RSS

When did this happen?

07 Aug

Jenna wanted to wash her hands today because they were (invisibly) “ucky.” We got the stool situated, she climbed up, I turned on the water, and….I suddenly realized that her little hands now reach under the water while she’s standing on her stool without me having to lift her. I also noticed that her hands are losing their baby pudge and now look like a little girl’s hands. I swear this happened overnight. What happened to my baby?

Even though I miss that snuggly little baby, this stage is SO much fun (usually). Watching her learn to do things independently and seeing that proud smile of accomplishment – awesome! Hearing the totally goofy but sometimes profound things she comes up with from her exploding vocabulary – hilarious and wonderful! Being given a peek inside her unique heart and mind since she can now tell me what’s going on – absolutely priceless! I love getting to know the little lady who’s emerging.

Right now she’s telling me, “I need a wittle PWI-vacy” as she shuts the bathroom door. Yep. Definitely growing up, I think with a smile and just a hint of sadness.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2008 in Jenna

 

2 responses to “When did this happen?

  1. Laura

    August 7, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    How old is she? My little princess is two and a half, exactly tomorrow! I still call her my baby, but she reminds me, “I’m not a baby, I’m a big girl!”

     
  2. psychmamma

    August 7, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Laura –

    She’s two and a half going on 12 I think. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
