found another way to super-motivate myself.

StickK.com is a website that helps people achieve their goals by making what they call Commitment Contracts.  The idea was conceived and created by three Yale professors and one Yale student and is based on social and behavioral psychology concepts.  Studies have shown that people are more likely to meet objectives when they have contracted a commitment.  To take it a step further, stickK.com offers the opportunity to wager on your commitment.  You can choose an amount to wager, and, if you meet your goals, you get to keep your money.  If you don’t meet your contracted goals, your money is donated to the charity or “anti-charity” of your choice.  An “anti-charity” is an organization that you are passionately opposed to.  Let me just tell you that it’s very motivating when you know your money will go toward something you don’t support if you don’t meet your goals.

So that’s exactly what I did.  I contracted to lose 30 pounds over seven months and wagered $10 each week.  I have to meet my weekly goals or forfeit my money to the George W. Bush Presidential Library.  Fellow blogger and friend, Amy in Ohio, also contracted and is supporting/cheerleading me in my efforts.  Helping out with the support and cheerleading is another bloggy friend, Maura from One Ping Only.  My good friend (since middle school), T has been cheerleading me for a year as we’ve been accountable to each other for our daily eating and exercise habits.  (Thanks for not giving up on me T.  You’ve been an awesome support in more ways than just the weight loss.  Love you!)

StickK.com also offers Commitment Contracts to quit smoking, run a marathon, voting, exercising, and offers the ability to name your own goal if you don’t see one listed that you like.  I should also mention that stickK.com is completely free and easy to use.  What are you waiting for??  Go make a commitment!  Get motivated today.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2008 in Weight Loss

 

7 responses to “Motivation for Losing Weight

  1. Heather of the EO

    September 26, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Maybe this would help me. I’m so good at making commitments, but not so good at following through! ugh.

     
  2. Renée aka Mekhismom

    September 26, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    How unique. I posted about working on my weight today too. I also have a commitment partner. I haven’t heard of Stick it before what a great idea.

     
  3. scary mommy

    September 27, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Very cool idea!! I, too, need to drop 20 pounds. Money going to McCain might just be the kick in the ass I need. Off to check it out…

     
  4. psychmamma

    September 28, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Heather –
    Me too! The good news is that if you have a consequence (like the StickK wager), you’re much more likely to follow through.

    Renee –
    A commitment/accountability partner is another fantastic way to go. Adding a consequence (like the wager) just helps a little more. Good luck with your goals! I’ll keep watching your posts to hear about your progress.

    Scary Mommy –
    Good luck! Hope you find the motivation you’re looking for!

     
  5. jen

    October 1, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    this is an awesome idea…thanks for sharing…
    i’m in the baby weight loss period of my life as well…and i kinda think that an anti-charity might just be what i need to get my butt in gear.
    if you need extra support…i’m here…
    i know i’ll need all the support i can get…especially with winter around the corner. ick.

     
  6. psychmamma

    October 2, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Jen – Thanks! I love your blog and am adding you to my blogroll! Support is always a good thing. If you sign up for StickK, let me know and we can “hook up” as supporters for each other! Even if you don’t do StickK, I’ll give you any support I can! Good luck!

     
  7. Sam Espinosa

    October 15, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Hi PsychMamma,

    My name is Sam Espinosa, Director of Marketing at stickK.com. I read your post and am thrilled to hear that stickK is working for you. We are a young company, and it’s always great to hear that we have helped people achieve even their most elusive goals. I want to wish you luck in completing your Commitment!

    Also, I thought it may interest you that stickK is stepping up its efforts to help get out the vote for the 2008 Presidential election. By encouraging voters across the country to engage in political activism, we hope to make this year’s election record the highest participation in history. If you have the ability to reach others looking to get involved in the political process, you can encourage them to make a commitment to vote, canvass, phone bank, or even donate.

    If you have any question, comments or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at sam@stickk.com. Also, I’d be happy to become a supporter for your Commitment! Just add my email address.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

     

Leave a Reply

 
