RSS

Potty Training

18 Aug

It is with serious dread and trepidation that I am here to inform you that potty training commences tomorrow. We have a relatively quiet week with not much planned away from home, so it’s perfect timing to “batten down the hatches.” I’m rolling up the rugs, and heading out to purchase some prizes, pull-ups and tarps (ha!). Do they sell patience at Target?? I think I’m going to need to stock up.

We’re actually going to use “training pants” here at home, and just use pull-ups for when we have to be out and about where a bathroom might not be readily available. Jenna’s totally psyched about her new “grown-up” underwear and her princess potty seat (above), so hopefully they provide some good incentive. She loves stickers, so I’m stocking up. I’m making a “Potty Party” chart and we’ll log each success with a sticker. At first, three successes will earn a prize, and we’ll gradually extend the number of successes required to cash in. Since Jenna hates sweets, we don’t have the usual advantage of bribery rewarding with candy, BUT…she DOES love popcorn, so I think I’ll stock up on that too. Food in general isn’t a big reinforcer for her, however, so I need to have more goodies in my arsenal than that. Why do I seriously feel like I’m preparing for battle?? In all honesty, I’ve been putting this off, not so much because I didn’t think Jenna was ready, but more because I KNEW I wasn’t ready. Jenna has now started to suddenly stand still and announce, “I’m pooping, Mommy!” (although she resists any gentle suggestions to move to the potty) and she wants her diaper changed IMMEDIATELY when she’s finished. My little neat freak HATES being messy. All good signs that she’s ready, but I feel my shoulder muscles bunching with tension when I even think about it and I think I’m developing an eye twitch. Sigh. I’ll be very glad when this stage is over.

If you’re wondering, “Why all the nervousness?” check out this hilarious story from Is There Any Mommy Out There? If that’s not enough to make you very afraid of potty training, give this one a try.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2008 in Jenna, Potty Training

 

7 responses to “Potty Training

  1. Insta-mom

    August 18, 2008 at 4:01 am

    That picture totally needs to be saved to show to the first high school boyfriend.

     
  2. psychmamma

    August 18, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Insta – Mom –

    Ha! Fabulous idea!

     
  3. iMommy

    August 18, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Oh god, potty training.

    We’re starting soon, too, and I’m petrified.

    Where did you get all your good ideas? 🙂 Share the love, my friend!

     
  4. psychmamma

    August 18, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    iMommy –

    In grad school I assisted with research on potty training kids with autism based on behavioral theory (in a nutshell: immediate reinforcement for desired/good behavior). I have lots of good ideas from that. We also have the book “Lift the Lid, Use the Potty!” that I got the idea of the chart from. Maybe I should just do another post on some of these ideas – my bloggy wheels are turning…..

     
  5. Auntie Amy

    August 18, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Good luck! At least she likes flushing things already. That’s a bonus “party” if she is successful.

    I laughed out loud at the linked story from Is There Any Mommy Out There? Sounds like something I would do. 🙂

    Amy

     
  6. anymommy

    August 19, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Good luck! Just remember, all those horror stories involve my sons. My daughter trained in one day and hasn’t looked back.

     
  7. denise @ EatPlayLove

    August 20, 2008 at 4:23 am

    ooh best of luck, we are on the cusp of training my youngest. My first was a breeze, so I fear this one may give me a run for my money!

     

Leave a Reply

 
