RSS

Sun salutation

04 Jul

I told you before that I would love to learn yoga. Because you have to start somewhere, I’m trying to start every day by doing a Sun Salutation. I’m finding that it’s not hard to do at all (it incorporates several very easy yoga poses) and that it’s a great way to stretch, relax and meditate a bit before starting the day. It also doesn’t take long. Sometimes I even do it in the shower! What I struggle with the most is the breathing aspect of the exercises. From what I’ve read, the breathing discipline is a major part of yoga, but I still find it difficult to get the breathing right. Actually, I often forget and realize I’m holding my breath. I’m going to keep practicing though, because I feel better all day when I start like this. It’s also a great mid-day and before-bed stretch to relieve the stress tension from the day.  FYI:  You’re not supposed to do it as fast as the little icon guy above, so don’t pull something trying.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Sun salutation

  1. Dawn

    July 4, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Popping over from All Mediocre…I LOVE yoga…I just wish I did it more often…the breathing is definetly somthing that takes practice…it’s amazing how often we hold our breath…when breathing feels sooo much better…

     
  2. psychmamma

    July 4, 2008 at 2:44 am

    Hi Dawn

    I really think I will love it too if I can get the hang of it. I’ve had a couple of awesome experiences with getting the breathing right and clearing my mind that felt amazing enough to get me hooked. Just need to get consistently disciplined…

     
  3. anymommy

    July 6, 2008 at 2:41 am

    I took yoga for two years and I still have trouble with arm strength on that push up part of the sun salutation. It is relaxing and I adore the me time.

     
  4. psychmamma

    July 6, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    AnyMommy –

    Yep – the push up part is the hardest for me too. We all need more of the last 2 things you mentioned…

     
  5. ShopLittleGifts

    July 7, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    love the animation it’s so fun. btw, i’ve been doing yoga for a couple years now – not an expert or anything, i just practice with the yoga dvds (check out gaiam) – highly recommend it – brings calm, oxygen and harmony into my life. i always feel more alive after doing sun salutations.

     
  6. psychmamma

    July 7, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    ShopLittleGifts –

    I’ll definitely have to check out the Gaiam DVD. Thanks for the tip!

     

Leave a Reply

 
