RSS

Movie Review: Get Smart

17 Jul

Girls’ Night Out!  A girlfriend and I went for dinner at Chili’s where I had some of the best fajitas EVER from their new (?? – I don’t get out much, so I don’t know how new “new” is) fajita menu, then we went to see “Get Smart.”  I LOVED it and haven’t laughed so hard for a long time.  I know the reviews are mixed, and I don’t have any explanation for it.  Although, I should maybe mention that I never saw the original TV show, so maybe that made it funnier for me since I didn’t have any preconceived expectations.  Steve Carrell is a hoot, as always, and there’s plenty of fantastic humor.  It’s rated PG-13, but we were talking afterward about our surprise that there was very little “bad language/swearing” (what do they call it in the rating system??), and even though there was shooting and fighting, there wasn’t blood and gore. 

*** SPOILER ALERT ***    

 

For instance, at one point, Agent Smart shoots himself in the face multiple times with a small dart-thingy (not a technical term).  He pulls it out each time and there is never any blood.

All in all, I’d say it’s a great summer movie if you want something light and silly that will make you laugh until you almost pee your pants a couple times.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2008 in Movie Reviews

 

2 responses to “Movie Review: Get Smart

  1. anymommy

    July 17, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Thank you! My husband and I have a running battle about what kind of movie to see on our rare date nights. He likes, well, stereotypical, but GUY movies. Guns. Explosions. Plotless. I like action, but I need a little more. I adore recommendations for movies we might actually both enjoy.

     
  2. psychmamma

    July 17, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    AnyMommy –

    Let me know how you like it if you go. I actually want to see it again, so maybe I’ll go with my hubby.

     

Leave a Reply

 
