RSS

50 Things I Hate

04 Aug

As promised – the sequel….

Disclaimer: If you have or do any of these, “Good on you!” as the Aussies say. I have nothing against you as a person. I might not like the “thing” but can still like the person. Plus, if we were all the same, it’d be a pretty boring world.

Photo by dumbledad
  1. Toe socks
  2. Sauerkraut
  3. Battery compartments that require screws
  4. Whining
  5. Health insurance nonsense
  6. Cigarette smoke
  7. Excessive swearing
  8. Humidity
  9. Lying
  10. Discrimination/prejudice
  11. Camping
  12. Reunions
  13. Hair removal (waxing, shaving, plucking, etc.)
  14. Body odor
  15. Undies that creep and bunch
  16. Spiders
  17. Litter
  18. Excessive lace and flowers
  19. Lack of turn signal usage
  20. Cell phone contracts
  21. Caviar
  22. Fish (the still swimming kind – on my plate they’re delish!)
  23. “Chopper” motorcycles
  24. Telemarketing phone calls
  25. Diet soda
  26. Fake fingernails
  27. Public restroom doors that don’t latch
  28. Stiletto heels
  29. Pierced tongues
  30. Smart people acting stupid on purpose
  31. Funerals
  32. Nuts in cookies or brownies
  33. Gory horror movies
  34. Shopping carts with bad wheels
  35. Yo Gabba Gabba (except for when they show actual kids dancing – hee-larious!)
  36. Dial-up internet service
  37. Swimming
  38. Running (#37 + #38 = no triathlon for me!)
  39. Wal Mart
  40. Mosquitoes
  41. Exhibition farting (Have a husband? Brothers? You know what I’m talking about.)
  42. Unflushed toilets
  43. Droopy socks
  44. Curling irons
  45. Bad breath
  46. Haiku (Sorry “Haiku Friday” peeps)
  47. Cream of Wheat
  48. Clutter
  49. Tapioca
  50. The vibrating noise my refrigerator is making & my husband won’t address
 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2008 in Random Fun

 

9 responses to “50 Things I Hate

  1. Insta-Mom

    August 4, 2008 at 4:19 am

    If I ever start to swear excessively, please don’t stop reading. I only do it occassionally. Still love me because I also hate Yo Gabba Gabba, haiku, and running. Passionately hate running. And tapioca. Ew.

     
  2. tlk

    August 4, 2008 at 10:09 am

    You hate camping so much you listed it twice? Actually, I think that means you’ve only listed 49 things you hate . . .

    And is it sleeping on the ground that you hate? Because cabin camping can be very fun.

     
  3. iMommy

    August 4, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Thank GOD — I thought I was the only hater in a sea of Yo Gabba Gabba loving parents 🙂

     
  4. psychmamma

    August 4, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Insta-Mom –

    Promise to not stop reading! I love your writing, and I think we’ve got too much in common for any swearing to get in the way. And I actually don’t mind a well-placed swear word for emphasis. 🙂

    TLK –

    Oops! Didn’t know camping was there twice. So much for proof reading at late hours with not enough sleep. I corrected it and added a new “hate” at #50. And, no, it wasn’t a reflection of how much I hate camping. If there’s a bed and plumbing involved, I’ll give it a go. It’s the sleeping on the ground and no plumbing or campground facilities that don’t work for me.

    iMommy –

    You are definitely NOT alone. Insta-Mom is at least one more on the list of people asking, “What is UP with DJ Lance??”

     
  5. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle

    August 5, 2008 at 11:34 am

    I love this list – I may have to do one of my own! We ate Cream of Wheat every morning for a large chunk of our childhood (me and my brothers). Haven’t touched it since. 🙂

     
  6. anymommy

    August 5, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Very, very fun. And well, you know I’m with you on spiders. Also curling irons. Don’t get me started on nuts in brownies, cookies or even ice cream. Defiled! Ruined! Wasted!

     
  7. Minivan mom

    August 6, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Ha. Fun to read – I’m with you more than I’m not. Although how can you hate swimming? Weightlessness and not needing to give the kids baths that night = best sport ever. And I hate camping too. And Walmart is the devil.

     
  8. psychmamma

    August 6, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Minivan Mom –

    My mom’s theory about the swimming thing is that I had perpetual, horrible ear infections as a small child, which resulted in tubes in my ears. My mom was constantly telling me to not get water in my ears, and somehow, I got terrified of my head being underwater, water on my face and water in my ears. Didn’t learn to swim until 8th grade & HATED the lessons. I’m also slightly phobic about creepy living things in lakes, ponds and oceans. I can see why OTHERS might love swimming – I just don’t. Obviously we have many other “hates” in common, so we can still be friends. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
