RSS

Dinner Reservations

20 Aug
Photo by Crocidillicus

I’m so excited! I’ve been invited to two virtual dinner parties by two fantastic blogger mammas! First, Insta-Mom tagged me for her party, then iMommy sent me an e-vite to hers. Yay! I have friends! That means it’s my turn to host 10 of my favorite bloggers for dinner at my place. Except, just like the two who invited me, I don’t so much cook. I actually love to cook, I just rarely find want to take the time to do it, and would much prefer taking the stress-free route of dinner reservations. So I’m making dinner reservations for all of us at my favorite restaurant, Food Dance. Their menu is fabulous and they feature fresh, organic ingredients. You’ll love it, I promise. And it’s my treat, so how can you resist?

So here’s my guest list and the reasons I chose who I did. Take a few minutes to click on the links and I bet you’ll want to invite them to dinner too!

Jenna & Mark from Sweet Fine Day because Jenna’s a designer (tips please!) and Mark is a pastry chef (dessert please!). The photography on their site makes me drool almost daily, and I love reading about their family life with two gorgeous girls.

Mom Most Traveled because I LOVE living vicariously through the travel of others, and this Mommy’s been to some fabulous places.

Insta-Mom because I agree with her philosophy of motherhood, she has even more bizarre-o Google search connections than I do, and because she grew up in a clothing-optional hippie commune in the forests of Northern California. How could there BE a better conversation starter??

iMommy because she too finds some of the messages behind children’s shows disturbing, she shared the story of her initiation into parenthood, she gives her kid popsicles and cake, and because she wrote this awesome post using a butterfly analogy. She also claims we hate many of the same things, so we’d have a lot to gripe about.

Stacey from Is There Any Mommy Out There? because she can make me laugh hysterically one day and cry my eyes out the next, I can hear her heart in her words, and so often we share very similar thoughts and opinions. I think I could talk to her for hours.

Monica from Healthy Green Moms because I want to be as green and healthy as she is and maybe she’ll share some tips and because we agree on the topic of vaccinations and that doesn’t happen very often for me.

Lisa from Diapers and Wine because of shared aversion to (living) fowl (we’d probably both eat some – I have to ask her), and an agreement on the kooky handling of subject matter in many children’s programs, and what we would do if our kids threatened to run away.

Mama Ginger Tree from Adventures in the Candy Cane Forest because she writes things that touch my heart, she had the courage to do something (twice!) that I’d love to do but am a huge wimp about, and because she let me into her living room and it made me feel like home.

Backpacking Dad (or you can call him TPS) because I think we need a little testosterone in the mix, I’d love to hear the parenting perspective from a daddy (besides my own Hubs, of course), and he really hooked me with this post. Oh – and I’m inviting him even though his dinner party was for men only.

Mimi Smartypants because her posts crack me up EVERY SINGLE TIME! But she can’t come right now because she has whooping cough, and propagating a highly infectious disease does not make for a good dinner party.

AJ from Thingamababy because he’s a writer and photographer, work-from-home dad who would add another interesting male perspective to the mix. Plus, I love his sense of humor and he comes up with the most creative contests. His site is also credited with being the first parenting site I routinely visited and the inspiration for launching my own.

Yes, I chose more than the 10 guests that the rules specify. More Than A Minivan Mom is probably furious. But, hey – I was tagged by two people, so that should actually give me the right to invite 20 people right?? So, chill out, you finger-wagging, rule-abiding, fellow bloggers out there. It’s my party, and I’ll “cheat” if I want to.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2008 in Blog Links, Random Fun

 

11 responses to “Dinner Reservations

  1. Marinka

    August 20, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Yeah, none of them can make it, so I’m coming instead. Don’t worry, though, I’ll eat and drink enough for all of them, so your preparations won’t go to waste. No need to thank me! Oh, if you insist. A small present will do nicely. I’ll register for it to make it easier for you!

     
  2. psychmamma

    August 20, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Marinka –

    Hey – I technically haven’t reached the 20 guests I feel I’m entitled to, so come on over! And let me know where you’re registered.

     
  3. Insta-mom

    August 20, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Um…excuse me, Marinka, but I think that’s MY wine you’re holding. Because free food?…I’m so.not.missing.it.

    Thanks for the invite PsychMamma.

     
  4. Monica

    August 20, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Yay! I can’t remember when I last attended a dinner party….at least 16 months ago!
    This means I need to find something to wear. No sweat pants?
    And I’m feeling naughty. It’s not often that I get to shake it..oh! No wait, it’s dinner. Never mind.
    OK, so lets order double dessert and another bottle of wine.
    No health tip’s tonight!
    I love you for inviting me, you made my day 🙂

     
  5. CanCan

    August 20, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Woohoo! What’s for dinner?
    I’m a vegetarian, just so you know. Fondue sounds fun.
    Also: many things related to brownies!

    It’s my turn to say, “Yay! I have friends!”

     
  6. psychmamma

    August 20, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Monica –

    Sweat pants are fine, and you can shake it if you want. Double dessert sounds fabulous and the wine’s on me! So glad you’re coming.

    CanCan –

    Food Dance has vegetarian and vegan dishes, so you’re in luck. They also have a decadent chocolate dessert called “The Cat’s Meow” It makes me “meow” every time. Glad you can make it!

     
  7. anymommy

    August 20, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    On my way over! Don’t let Marinka have my chair! Oh, all right, I’ll share it with her. I’m feeling all nice like that because I got invited to a party. I need a party or two this week, so this dinner party idea has been wonderful. Thanks!

     
  8. Amy

    August 21, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Somehow my invite must have been lost in the mail. What I do in these cases is just bring a bottle of wine and put on my sweetest smile and lure myself in the door. In some cases, a keg of beer is also needed, but I bet it won’t be that kind of party 🙂

    So fun!

     
  9. psychmamma

    August 21, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    AnyMommy –

    I think someone should have a dinner party EVERY week! Give us all something to look forward to. Oh, and…we should be invited to all of them, right? 😉

    Amy –

    Arrgh! See! THIS is the bad thing about parties – there are always people who you forget to invite!! The good new is, I LOVE crashers! There’s plenty of room! Come on over. You don’t even have to bring the wine. On second thought, Marinka might want it….

     
  10. Mama Ginger Tree

    August 21, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    That sounds like a fantastic line up. Thanks for the invite! I would love to have dinner with you. Maybe someday we can do it for real.

     
  11. NewssyLee

    September 5, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Thanks to you

     

Leave a Reply

 
