RSS

Frugal-ness

06 Aug

Guess what I figured out at Target today? (BESIDES that I shouldn’t go there any more often than necessary because I always want to buy things that I don’t really need.)

It’s significantly cheaper to buy a t-shirt and leggings/pants than to buy a pajama set. Why did I not realize this before? The Dora pajama set (that attracted Jenna like a magnet) was $12.99 for the short sleeved top and long pants set. Instead, I bought a very cute (and soft) t-shirt for $2.99 and leggings for $4.99.

Eight dollars instead of thirteen is nothing to sneeze at, but I know I can do even better in the future. If it wouldn’t have been a pajama “emergency,” I would have shopped around or waited to find a t-shirt and leggings at a garage sale, resale shop or on final clearance. This time, because Jenna has suddenly sprouted out of just about everything, I didn’t have the luxury of shop-around time.

Oh! Did I forget to mention our big news? How could I forget? Jenna now weighs 26 pounds and is 36 inches tall! From January of 2007 until April of this year, she hovered right around 20 pounds and we just couldn’t get her past that point. In a little over six months, she’s gained six pounds. I think a celebration is in order! Too bad Hubby and I would be the only ones eating the cake, since she still isn’t eating anything by mouth (and hates sweets), ’cause WE don’t need to be gaining any more weight. In fact, I’m trying to figure out a way to give her some of mine…

And for a taste of her current cuteness with her blossoming verbal abilities: as we shopped around the store, she would repeatedly yell, “Wait! Did you see that? Did you SEE that?? YOU’RE MISSING IT!! Go BACK!!” Good times.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2008 in Jenna, Parenting tips

 

4 responses to “Frugal-ness

  1. iMommy

    August 6, 2008 at 2:33 am

    LOL, sounds just like shopping with my daughter, except slightly less coherent. (She’s 2 as well, just this June, and is working on getting her sentences together)

    She loves her some Dora… although, not the TV show, strangely – just the figurines. Particularly Boots. We watch the show in occassion – really like twice a week – and from that she has developed this little obsession with Dora dolls and clothes… lol.

    We just recently “discovered” consignment shopping, which has not only yielded some great Dora purchases, but also various other things as well. Amazing! Mommy even got a new purse 🙂 $4. Can’t beat it!

     
  2. psychmamma

    August 6, 2008 at 2:51 am

    iMommy –

    Give her about 6 months for the sentences. Jenna will be three in January, so she’s got about 6 months on your little one. Her speech has just been exploding exponentially. A couple weeks ago I sighed in exhaustion and exclaimed to my mom, “She never. Stops. Talking.” It’s a hoot though. I love this stage and hearing all the crazy things she comes up with.

    We don’t even have TV, and Jenna’s still obsessed with Dora and Diego (she actually likes Diego a little better). She got hooked on them at Grandma & Grandpa’s house. Now that we’re home, she’s pretty bummed out.

     
  3. denise @ EatPlayLove

    August 6, 2008 at 4:55 am

    congrats on the weight milestone. I have a skinny daughter and weight is always in the back of the neurotic part of my mind. It must be a relief.

    Nana is in charge of buying pj’s, so I never do. My girls are lucky ducks.

    And with the heat lately, the girls sleep a lot in big t-shirts! It’s the best.

     
  4. anymommy

    August 6, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I’ve noticed this at target too. (I love Target, it’s a little wrong.) Yay for Jenna and her growth spurt – that is wonderful. Hey, did you check out Bridges from my site or All Mediocre today? I’m not sure if they are still looking for contributing editors on special needs, but you would be fabulous!

     

Leave a Reply

 
