RSS

Make Your Own Shopping Bag

17 Sep

You’ve all switched to reusable shopping bags now, right??  I have, but I’m always a little sad that the “chic factor” is blatently missing from some of the bags that I purchased through my local grocery.  And then I get a little sadder when I look online for chic options and note the price tag.  Yikes!  Here’s a way to make your own from a a pretty pillowcase, courtesy of another one of my favorite magazines, Body + Soul.  If you don’t have an old pillowcase to repurpose, Goodwill, resale and thrift shops are a great place to look for cheap ones.  You might even find some cool vintage or “retro” looks!  Intimidated by a sewing project??  If I’m even considering taking this on, it’s simple enough for ANYONE to try, trust me.  If you make one, I’d love to see pics of the finished product!  Email them to me (see the “Contact Me” tab above), or if you have a blog and post about it, give me the link in the comments (below).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2008 in Crafts, Going Green, Random Fun

 

4 responses to “Make Your Own Shopping Bag

  1. heatheroftheeo

    September 18, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    In 7th grade home economics, I was assigned to making shorts. Simple. Two holes for legs. One hole for body, right? One leg was the length of capris. The other leg may as well have been a part of a pair of thong undies.

    I wonder if I could try again at age 33 and have success in the name of going green.

    I do feel a bit odd carrying my bright red Target reusable bag as a fashion statement. This is true.

    Thank you for the hope 🙂

     
  2. psychmamma

    September 19, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Heather of the EO –

    Completely cracked me up! Except, for a minute, I thought you were describing ME in 7th grade home ec. Ha!

     
  3. Maura

    September 19, 2008 at 3:19 am

    I may take this one on, too. I know the sewing machine is around here somewhere…

     
  4. kristen

    September 26, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Wow! I see I am not alone in my “wonderful” and ahem creative sewing skills! ~LOL~

     

Leave a comment