RSS

Did you know?

03 Sep
Photo by yvettemn

When we remodeled our house, we got a new oven that has an optional convection button. I’ve tried using it before with frustrating results, because recipes don’t factor in temp and time for convection cooking. I finally just gave up and use the oven on its regular setting. Then I came across this information in Real Simple magazine (September 2008):

Convection ovens cook more evenly and 10-20% faster than regular ovens & they do it using lower temperatures. Sounds like a way to save energy AND make great food. What could be better?

The general rule is to drop the recommended temperature by 25º (F) and start checking to see if its done about 3/4 of the way through the recommended cooking time.

FYI: Convection cooking doesn’t usually work well for bakery items like cakes, breads, cupcakes etc. Use the regular setting for baking these items.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2008 in Did you know?, Family

 

4 responses to “Did you know?

  1. Julie

    September 3, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Seems to me like this kind of information should have been provided by the oven manufacturer. What a silly thing not to put with the instructions.

     
  2. Heather of the EO

    September 3, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    You SO have your finger on the pulse of every good little tidbit in the whole world, don’t you? I love it!

     
  3. Insta-mom

    September 3, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Read the same thing…and now I’m proud to say I know how to convect. Not that I’ve had the chance because I refuse to turn my oven on when it’s this hot, but hey, good to know for the winter.

     
  4. psychmamma

    September 4, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Julie –

    Amen to that one.

    Heather –

    I’m the queen of tidbits (self crowned).

    Insta-Mom –

    Is convect a verb?? Because I love it and now have to find more ways to use it! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
