RSS

101 Things About Me

26 Jul

Because I know you’re dying to know, here you go.  One hundred and ONE because I just had to be different.  (Now you know something else about me).

Photo by Myrmi
  1. I love snow.  Bring it on.
  2. I’m a PK (preacher’s kid).  My dad is a minister at a Mennonite church.  NO – Mennonite is NOT the same as Amish.
  3. I moved 11 times from my birth to age 18.  I’ve moved 9 times in the last 14 years.  It’s the gypsy in me.
  4. I was always the new/weird/nerd kid.  I think I still am.
  5. I started wearing glasses in 2nd grade.
  6. Until Lasik in 2000.  Hallelujah!
  7. I can play the piano.  Not well.  I played the flute in 5th & 6th grade.  Not well.
  8. I want to learn to play the violin someday.
  9. I had a horrible overbite as a child.  Thanks for forking out some major bucks for braces, Mom and Dad!
  10. I fell & broke my front (permanent) tooth at age 8 while plucking home-butchered chickens in a garage. Yes, you read that right.
  11. I’ve been terrified of chickens and other winged beasts ever since.
  12. I have naturally curly (spiral curls) hair.
  13. I’ve spent most of my life trying to fight and straighten it.  Not any more.
  14. I colored my hair once with disastrous (Ronald McDonald Red) results.
  15. I’ve never had stitches.
  16. I have one younger sister.
  17. I’ve taken flying lessons and know how to take off and land.  HATED practicing stalls.
  18. I have unusually large, narrow feet.  Seriously.
  19. I’m a fast reader and love to read.
  20. Historical fiction is my fave.
  21. I’ve never played organized sports.  I am NOT gifted in this area.
  22. I joined 4-H in my youth.  As much as I begged for a horse, parents insisted I stick with cooking, photography and sewing.
  23. We didn’t have TV until my teen years, and even then it was limited.  I don’t regret it at all.  I’m sure I gave my parents grief at the time.
  24. I believe in God.
  25. I have lots of “hang-ups” with organized religion, probably as a result of all I saw and heard growing up a PK, plus some bad experiences as an adult.
  26. I won a bike in a coloring contest in the 5th grade.
  27. I’ve had a dog as a pet for most of my life.  All sizes.  Mostly “mutts”
  28. I’m 5’8″.  Gangly arms and legs.
  29. I was terrified of putting my head under water until my parents made me take swimming lessons in 8th grade.  Still don’t like swimming.
  30. I have a small moderate huge fear phobia of fish and other creepy lake and ocean things.
  31. I love to do landscaping and flower gardens.  Wish I had more time to do it.
  32. I like to do roofing.  Unless it’s 110°
  33. I HATE humidity.
  34. I don’t sweat.  Sounds great, but when it’s hot, it results in the feeling that my head is going to explode while I simultaneously puke and pass out.
  35. Fall is my favorite season.  Winter comes in a close second.  I love wearing sweatshirts & wool socks.
  36. I love a crackling fire in a fireplace.
  37. I’ve been jet boating in New Zealand.
  38. I love quirky movies like Napoleon Dynamite, Everything is Illuminated, Juno, and The Princess Bride.
  39. I have a “thing” for Scottish accents, history, Sean Connery, etc.
  40. I want to simplify and be more “green” than I currently am.
  41. I’d love to be a more patient person.
  42. I love a good garage sale.
  43. I got married at 18.
  44. Number 43 was a big GINORMOUS mistake (abusive relationship).
  45. Divorced at 24.
  46. I started “spreading wings” and learning about myself at 24.
  47. I learned to golf.  Fairly good at it.  Don’t like it much.
  48. I bought a horse and learned to ride.  LOVE it!
  49. I learned to ice skate.  Love it!  Fantastic exercise for butt and thighs.
  50. I started kick-boxing.  The best!  Great way to pound out frustrations.
  51. I joined a bike racing team (road bikes).
  52. I’ve biked two “centuries.”
  53. I learned to ski.  Hate it.  LOVE the lodge and hot chocolate.
  54. I was a certified radiology technician.
  55. I went to college at 29.
  56. I completed my BA in Psych in 2 years, while working, & with a 3.95 GPA (thanks to *#$&%* Physics)
  57. I love to cook and wish I had more time to do it.
  58. I broke my coccyx at 26 with a fall down stairs that landed my butt on some bricks.  I cried like a baby.
  59. I dated my husband for 6 years before getting married.
  60. He proposed on a beach in Belize under a million stars with a whisper in my ear.  Priceless.
  61. I completed my Master’s in Clinical Psych with a 4.0 GPA.
  62. I presented my thesis research (on autism) at an international conference.
  63. I completed all coursework for my PhD in Clinical Psych with a 4.0 GPA.
  64. I was a professor at a large state university.  OK – TECHNICALLY, I was teaching as part of my graduate assistantship, but my students all called me professor.  I loved it.
  65. I withdrew from the PhD program with only my dissertation and internship remaining in order to be home with Jenna.  Have never regretted it.
  66. I love learning and could easily be “professional student” if the funds were available.
  67. I wish I was better at math.
  68. I wish I could lose the  10 20 pounds that won’t budge since pregnancy.
  69. Hubs says I’m impulsive.  I prefer the term “decisive.”
  70. I want to travel to all 7 continents.  I’ve made it to 3 so far.
  71. I’ve visited Auschwitz.  More sobering than I ever imagined.
  72. I got lost in Venice and it was the best part of the trip.
  73. I’m not a happy camper and much prefer hotel rooms with comfy beds and plumbing.
  74. I have severe endometriosis.  I’m down one ovary as a result.
  75. Pregnancy complications led to 3 months of bedrest.
  76. Polyhydramnios (too much amniotic fluid) led to 3 months of contractions and 3 amnioreductions – a large needle inserted to drain fluid.  Yes, it hurts.
  77. Jenna arrived after 23 hours of labor and 5 – yes FIVE – hours of active pushing.
  78. She wasn’t breathing when she arrived and it was the longest seven minutes of my life.
  79. I’d love to get paid for writing.
  80. I would love to teach at the university level again someday.  I can’t get enough of college campuses.
  81. I wish I understood physics.
  82. I enjoy making jewelry.  Mostly for myself, family and occasional gifts.
  83. I studied in Germany for one semester in undergrad.  Fantastic host family.  Fantastic experience.
  84. I can speak (poorly) a little Spanish (4 years in high school) and a little German (3 years in college).
  85. I’d like to learn to speak both better.
  86. I’m somewhat majorly “anal retentive”.  I prefer to think of it as being organized and neat.
  87. I’m a control freak.
  88. I tend to be more bossy than I would like to be.  Especially with hubs.
  89. I used to be terrified of public speaking and spiders.
  90. I love photography and wish I was better at it.
  91. I love to scrapbook and am considering going digital.  Any input?
  92. I think figuring out discipline strategies is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.  Even WITH a Psych degree.
  93. I value family and friendships more than I ever have in my life.
  94. More often than I would like, things come out of my mouth that I later (or immediately) wish would not have.
  95. I love to shop.  This conflicts with my wish to simplify and reduce consumption.  Ugh.
  96. I once had a pot-bellied pig as a pet.  They’re cuter when they’re babies.
  97. I would love to have someone come in to clean my house once a month.  Maybe twice.
  98. I have limitless respect for single parents.  I do NOT know how they do it.
  99. I never learned how to do a cartwheel.  I don’t feel like less of a person as a result.
  100. I treasure the moments of snuggling with my daughter, unprompted kisses and “Wuv you, Mommy.”
  101. I love to laugh, and I love that my husband can so easily make me do it.

