RSS

Headed north

09 Jul

Photo by john07:07:49

Hey everyone! Jenna and I are leaving today to spend almost a month in northern Michigan. Both sets of grandparents live within 5 minutes of each other there, but we’ll be staying mostly with my parents. I’m really looking forward to some time away and the peace that waits for me up north. My parents live in a woods on a lake, and it’s heavenly to just sit on the screened in back porch and listen to the loons and the wind in the trees. I’m ready for some soul-refreshing. I won’t complain about cooler temps either.

Jenna loves being up north too. Of course, she loves seeing the grandparents and all of the attention that means, but she also loves the chance to play outside, watch the frogs, catch some bugs, hear the birds, pick up sticks and rocks, etc. We decided that while I’m “not working” and can take the time, we want Jenna to have this experience, and we’ve done it every year since she was born so far.

So, even though it’s stressful to pack to be gone a month, it’s a lot of fun when we get there, and we both love it.

You should know, however, that internet service in the north woods leaves something to be desired. I think maybe the squirrels have to pass messages until they get to the interweb wires….. Seriously, dial-up is the only option I’ll have, which means hooking up with you all will be difficult. Hopefully, I don’t pull my hair out, and hopefully you’re patient and don’t give up on me. I normally like to promptly respond to comments, but I’m guessing that it just won’t be possible for a while. You’ll also see a lot of pre-cooked product reviews in the coming days that I can easily post regardless of speed. Don’t fret though – – it’s lots of great stuff you’ll want to see (wink-wink)! My goal is still to post something new every day, so keep checking in. Meanwhile, I’ll be meditating on the back deck while Grandma entertains Jenna. Ommm……

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Headed north

  1. Liza R

    July 9, 2008 at 7:32 am

    That sounds fantastic! I’m planning the “month with the grandparents” for next summer, and while it won’t be in the woods, I’m sure we’ll be taking lots of trips around the area. My parents live in a medium-sized town in Upstate NY, and since they’ve set up wireless in the house just for me and my laptop (!), as long as I can work from there, I might as well!

     
  2. psychmamma

    July 9, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Sounds great, Liza! Hopefully, it’s as good of an experience for you as it is for me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
