RSS

My Little Shopper

30 Jul

Jenna and I are still in northern Michigan (we’ll head home in one week).  Tonight we decided to go into town to eat dinner.  We told Jenna we were going to eat, but in the car on the way, she became determined that we were going to the farmer’s market.  I asked her what she wanted to buy at the market, and she thought a minute and said, “Shoes!”  A girl after my own heart.  We got to the restaurant, and Jenna became distressed.  “No!  NO! Not eat!  I want to go to the farmer’s market!”  In a teary voice filled with despair she said, “I want to buy shoes!”  And so it begins….  She settled down when I promised her we would go shop for shoes another day. 

Last week, my sister came up to my parents’ house.  Jenna is loving all this attention.  I have a feeling I’m going to be in for a small slice of hell when we get home, and the attention level drastically drops, but I’ll just let her eat it up while she can.  Anyhoo, the girls, (my mom, sister, Jenna and I) drove to the outlet mall (one hour away).  Jenna is quite the shopper.  She pulls out clothes from the rack and says, “Look at this! This is NIIICE.”  She refused to get in the stroller the whole time and walked the entire length of the mall.

The grand finale of the shopping trip was Jenna’s purchase of a beautiful patent pink purse with a black bow, compliments of “Gammaw”.  She picked it herself.  She walked right over to it, put it on her arm, and said, “This one is for Jenna.”  So much for limiting the pinkness, glitter, froo-froo and fluff.  My little girl’s all over it like white on rice.  Sigh.  She’s in love and SO proud of her little bag.  Papa asked her what it’s for and she responded (without hesitation), “To put money in.  I need money.”  You go girl.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “My Little Shopper

  1. iMommy

    July 30, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Oh, so cute! She’s clever, too — got Grandma & Grandpa eating out of her little glitter be-speckled hand!

     
  2. Monica

    July 30, 2008 at 2:34 am

    Very Cute! What a doll!
    I have a feeling my little girl one is going to be all glitz and glam as well. And to think that the first time I wore pink was while I was pregnant. Hmm…

     
  3. Green and Clean Mom

    July 30, 2008 at 2:59 am

    Where are you in NM? Email me sommer at greenandcleanmom dot org! I’m there too! LOL!

     
  4. psychmamma

    July 30, 2008 at 3:54 am

    iMommy –

    I think she’s secretly got all of us just where she wants us…. I like to think I’m in charge, but sometimes I realize she’s more clever than I give her credit for!

    Monica –

    I really have no clue about the pink and frilly factor. I have to admit that it’s not bugging me as much as I thought it would. I just want her to be confident in herself. If it’s a pink and frilly self, I’ll get used to it (maybe with a few internal cringes). It’s just fun to watch them develop their own personality and weird to think, “Where did that come from??” sometimes

    Sommer –

    Emailed you! Maybe we’re neighbors right now and didn’t even know it! Ha!

     
  5. Awake

    July 31, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Besides being a cutie pie, Jenna is one smart cookie. 🙂

    My daughter was trying on my jewlery (without my nudging, must just be imitation) by 11 months!

     
  6. Beth/Mom2TwoVikings

    July 31, 2008 at 10:12 am

    As a confirmed tomboy who still only wears makeup once a week to church, my 4-yr-old daughter’s fascination with makeup, purses, and dresses is a real stumper! LOL

    And, we’re heading upstate soon as well! Save us some beautiful views! *wink*

     
  7. psychmamma

    August 1, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Beth –

    Don’t think there’s any way all of the beautiful views up here could get “used up.” Hope you enjoy your trip as much as we have!

     
  8. anymommy

    August 1, 2008 at 2:57 am

    Okay, that shirt is absolutely adorable and so is she! A shopper. Trouble. I have never been much of a shopper so I almost hope one of my kids love it. Then, maybe I won’t wait until everything I own is two years old before I hit some stores. Hey – thanks for the DM today, we had a great birthday. I can’t reply in my email and twitter hasn’t been loading for me today.

     
  9. psychmamma

    August 1, 2008 at 3:22 am

    AnyMommy –

    Thanks! I got that shirt at a resale shop, if you can believe it!

    And, “Trouble” is right! The bigger trouble is that I love shopping but am trying to become a “reformed” shopaholic. In recent years, I’ve come to the realization that shopping just fuels the idea that I “need” something that I really don’t. We’re seriously trying to live more responsibly and to simplify our lives, but the shopper in me still wants out too often! Having such a fun little shopping buddy is NOT going to help anything. I’m going to have to be strong. Lord help me.

    So glad it was a good birthday for Q! I bet the other kids enjoyed it as much as he did!

     

Leave a Reply

 
