RSS

100 Most Common Words

15 Aug
Photo by nicasaurusrex

Can you name the 100 most commonly used words in the English language in five minutes? I found this link over at Figments of a Mom and was instantly sucked into the random fun. I (sadly) scored 47. I even tried doing it over again (many times) and briefly improved my score slightly, only to have it actually DECREASE on subsequent tries. Maybe because of how late it is? Maybe because my brain has a limit on its storage capacity and right now it’s full of nursery rhymes, Raffi songs, and cartoon character names. Ha! Be forewarned: the site is potentially addictive.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2008 in Random Fun

 

11 responses to “100 Most Common Words

  1. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle

    August 15, 2008 at 1:26 am

    I saw this yesterday and got 42; today I got 49. I was surprised I couldn’t increase my score very much either!

     
  2. denise @ EatPlayLove

    August 15, 2008 at 2:14 am

    You should check out Elizabeth Mitchell, it’s some really fun kid (mom’s love) music!!! I can’t wait to check out the link.

     
  3. psychmamma

    August 15, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Denise –

    I LOVE Elizabeth Mitchell! Some of my favorite kid’s stuff. Unfortunately, not Jenna’s – yet. 🙂

     
  4. tlk

    August 15, 2008 at 3:23 am

    41. Sadly, I accidentally closed my browser before I was able to study the ones I missed. I think I’ll try again tomorrow after some sleep. That has to help, right?

     
  5. Insta-mom

    August 15, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Totally addictive.

     
  6. psychmamma

    August 15, 2008 at 3:52 am

    TLK –

    Sleep is definitely a big plus. I gotta go get me some SOON.

    Insta-Mom –

    Told ya. 🙂

     
  7. Diapers and Wine

    August 15, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Oh. My. God. I’m an English major. Word quizzes are my crack-cocaine. I’ll never get anything done now, ever!

    Your comment over at my place made me snort milk out my nose – “justified fowlicide…” BWAHAHAHA!!

     
  8. mysticall

    August 15, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Hey – thanks for the link back. Nice blog! Will be back for a visit.

     
  9. iMommy

    August 15, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    30. Pathetic!

    ** sigh **

    You know, I thought I was smart till you crushed my world with this website!

     
  10. psychmamma

    August 17, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Diapers and Whine –

    Hopefully you were able to pry your fingers away from your keyboard and this website and your family is not suffering your loss as a result of my post. 🙂

    P.S. Stay away from turkeys

    Mysticall –

    Thanks for the original link! I’m STILL having fun with it!

    iMommy –

    Maybe it’s all that Noggin and Wonder Pets cluttering up your brain….

     
  11. Jenny

    August 25, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Ugh, I think I need to be the one going back to school! I only got 38! Thanks for the fun link!

     

Leave a Reply

 
