RSS

Mental Lists

21 Sep

I used to be able to make mental lists of things I needed to get when I was out shopping.  “Used to” as in before I had a baby and my brain turned to mush.  Because, now?  It just doesn’t work.  Sometimes, it works to put things ON the list, but even that is questionable and certainly not dependable enough for everyday use.  The bigger problem, however, is getting things OFF the list.  Like plastic wrap and spaghetti sauce.  Somehow, they got on my mental list, and EVERY time I’m out shopping I think, “Oh yeah!  I need plastic wrap.  And spaghetti sauce.”  I came home tonight after a Target trip, and was putting things away in the pantry.  I now have 4 large jars of spaghetti sauce and 4 boxes of plastic wrap.  I am not even kidding.  In case of Apocalypse (Lahdeedah), we can smear spaghetti sauce on crackers and wrap ourselves with Cling Wrap to keep warm.  Or wrap our leftover sauce crackers up for yummy freshness the next day.  Whatever.  I’m prepared.  Sort of.

No more mental lists for me.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2008 in Random Fun, Stream of consciousness

 

6 responses to “Mental Lists

  1. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle

    September 21, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Sounds yummy – not!!

    I am worthless without a list anymore. 🙂

     
  2. Emily

    September 22, 2008 at 1:31 am

    I am sitting here laughing at this because I have fallen into the same scenario (my husband is wondering what is going on with me right now – so funny). I used to remember things so well too! I am way too distracted now. I will go over and over what I need to get, usually forget a few important things and always seem to get an over abundance of items I don’t really need. 😉

     
  3. Heather of the EO

    September 22, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Oh. I hear you! This post is hilarious, so relatable! Mush brain stinks! I usually make a nice list and then we lose it about five seconds into the shopping trip. sigh.

     
  4. Maura

    September 22, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    The thing I can never get off my list is paper towel. Keep buying it and buying it, then realize I have WAY too much and stop buying it. Then I run out and start the cycle all over again. Mental lists are dubious, at best.

     
  5. Insta-mom

    September 22, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    For a while, J and I would try to tell each other to remember things so we could always call the other one to remind us. That lasted all of, oh, one trip. If it’s not on paper, I’m not remembering.

     
  6. Susie

    September 22, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Oh Lord my hubs is constantly on me about buying the same thing every time and forgetting other stuf EVERY time. I too buy pasta sauce (plus it’s always a “2 for” so I totally pack the pantry) and also oil. And then I am always forgetting things like toothpaste. Baby brain!

     

Leave a Reply

 
