RSS

Homemade chalk paint

21 Aug

Amy at Mom Advice has a weekly post called “Notebook Experiments” where she tries out crafts or recipes that she listed in her Notebook.  Her weekly Notebook post links to all kinds of fun crafts, recipes, and activities for families. The last two weeks, she has opened it up for participants, and I decided to give it a whirl. Of course a chance to win a Flip Ultra video camera also factored in to my motivation! *Wink* It’s been on my wish list for 6 months now, and I will flip out (sorry) if I win it! If you haven’t heard about this camera yet, you’ve got to follow the link and check it out.

We decided to try the “recipe” from Whatever for homemade sidewalk chalk from Amy’s 7/31 Notebook.

The recipe is easy: equal parts cornstarch and water then add food coloring.

I didn’t have much cornstarch on hand, so we only made one color today. We’ll branch out into multi-colored sidewalk art another day. Jenna picked blue for the color she wanted to make and she helped mix it up. Here she is happily mixing:

We got a little too much water in the mix (Jenna thought it needed more) and found that it took a LOT of food coloring. Our first batch dried looking mostly white, so we added even more food coloring. The second batch looked more blue, but still not “bright.” Here’s a picture showing the whiter looking first batch with the blue batch beside it:

Notice that she’s writing a “J” in the bluer paint next to the white “J” that I modeled for her. Yay Jenna! Finally, here’s a pic I had to include because it shows her painting area, as well as what I call the cute, toddler squat:

Just out of curiosity, when we were finished I tried another “recipe” I had for sidewalk chalk paint from Parents magazine. It simply called for crushing up regular sidewalk chalk, adding water, mixing and painting. This mixture painted much more brightly but didn’t wash up as easily. It also still requires that you PURCHASE sidewalk chalk, while the first method saves some bucks. Bottom line: kiddos don’t care about how bright the color is. Jenna loves painting with plain old water! The color was an added “thrill,” but she thought the white-looking first batch was just as cool as the blue second batch. It’s all about the experience.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2008 in Jenna, Random Fun

 

6 responses to “Homemade chalk paint

  1. Amy

    August 21, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Oh, what a fun experiment! I was going to try both of those methods (after I read about the other in Parents Magazine) so it is great that you did the experiment and now I can try both with them too.

    I was thinking I would pick some of that cornstarch up at Sam’s Club. It seems almost all of the kid recipes have cornstarch in them. It isn’t something I use a lot in my cooking, but would be great for stuff like this!

    Thank YOU for participating- loved it!

     
  2. psychmamma

    August 21, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Amy –

    Thanks for reminding me where I saw the hint about crushed sidewalk chalk!! I could not remember for the life of me. I tell you, my brain is a muddled mess more often than not these days. I need to edit the original entry to give credit where it’s due.

    Anyway, we had a great time trying both methods. Thanks for the encouragement to give it a try!

     
  3. Rachel

    August 21, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Looks like fun! My daughter is too little for this, but I will have to keep it in mind!

     
  4. psychmamma

    August 21, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Rachel –

    We had a blast and it was super-easy. Definitely keep it in mind for “someday”

     
  5. tlk

    August 22, 2008 at 9:57 am

    We’ve been using the corn starch paint all summer, and it washes off of clothes, the dog, etc., as easily as it comes off the sidewalk.

    Another tip: We bought some small bowls at Target in the dollar section so we can split the paint up and make lots of colors. We keep the bowls, corn starch, food coloring, and some other items in a “science” box in the closet. It’s much easier than rooting around the kitchen every time E wants to paint.

     
  6. psychmamma

    August 22, 2008 at 11:59 am

    TLK –

    Brilliant! I think I shall steal your idea. Oh, wait – since you shared it, it’s not stealing is it? 🙂 Seriously, great system for organizing . Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
