RSS

Try This Tuesday: Shoebox as Memory Storage

26 Aug

Try This Tuesday

This tip doesn’t have to be for parents of special needs kids, but I found that because of Jenna’s extra care, I had even less time to record memories of important milestones. I didn’t want to forget when she said her first word and what it was, funny things she said or did, the arrival of teeth, when she rolled over, sat up, crawled and walked, but there were barely enough hours in the day for me to do all the necessities, let alone take care of this sort of minutia.

So, here’s what I did. I purchased a photo box to keep memories in until I had time to record them in her baby book or scrapbook. A shoe box would work just fine too. I cut note cards in strips because I didn’t need the space of the whole card, and this saved cards and money. I kept the note card strips beside the box in a handy drawer, and whenever an event worth recording occurred, I whipped out a card, jotted the information down, and stashed it in the box. Fast and easy. I still use this system, but the milestones are a little more spaced out at this point. Now, I’m more likely to use it to record funny things she says or does. Or when she goes poop in the potty. Ha!

There’s still a bit of a problem with finding the time to organize those bits and post them into a book….I always seem to be behind in that area, but at least the events are recorded! And, worst case scenario, she’ll have a box of memories to look through one day full of information about her life. So what if they’re not organized neatly in a book?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2008 in Family, Jenna, Parenting tips, Special Needs

 

7 responses to “Try This Tuesday: Shoebox as Memory Storage

  1. Heather

    August 26, 2008 at 2:17 am

    This is what I do too! I have an actual photo storage box, with dividers and preservation qualities from Creative Memories-really a great box, holds TONS of pics. But i too have yet to put many in an actual album. I figure, at least they’re preserved and somewhat organized! Great tip!

     
  2. CanCan

    August 26, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Good idea! At least the scraps will later help you remember more, if you do want to go back and make a book. Like when she is in college or something. 🙂

     
  3. Julie

    August 26, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I love it! I should really do this. I have Daniel’s first year all scrapbooked…but now he’s 5 and I have scraps of paper stashed in different places all over the house, picture files on the computer, artwork here and there. You get the picture. All those things need a place until I can get to them! Thanks for this!

     
  4. susanlindgren

    August 26, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Yeah I struggle with this too…lots of photo pre digital days

     
  5. Bitsy

    August 26, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    A great idea!

     
  6. Danette

    August 27, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Great idea! Most of my pics are digital these days but I do have a box full of them from before I got my digital camera :).

     
  7. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle

    August 28, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    I really like this idea. I have started writing down some of the things my son says because they are so funny, and it would be good to have a place to put them!

     

Leave a Reply

 
