RSS

Wii Fit giveaway

02 Jul

UPDATE: This giveaway is now closed. Five lucky winners, who were sadly not me…

I would love to be good at yoga, but I’m not. I know, I know – if I put the time in to practice and learn, I could be good. My main problem these days just seems to be with the time part of that statement. There simply aren’t enough hours in the day for everything I want to do. I’ve actually tried yoga at home in the past, and another problem is that it’s difficult to learn how to do the poses and breath correctly. I’ve thought of taking classes, but, quite frankly, have some pretty big reservations about making a fool out of myself in front of a class of strangers and an instructor, all of whom (in my mind) are thin, fit, flexible people, UNLIKE me. I’m not incredibly gifted with grace. While the word “grace” might conjur up images of swans or butterflies, what I’ve got might better resemble camels or giraffes.

So I’m thrilled to learn about the Wii Fit. I should say that I’m not into video games (although I could be if the time allowed), but the Wii Fit isn’t like any other video game out there. It’s more like video instruction, and the system includes Yoga, Balancing Exercise, Strength Training, and Aerobics. Because it detects your form and posture through the mat you stand on, it can offer suggestions and corrections IN THE COMFORT OF YOUR OWN HOME. Hooray! It also calculates your Wii Fit age based on BMI/weight, actual age and your performance on the mat with some balancing exercises. Fun! I think my Wii Fit age would probably be 63….. Seriously though, I think I could really get into using this thing.

The great news is, that Dooce is giving away FIVE of the systems at her blog, here. All you have to do is leave a thoughtful/witty comment about why you need the system and what you would use it for. You can enter as many times as you want until 5:00 Mountain Daylight Time TODAY, so get over there and enter!! The not-so-great news is that there are currently 26,200-some entries. Wow! Can’t hurt to try though, so get on over there. Go!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 2, 2008 in Giveaways

 

Leave a Reply

 