Stay tuned for the post: 50 Things I Love and its sequel: 50 Things I Hate

Happy weekend everyone!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2008 in Random Fun

 

13 responses to “101 Things About Me

  1. denise @ EatPlayLove

    July 26, 2008 at 2:48 am

    I am always amazed when people do these lists, I love them, but just can’t bring myself to complete one.

    And, I am very curious about #76, for I spent the majority of my second pregnancy dehydrated (even though I consumed tons of water), but had “copious” amounts of amniotic fluid when my water broke. It was never ending, I swear niagra falls had nothing on me.

     
  2. Mama Ginger Tree

    July 26, 2008 at 4:15 am

    I love your list! Here are my faves:

    #30 Me too!! I can’t stand fish and anything ocean.

    #33 Amen sister

    #36 The best sound ever

    #39 My husband does a fabulous Sean Connery, it makes me laugh every time

    #53 I’ll hang out in the lodge with you for sure, but you can keep the hot chocolate

    #57 I wish I had more energy to cook

    #59 Me too

    #67 I still add on my fingers

    #90 I want to take a photography class, if only I had the time

    #98 No idea how they do it. I can’t even imagine

     
  3. psychmamma

    July 26, 2008 at 4:34 am

    Denise –

    The extra amniotic fluid in my case was related to Jenna’s birth defect. For some reason, the two go together. Even though they literally drained pounds of fluid off, I was in the same “niagra falls” situation when Jenna was born. I seriously do not know how I didn’t explode.

