RSS

Slipping Through My Fingers

18 Sep

So, last night I finally went to see Mamma Mia.  I loved it in a cheesy, fun way.  Really, when you think about any musical, what’s NOT cheesy about the concept that people spontaneously burst into song at random points in their daily lives??  Most people I’ve talked to either loved it or hated it, so if you’re one of the “haters,” I’m sorry to take you back there again.  I personally didn’t “buy” Meryl Streep in this character role (although the woman can SING!), and I wasn’t so impressed with Pierce Brosnan’s singing.  Didn’t take away from the fun of the movie for me though.  I’m sure that the fact that I love ABBA’s music factored into the enjoyment.  Yes, I’m a dork (do people still say “dork?”)

ANYWAY, there was one song in the movie that I didn’t recognize as an ABBA song and figured that they just wrote it in for the movie.  I looked it up on the interwebs when I got home, and – what do you know?! – it IS an ABBA song.  From their last album.  It’s called “Slipping Through My Fingers” and the scene in the movie combined with the lyrics totally had my crying like a baby.  I had to dig up some tissues from my bag.  The idea was that time flies by and those little babies are grown, married, and gone in what seems like a heartbeat.

It’s been a rough week with Jenna this week, and my patience has been worn to a frazzle.  She’s coming down from a grandparent “high” (they were here over the weekend) and struggling with “terrible two/three” typical issues.  But, the lyrics from this song touched my heart and reminded me that there’s so much to cherish, even during these thinking-of-selling-her-to-gypsies phases.  It’s not that I actually forgot that, but when your patience is worn as thin as a French crepe, a little reminding is sometimes in order.  She comes up with some of the craziest, cutest things to say and has the most amazing curiosity and wonderment with discoveries about the world.  I want to remember every little thing, and already have a sense (after only two years) that time is slipping through my fingers.

So, for those of you die-hard ABBA fans who already know this song: sorry to bore you to death.  For those of you who hate ABBA with a passion: you stopped reading this post when you saw the Mamma Mia poster, so never mind.  For those of you who haven’t seen it, or don’t know the lyrics, here they are.  Enjoy.

I’m going to go meditate and mentally prepare myself for more patience-testing tomorrow.  Because I want to remember every moment.  Even the ones creating the gray hairs sprouting from my head at an alarming rate……  She’ll be grown before I know it.

Slipping Through My Fingers – ABBA

Schoolbag in hand
She leaves home in the early morning
Waving goodbye
With an absent-minded smile
I watch her go
With a surge of that well-known sadness
And I have to sit down for a while
The feeling that I’m loosing her forever
And without really entering her world
I’m glad whenever I can share her laughter
That funny little girl

Slipping through my fingers all the time
I try to capture every minute
The feeling in it
Slipping through my fingers all the time
Do I really see what’s in her mind
Each time I think I’m close to knowing
She keeps on growing
Slipping through my fingers all the time

Sleep in our eyes
Her and me at the breakfast table
Barely awake
I let precious time go by
Then when she’s gone
There’s that odd melancholy feeling
And a sense of guilt
I can’t deny
What happened to the wonderful adventures
The places I had planned for us to go
Well some of that we did
But most we didn’t
And why I just don’t know

Slipping through my fingers all the time
I try to capture every minute
The feeling in it
Slipping through my fingers all the time
Do I really see what’s in her mind
Each time I think I’m close to knowing
She keeps on growing
Slipping through my fingers all the time

Sometimes I wish that I could freeze the picture
And save it from the funny tricks of time
Slipping through my fingers –

Schoolbag in hand
She leaves home in the early morning
Waving goodbye with an absent-minded smile

P.S. If you want to hear the song (and aren’t an iTunes or similar subscriber), you can go to youtube.com and search by the title.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2008 in Jenna, Random Fun

 

5 responses to “Slipping Through My Fingers

  1. Amazing Greis...

    September 19, 2008 at 7:46 am

    I LOVED Mamma Mia too!!!!! Yes, it was cheesy, but so much FUN!

     
  2. Auntie Amy

    September 19, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    As a teacher on a Friday, my patience is VERY thin 🙂 Thanks for the reminder. I’ll go listen to my ABBA tape right now!

     
  3. Heather of the EO

    September 19, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    I think about how fast they’ll be gone SO often.

    And wait. WHAT? Mamma Mia is a MOVIE? How out of the loop am I???

     
  4. iMommy

    September 20, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Oh, I’m a sucker for a good musical….

     
  5. Jill

    September 20, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    I, too, was sobbing like a baby during that scene 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
