RSS

Pondering the day

16 Jul

Tonight, after going through the usual bedtime routine, I was rocking Jenna before putting her in bed. She was totally relaxed against me with her head resting on my shoulder and I thought she was almost asleep. She hadn’t made a peep for several minutes. Out of the blue, and clear as day, she suddenly said, “Jenna throwed toys and Mommy sayed ‘No-No’ – like that.” She then pushed back to look me in the eyes and solemnly repeated the sentence.

Earlier in the day, we had been playing a game and she had suddenly started throwing the cards on the floor. I sternly said, “No, no” and reminded her that when she throws toys, they get put up (for a day). We played for a bit longer until she deliberately threw the cards again. I repeated the “No, no” and scooped up the game while sternly explaining the consequence of her behavior. Later in the day, after her nap, she noticed the game (I always put they toys “up” where they are still in her visual range as a reminder), and we had a serious discussion of the consequences of behavior, and why her game was “up” again. She seemed to be listening (for about 1 minute), but you never know how much a two-year-old is actually absorbing.

After she repeated her solemn words at bedtime, I gently acknowledged her statement and explained the rules once again. I finished by telling her I love her, and she smiled her sweet smile, gave me a kiss, and contentedly rested her sleepy little head against me. Because her solemn words were the only ones spoken in her sleepy, bed-time state, I’d say a small lesson might have been learned. Sure, it will be forgotten a million times in the future, admonitions will need repeating, and consequences enforced, but for today, this mommy is cherishing a single lesson learned and the relationship of love that binds us together.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2008 in Jenna

 

4 responses to “Pondering the day

  1. denise @ EatPlayLove

    July 16, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Some moments can be so precious, can’t they. I try to remember that when I am having a bad mommy day.

     
  2. Awake

    July 16, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Well, you should feel very proud of your little girl. Sounds like she was trying to tell you she “gets it.”

     
  3. anymommy

    July 16, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    I love it when this happens. Good feeling. The other day I tossed a toy into the toy box and my little parrots were on me like the toy police. No frowing Momma!! I sat on the stairs for a minute in time out. They talk about that constantly. Too funny.

     
  4. psychmamma

    July 16, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Denise –

    It’s so easy to forget these moments when the “bad” mommy days hit. That’s what’s great about blogging/journaling – you can look back and remind yourself that you ARE doing something right.

    Awake –

    I am proud – thanks! Even though she gets it then forgets it…It’s all part of the process.

    AnyMommy –

    I love that you put yourself in timeout! What a great example and way to avoid hypocrisy (even though today you were worried about it in another form. I’m with you on the plastic pact by the way. And the frustration of seeing your best intentions fall short).

     

Leave a Reply

 