    Mama Ginger Tree –

    I’m adding you to my BFF list. We can hang out in ski lodges near a crackling fire, gripe about humidity and fish, take a photography class together and I’ll drink your hot chocolate. That husband is definitely a keeper if he has Sean Connery in his repertoire! Maybe my husband could take lessons on the accent thing…

     
  4. Laura

    July 26, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Hi, I just found your blog and thought I’d introduce myself, since I am trying to make friends instead of just lurk. I’m Laura and like you, I’m a (child developmental) psychologist who is now a SAHM and loving it! I have two beautiful kids here (and one in heaven), a great hubby and we live in Sunny Southern California.

    I have enjoyed your writing so far! I kept saying “Me too” to your 101 things, like missing teaching at university, cooking, being patient, still figuring things out even with the background, love to shop, control freak, love learning, pregnancy weight…on and on.

     
  5. psychmamma

    July 26, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Hi Laura!

    Thanks for introducing yourself instead of lurking! I love “meeting” new people this way and I’m finding so many great people who are very similar to me, and other great people who are very different from me. My BFF list just keeps growing!! I’m headed on over to check out your blog.

     
  6. anymommy

    July 26, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    That was so much fun. Great to get to know you a little better. I knew we were kindred souls for sure at #56. Physics killed my GPA a little worse than that in college. Also, amen on the skiing, I’ll sit by the fire and sip cocoa with you any time.

     
  7. psychmamma

    July 26, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    AnyMommy –

    I have the best BFF list out there! I’ve suspected we were kindred souls ever since finding your site! I’d love to read YOUR 100 Things list……. Consider yourself “tagged” and pick it up if you wish. 🙂

     
  8. iMommy

    July 26, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    PsychMama – cool meme!

    I suspect that #s 32-34 are related 🙂 But, since you like roofing… .want to come do my mom’s roof? We had 5 inches of rain the other day, and had to drill 21 holes in the ceiling to let the water out faster and keep it from collapsing. Good times! Anywho, if you’re in the area… haha.

    I promise that I wouldn’t make you do it in 110 degree heat; wouldn’t want you to simultaneously puke, pass out, and fall off the roof to an untimely death. 🙂 I know, I know. People tell me all the time how considerate I am.

    So when will you be here? (teehee)

     
  9. iMommy

    July 26, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Oh, and #91 –

    I love digital scrapbooking, just got into it myself actually. I’m a terrible “hard copy” scrapbooker… I just never get around to it. Digital, though… well, my friend, that’s technology, and therefore, I love it 🙂

     
  10. psychmamma

    July 26, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    iMommy –

    Aaaack! So sorry to hear about your mom’s roof! If I WAS in the area, I seriously would help you out. I don’t know why I enjoy roofing – it’s weird, I know. Maybe because it’s tangible work with a definitive finish that I can (hopefully) be proud of. Maybe just because the roof is a good place to get away from the rest of life, even if it IS with a hammer, nails and shingles.

    Thanks for the thumbs up review for digital scrapbooking. If you get a sec, give me an email or a return comment telling me what site you use. I’m totally ready to get rid of all the accumulated “hard” scrapbooking supplies.

    Good luck with the roof!

     
  11. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle

    July 27, 2008 at 1:32 am

    What a great list! I did one but only made it to 38 (how old I am) – 100 was just too overwhelming for me.

    I am interested in the digital scrapbook thing as well. I stamp and make cards, but the whole scrapping thing scares me a little bit (well, a lot!). It would be easier to play around online without wasting stuff or messing up your pictures. 🙂

     
  12. Insta-Mom

    July 27, 2008 at 5:49 am

    My favorite part of travelling was getting lost. You end up finding so much more than if you leave the hotel (or in my case, the hostel) with a map. I wandered most of Italy that way.

    You mean you can’t be a professional student? Uh-oh…I need to find a new calling. We are sooo broke on tuition.

     
  13. psychmamma

    July 27, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Trish –

    I never thought about digital scrapbooking in terms of being less wasteful before!! I suppose that would make it more green. One more reason to switch! Thanks for the insight.

    Insta-Mom

    All I have to say is a big “Amen Sister” to wandering, getting lost, and being broke on tuition. I think you CAN be a professional student, you just better plan on getting broke-er. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
