RSS

Michigan Pics

07 Aug

Did you miss me for the month we were in northern Michigan at my parents’? You did, didn’t you? Well, we had a fantastic time, and Jenna got completely spoiled by the Grands, but we’re also glad to be home. Due to the ungodly, prehistorically slow dial-up internet service, I didn’t post many pictures. Fifteen minutes to download one pic to Flickr – I kid you not. There must be a lot of patient souls up there in the north. But I digress. I thought I’d post a few of my favorites for your browsing pleasure today.

The one thing that I still can’t get over is how beautiful the sky is up there. Almost every day it was a gorgeous blue and full of big, fluffy clouds. Today, while I was running errands, I realized how very solid gray and sad our sky was, and how frequently it looks that way. Check out the sky in all these pics that were taken on different days:

Road to parents’ house

Pine trees and sky

Afternoon at the lake

Lake view

Sunflower and sky

Old outhouse in garden

Here are some photos of miscellaneous wildlife that Jenna and I couldn’t resist (Jenna particularly loved the frogs).

Beautiful weed

Frogs and lily pads

And finally, here are some photos from our day at the farm of some family friends. Jenna has absolutely no fear of animals of any kind, and particularly fell in love with the miniature horse foal named “Phoebe.”

Mama & baby

No fear

Feeding Phoebe

New friend

“This way!”

Going for a walk

Hunting for eggs

Peeking at Baby

Just keep that thing away from Mamma

Feeding the flock – one bread crumb at a time

Let me just assure you that I wasn’t anywhere near those chickens (see number 10 here) and had to fight the rising panic when she got so close and then (Aaack!) carried one around. No need to instill the irrational Mommy-fears in someone so innocent and brave. I was so proud of my little farm girl.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2008 in Jenna, Travel

 

3 responses to “Michigan Pics

  1. iMommy

    August 7, 2008 at 1:42 am

    Wow, great pictures! Where’d you get all those mad photo skillz?

    (just kidding. I don’t talk like that. Really. Please believe me!)

     
  2. Deborah

    August 7, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    These pictures are wonderful! I want to go there!

     
  3. denise @ EatPlayLove

    August 10, 2008 at 4:12 am

    what great pics, can I come next time? We skipped out on our obligatory trip to visit the family in NY. I feel a bit disappointed about it now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
