RSS

Peace

16 Sep
Photo by Cayusa

The other day, Hubby said something powerful to me.  Something that made me sit up and think.  He’s good at that, this wonderful man that I married.  He’s so much better than me at patience and seeing beyond emotional responses to the bigger picture.  You want to know what it was don’t you?

He said, “I’d much rather stop waiting on Government to make the changes I’d like to see in the world and start making the changes myself.”  Brilliant!  This is why I love this man.  (Well, one of the reasons.  He also gives a wicked backrub).  It’s a little idealistic, but imagine if EVERYONE practiced this policy.  Are you imagining?  Because it’s pretty awesome.

Reality?  Yeah, not everyone WILL do it, but I can dream, right?  Until then, even though we don’t have billions of dollars at our disposal, there are billions of changes we can make with no money or even just a very little bit.  What difference will you make in the world?  While you’re thinking about that, take a moment to watch this video.  I found the link at Cutie Booty Cakes, where she’s asking the same thing.  What will you do to make a difference?

International Peace Day is September 21.  Do something.

“Our lives begin to end the moment we become silent about things that matter”   ~ MLK

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2008 in Global Good Stuff, Stream of consciousness

 

4 responses to “Peace

  1. anymommy

    September 16, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Well said. It’s trying to live the change you want to be. What is that quote? Is it Ghandi or Mother Theresa? Be the change you want to see in the world. I don’t know what I’ll do, most of my charitable focus is on Haiti (thank you for the DM by the way, we were closely following the situation there and I had seen that report, it breaks my heart), but I know there’s more I could do at home too.

     
  2. psychmamma

    September 16, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    AnyMommy –

    Yep – the quote is Gandhi “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” He wasn’t quoting Gandhi, and my words above are just a paraphrase of what he actually said, but the gist is sure Gandhi-esque! What’s happening in Haiti breaks my heart too. Even more because we hear so little about it and so many other places in the world that are hurting and need our help. Instead the (mass) media ponders which celebrity is pregnant again. Sad.

     
  3. Lahdeeda

    September 16, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Be the change you wish to see in the world. I like playing with that saying… but it’s so true. If you try to be what you want the world to be, you’re already positively affecting your small part of the world…

    …and I’m so not interested in celebrity pregnancies… ugh.

     
  4. Renée aka Mekhismom

    September 17, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I love your husband’s words because they are so true. With all of the things going on in the world I would much rather hear about the implementation of changes by candidates then their personal lives. If we all do something – like vote -perhaps we will start to see some real change.

     

Leave a Reply

 
